You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curie, Steemstem, Steemiteducation, and Steemcleaner - A Dance With Fire and Ice

in #mathematics7 years ago (edited)

But you adjusted the articles after the comments of steemcleaners right? I think in this situation they have a point.

I think some self-reflection is in place here. You are also only giving half of the story here. So I suggest everyone to form their own opinion about this. Here are the lecture notes http://giam.southernct.edu/GIAM/GIAM.pdf

And on a final note. In this situation you are technically profiting in a way from the lecture notes. So maybe it would be appropriate to contact Prof. Fields about this. I would have very mixed feeling if somebody uses my lecture notes on the steemit platform.

Sort:  

I do admit my mistake in not properly acknowledging the author of the book. I thought it would be enough to just put it on the reference section.

I even linked the reference to the free pdf version of the book, hoping people would read it. It is a good book and I want people to know that. My sole intention was to direct people to that book, that's why i sometimes dont changed the wordings. I have no intention of concealing the fact that it was from Field's book.

I did add some disclaimer along the way, as one user suggested. I never thought of that.

Without the disclaimer your posts would fall in the plagiarised category. Do you agree?
For information on what is considered plagiarism see here https://www.steem.center/index.php?title=Plagiarism#Steemit.27s_policies_on_plagiarism

Note that for plagiarism intent does not play any role.

I agree I thought this would do the job.

By the way, the book is licensed under GNU.

(in plain english)

If you agree that without the disclaimer it is plagariasm (antecedent) then it logically follows that steemcleaners did their work (consequent). So there is no reason for this post.

That is great that it is GNU. In your first post https://steemit.com/steemstem/@sinbad989/a-gentle-introduction-to-mathematics-basic-sets you did not credit the author unless I am mistaken.

If you upvote me you are agreeing with me right? My opinion does not coincide with the opinion of your post. So either don't upvote me or change the contents of this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41