A Story About A Stitch And A Witch

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

“Hello,” said the needle. “Who am I?”

“You're a needle,” replied the witch. “I brought you to life.”

“Why would you do that?” asked the needle.

“I was bored,” answered the witch. “I needed some company.”

“Why have I got a hole in my head?” asked the needle.

“You are a very inquisitive needle. Let me tell you what you need to know. I was putting a stitch to my Arsenal football shirt. The hole is for the thread.”

“Why would you have a football shirt?” asked the needle.

“Because I love watching football and Arsenal are my team.”

“But witches don't watch football.”

“Where do you get such information? I am a witch and I am a good witch and I love football and I was trying to sort out my Arsenal shirt before the big game tomorrow. I was bored, so I thought to myself, that I would bring the needle to life. I didn't expect that needle to ask me so many questions.”

“Why not?” asked the needle. “What did you expect me to be like?”

“I didn't expect you to ask so many questions,” admitted the witch.

“You prejudge,” said the needle

"You prejudge too, needle,” responded the witch “You didn't think that witches watched football Maybe we both learned something today.”

“Where's your cauldron?” asked the needle.

“Oh, help me please,” cried the witch. “I don't have a cauldron.”

“Why not?” asked the needle.

Before the witch had a chance to answer, she cried out in pain

“Ouch! Did you just poke me?”

“Yes,” said the needle.

“Why did you poke me?” asked the witch.

“Because I can,” replied the needle.

“Let's go back to your question; about the hole in your head. Apart from the fact that you have no brains, I'm going to put this thread through it.”

The witch then takes the needle and places the thread through the hole in his head. She then walks to the fireplace and hangs him from a nearby hook.

“Witch, witch, it is a bit warm here. Are you going to leave me here.”

“Yes,” replied the witch.

“Why?” asked the needle.

“Because I can.”

“But you said you were a good witch?”

“I am a good witch, but even my patience gets tested sometimes.”

“So you'll let me go?” asked the needle.

“Maybe,” said the witch. “If you're good.”

“Thank you. You're a very beautiful witch. You don't even have a wart at the end of your nose.”

image

Thank you for reading

Task set by @mariannewest

Link to Task

Sort:  

Haha! I love the creative story and the needle's attempt to flatter her. Well written.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, I had a lot of fun with this story. I may even do a Part 2.

I like the myth, fable, or "origin" story vibe you achieve story after story!
Mom and Dad is the Tuesday prompt:
https://steemit.com/partiko/@mariannewest/freewrite-tuesday-sorry-scheduled-post-didnt-post-prompt-mom-and-dad-xmwtrsol

Thank you, I really had fun with this one. Maybe a future Part 2? Maybe.

Posted using Partiko Android

For sure! I love your 'origins' myths. Start your own collection!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67