Light The World Day 4

Love Thy Neighbor


How does your light brighten a life?


You are a very powerful individual. You do things sometimes that greatly impact another's life, things that take little effort and are just normal everyday habits of yours.

Now imagine what you could do if you actually set your focus on it...

@gavvet and @handshotfirst began the Steemit #LightTheWorld campaign. 25 days of giving and goodness and kindness with a generous helping of the Spirit of Christmas.

Jump right in, the water is nice ;)

When I lived in metro downtown Seattle, the city was host to a thousand African refugees. The parents were taking ESL classes and being placed in jobs and had a full schedule learning American culture.

My boys befriended a six-year-old boy named Wilson who had been placed in their school and lived one street down from us. Wilson was a beaming child who was never without a smile and spent many hours every day at my house. He knew enough English to get by was a quick learner, but the cultural differences were dramatic and confusing.

He walked through yards, entered houses without knocking, and took bright toys from garages. He never ran and never snuck- he just strolled right up and helped himself.

Always with that ever-present bright and shiny grin.

It hurt to see him getting yelled at by a furious homeowner; his shoulders would slump and he would weep silently. He could not understand that these behaviors were wrong.

Wilson’s family came from a war-torn part of Africa. The people of his village lived in huts and everything was shared. You did not have belongings that were only yours as everything in the village was for every residents use.

And property lines were an alien concept.

One day a neighbor pounded on my door, demanding to know which of my children had defiled his garage door with graffiti. The foot high, red spray-painted letters sloppily read “Thank you” with two happy stick figures below the words. It turned out it was Wilson. He was confused as all the houses looked alike and he wanted to thank me for my hospitality and meals and my kids for their friendship, showing him the ropes at school, and teaching him video games- which he absolutely adored.

I sat Wilson down and explained how I appreciated the thought, but even if it had been my garage you cannot paint someones house, etc, etc. He understood and immediately apologized to the neighbor and asked me how to clean it.

Armed with supplies he marched right over and was joined by my boys. They cleaned, then painted the old mans garage.

A couple of weeks later, my oldest son John came rushing home mere minutes after leaving for school with a rabbit he had found lying on the street. I am not sure what had happened but I suppose it was just dazed, because it bounced back to a normal excitable rabbit state soon after my son left for school for the second time.

John came home that afternoon dragging Wilson, showing him “his” new rabbit. I told John I would place an ad in the lost pet section tomorrow, and if after a week the owners didn’t claim it, the rabbit could be his. He was elated.

The following day was Saturday, and all of my boys and their classmates had some sport practice. I actually had the day to myself!

I went upstairs, turned up some energetic tunes, and went to work on a remodeling project.

I had been sanding and nailing and building when suddenly I heard what sounded like voices.

All the kids were miles away at the sporting fields…

I know I had locked the front door, I lived in the city! I never kept the back door locked in the day as it opened into my deck and fenced yard.

I held a hammer and crept to the landing, straining my ears through my music.

Voices! More than a few!

Suddenly a teen boy poked his head around the corner and looked up at me. He almost smiled, but quickly flashed serious. He reached out of my view and drug an elderly man into sight who waved at me.

Then another face. And another. And they all began smiling and trying to tell me something.

I went downstairs to find my kitchen was full of Vietnamese people. Then noticed there was a line of them outside…

They were all conversing and happy. I started shouting above the dull roar! Who are you? What are you doing here! How did you even get in!

Wilson had heard a kid at practice talking about how his Grandfathers black rabbit was lost.

Wilson ran two miles to this families house at the end of my street.

Wilson proceeded to gather the entire family, who were together for some sort of family function, and proudly march them all to my home, leading them to the dog crate in my laundry room (just off the kitchen) which was temporarily holding the rescued rabbit.

And he walked them right into my house via the unlocked back door. He was quite proud of himself for this good deed he had done :)

The elderly Grandpa was a regal gentleman, very obviously the head of the family. He apologized profusely. They had assumed it was Wilson’s house by the way the child was acting!

He wanted to make it up to me, I refused- there was no need. Honest mistake and no harm done. He insisted, via his teen grandson interpretor, that he would find a way.

He then asked me if he could gather my dandelions to feed to his rabbits- they bred them for income. Of course, I told him, anytime.

We bowed and the family left. And I sat Wilson down. Again.

Later that day I noticed the Grandpa pulling me weeds for his bunnies. He caught my eye and smiled and nodded. He came every day.

When John came home that afternoon he was distraught. He had been hoping to keep the rabbit. Wilson consoled him.

The next morning, I answered a knock on my front door. There was Grandpa with his grandson by his side. Grandpa put a baby bunny in my hands. His grandson informed me the bunny was for John. That Grandpa had heard he missed the rabbit, and he deserved one to raise from a baby for all the kindness he shows for the refugee kids in the neighborhood.

If you do not know anything about Asian culture, know this- never refuse a gift. Ever. Not even food. It is a sign of disrespect.

John was happy, he had a new friend. I was happy, my weeds were being taken care of, lol! And Wilson was very proud of himself. He felt he had finally done something to “repay” our family.

Be kind to everyone you meet. You never know who needs it today. Or who doesn’t understand. Just a welcoming smile, seemingly simple and requiring no effort from you, could very well cause a profound chain of events that dramatically alters lives that day.

Love one another, and let your light shine bright this week, my friends ♡



I appreciate your support :)

With Love and Light and Good Mojo to my Tribe!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314 Scientists Entangle 3000 Atoms and My 3000 Follower Milestone
~
Zen and the Art of the Perfect Gift
~
Five Bad Steemit Habits to Give Up Now
~
Steemit, We've Got Word to Do!
~
A Thousand Shades of Gray
~
Snowpocalypse Survival Challenge Day 4
~
The Warrior Denigration
~
The Art of Critical Thinking part 1



animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Light for the lights can be enlighten only due to the inner conscious sometimes it is sleeping while sometimes it enlighten again due to angels like you who impact mostly by such good writing.
Best wishes for your support and efforts.
Thanks buddy.

This made my heart warm. Thank you very much 💛

My best and warm wishes always with you God bless you forever.

Thanks for this beautiful story, except it's not a story, it a beautiful LIFE.
@arbitrarykitten this is how I choose to live my life also. I share what I have and my example is JOY. Life is grand. Hugs from ME to YOU <3

Life is a beautiful thing. Happiness and joy is a birthright, not something to strive for!

I believe things like money and good fortune and food and such are not to be hoarded. Everything is energy, and energy must move or it becomes stagnant.

I believe in balance and when I have extra I feel compelled to share. Lol, look at what I do- even when I don't have extra I live that way ;)

This includes joy. And love. Love without restraint 💞

Hugs right back at ya

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

That was a fun read. You are kind and compassionate soul. 🤗

Awe, thank you. I am just me :)

Wonderful.
Competitiveness divides.
Compassion multiplies.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Wow! The story sounds like something out of a fiction novel. It amazes me some of the things you experience in your life. :-)

For sure!! A lovely story and a good reminder to us all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15