Day 500: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: sound

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190304_080949252_HDR 1.jpg

Soon after Karen and her family moved into the new house, she became aware of a rhythmic sequence of musical tones, one very low (but somehow booming) sound followed by two very high pulsating notes. It wasn't something she heard all day, only when the house was very quiet and she was the only creature awake in it. This is when she would prowl the house to try to find the source. She began to call it The House Melody.

Karen had always had very good hearing, even had perfect pitch. It didn't surprise her a bit that no one else could hear it. Eventually she chalked the mysterious melody up to an idiosyncrasy of the new home, and tried to ignore it.

A family trip to a hotel deep in the Catskills that had been their favorite for a few years was called for. Cross country skiing in the crisp snow, bowling, swimming, a piano in the lobby and no TVs in the rooms. Silence.

That first night, when the quieting snow had hushed her world, she prepared for bed, happy for a chance to sleep where the Melody would not be heard.

There it was, a low boom followed by two high pulsating notes. It was in her head!


Inspired by my tinnitus, this little story is the first good thing to have ever come from it. I don't have perfect pitch thank goodness or I would not be able to stand all this racket in my head.

The image is mine of my deck this morning.

This is my entry to @mariannewest freewrite challenge https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-500-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-sound
Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice or Drugwars

Oh, no! She can't get away from it!

And it just keeps getting worse and worse. At least it's not a brain tumor! Which was her first thought. Thank you for reading and commenting!

I get bothered enough when that few seconds of a high-pitched ring bursts through my ear, I couldn't imagine living with a constant head-noise! That must be awful. :(

Your snowy photo looks magnificent, though. :) I'm sure it must get annoying having to deal with the white stuff in such thick piles like that, but it's a novelty for me! I haven't seen snow since I was around 8yrs old, and even that was just a few icy chunks strewn across the dirt, nothing majestic like what's pictured!


Please join us for the new prompt! Day 501!

⭐✨ https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-501-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-mini-van ✨⭐

I know that you've already done today's prompt, but this is my first time doing the rounds for prompt delivery and I don't want to miss a single person. 😂

The best thing about a thick blanket of snow is the way the world sounds. There's a crispness that only happens in a deep and snowy winter. I can't imagine living without it.

It sounds lovely ~ I can't imagine the tranquility/serenity that would result... or that could be my fairy-tale bias. :) living in the hot and humid sub-tropics, I love the idea of snow too much!

Well done, @owasco! I really enjoyed this story. I love how you turned a malady into something almost magical. Love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45