Going Steady in Chicago Illinois

in #love6 years ago (edited)

Going steady was a thing when I was in high school in Chicago Illinois in the 1970’s. I do not know if it is still a thing, or even if it was thing besides at that school. I never ran into the concept again after this time. My only memory of this is in the ninth grade which puts the age about 13-14 years old.

Going steady was a male driven event at that school. The boy had to ask the girl to go steady. There was no option for a girl to ask a boy to go steady. This offer had to be accompanied by a ring. The ring needed to be a real ring that had actual value – not a dime store piece of junk.

The ring had to be returned if the going steady phase ended. As I recall, a couple of weeks was a long time to go steady, so the same ring often ended up on many fingers of different girls. It was an investment on the part of the boy, and taken seriously. Was your ring a good one? No? Break up with him!

Did no one ever ask you to go steady? Oh dear. You were really a loser. And if you got asked, were you going to say yes? The pressure was excruciating.

The reason I remember the exact year was because I went steady twice in the fall of ninth grade. I was only at that school during that fall, so I remember it very well. I got rings from two different boys, and in my case, only the first one took it back. It was a family heirloom. Getting the ring back was crucially important to this boy.

The second offer to go steady came right after the first. I realized he was not for me within days and tried to return the ring. But he was “in love with me” and refused to take it. The ring was an opal set in 14 karat gold and looked a lot like this one you can get from Amazon for $159.99! I think mine was actually nicer than this.

opal ring.PNG
source

Leaving me with the ring did not stop this boy from going steady with another girl within a couple of weeks. I was friends with her and she thanked me for breaking up with him. I never spoke to this boy again. Later they ended up getting married at a very young age. I think they are still married to this day. So apparently going steady sometimes had long lasting results.

As for me, I moved away from that school; and never went steady with anyone again. I held onto that ring for a good twenty more years, but with my nomadic lifestyle, somehow it got away from me after that.

Enter and Win SBI Shares!

This is my entry for the "Share Your World" contest offered by @reonlouw. This week's question is:

Tell us about an interesting/different/unique courtship ritual or wedding ceremony in your country or culture.

I do not know if my story is interesting or unique, but it is the only courtship ritual that came to mind. I was the "fat girl" for most of my life. My small success in going steady was one of few highlights in my dealings with the opposite sex. Most of the time I had my nose in a book and anything else of this type passed me by. I'm pretty sure you can beat me with a story about the courtship traditions in your culture, so please enter this contest too.

fitinfun before and after sitting difference.jpg

Please start here to kick obesity to the curb:

Set Your Goal for Weight Loss
Anyone can beat obesity if I did. Please ask me and I will help you do it too.

Help Us Stay on Steemit

If you would like to help my son @bxlphabet and I stay on steemit, but your upvote is just not enough, here are our wallet and PayPal addresses where we will be so grateful for any help. Any input or ideas will also be so welcome.

My most recent Ulog gives details about what is going on now. I am so grateful to you for all of your support.

BitcoinCash - BCH

1Bmcyk8Fk9micU3RWjWu3H1P2fvHyj71d6

Bitcoin - BTC

362ncqbi6qJn1daB8mrRrjYYWJ2HwpvcPZ

Dash - DAS

Xs7xdJHeRHRqdwF8RQuo6tPHUdXPm7viZp

Litecoin - LTC

Lhuh274DFkS6CNq4SJjhNem242QYwcTu59

Byteball

6IMJINL2UG3XPT2WJDUGNGBDC4HUCOXL

PayPal Thailand:

[email protected]

PayPal US:

[email protected]

Sort:  

Hey Sharon. How is Malaysia working out for you?

Also I know you like to play games here on steemit. So check out my latest game I hosting. Couldn't be more simple, couldn't be more fun!

https://steemit.com/contest/@world-travel-pro/travel-pro-price-is-right-game-1-snickers-chocolate-bar-kiev-ukraine-play-and-win-steem-1534676706

Good contest! I made my guess. I'm doing great. I'm in a condo with a POOL for $85 a month! I'm sharing with 4 other women who are never here. All of them work long hours, and all are very nice. I also have so many in-person KL steeming friends now you would not believe it. Without their help, I would not be doing half as good as I am.

Caleb is not doing so well and might be homeless in days. His rent is much more expensive than mine and 2 months late. He's in the qurator toss up thursday this week. If you could vote at 1% or more, that would be awesome. Every little bit helps even in time of catastrophe!

https://steemit.com/qurator/@bxlphabet/re-qurator-qurator-s-toss-up-thursday-13-free-for-all-promotion-competition-20180817t072844237z

Glad to hear you are doing well, sorry to hear Caleb is not. Thanks for the encouraging words on my new game :)

Seems like a lot of people are enjoying it! Have a great day Sharon!

Congratulations @fitinfun! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

That was a great example. I think the cultural diversity here will lead to some interesting posts. I remember the same type of thing going on at that age. It progressed into giving a class ring in later years.
It was a status symbol in my group to have a boyfriend with a car. For some reason that was considered the way to arrive and depart from school.
Great write up. I need to quit reading and go write mine.

I really like the notion of ‘going study’. There’s too much casual sexuality getting thrown around that the mysteriousness of people are lost. I am married, thank god, so don’t have to participate in today’s rituals but think that the advent of the cell phone (text messaging, social media, etc) has done nothing to help facilitate ‘courtships’, let alone long lasting relationships. Just my humble opinion. I think your experience is sweet!

I also see that you have made quite a journey to health and think that’s fantastic. It’s very inspiring and motivating for all of us and if no ones has told you lately “you’re doing great and should be proud”.

Thank you so much! I was just talking to a random fb guy who friended me. I think he is looking for phone sex. He's got the wrong person for that!

Haha… I’m not surprised.

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Oh wow, this is an interesting 'tradition'! Definitely something new to me :)

Hi @fitinfun. The winners have been announced.

Share your world contest winners

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58176.03
ETH 2475.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40