A Story About A Knocking Sound Coming From The Cupboard

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

“There's a knocking sound.”

“Yes, you're right,” I replied. “Sounds like it is coming from the classroom next door. Hopefully it will stop “

The sound of knocking repeats itself

“Maybe it is coming from the cupboard,” suggested one of my students.

The cupboard is certainly tall enough and wide enough. However, I know that nobody would be able to fit into the cupboard with the shelves that are in place. The cupboard is filled with clutter which requires a clear out.

Right now, I am at the beginning of my Computing lesson. I am a teacher in a primary school.

“Did you know that I like to write stories in my free time?” I asked. “Would you like me to write a story about a man in the cupboard?”

The students looked happy about the idea.

“I will. I will write a story about a man in the cupboard.”

As for now, there is a lesson. I asked the students to sit at their usual workstations.

image

They worked well and worked quietly. I even think they had forgotten about the knocking sounds coming from near the cupboard

“I’m going open the cupboard now, to see if there is a man inside, knocking.”

The students paused their work at looked towards me. As I opened it, a person, who was just as tall as me, stepped out of the cupboard.

The students were silent.

“Hello there, I am the person from the cupboard. Thank you for letting me out “

“How did you get in my cupboard?” I asked.

“I don't know. I just know I was trapped. I couldn't open the door. So I had to knock. Thank you very much.”

“Thank you, for what?” I asked

“For opening the cupboard,” replied the man.

“It was unlocked,” I said.

“To you, maybe,” explained the man. “For me, I was trapped in a dark cupboard and I couldn't get out. Thank you “

Everyone is looking a bit bewildered, including me.

“If you don't mind,” said the man, “I'll be off now.”

The man walked to the door and left

The students were silent. They were a bit stunned at what they saw. One student did put his hand up.

“Mr Neil, will you be a famous writer one day?”

“I don't know.”

“I hope not,” said the student. “It would be better if you were still our Computer teacher.”

image

Thank you for reading

Task provided by @mariannewest

Link to Task

Sort:  

Ha! Great story! Keep teaching And writing!

I can't argue with that plan. Thank you for reading.

Glad you didn't go home before checking it out! Wonder how long he was in there? Did you check his pockets for all that stuff that was in there? More like "The Thief In The Cupboard". Hehehe.. cute story!

Maybe a thief, maybe from another world, there's no telling why the man was in the cupboard. Maybe he just wanted to say hello. Having done a stock take, I can confirm that there is nothing missing.

Thank you for reading and your comment.

Your Welcome! I am happy to here nothing is missing.. was worried there for a few minutes ;-)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30