It's better to give up

in #life7 years ago


source

Last Monday, I suddenly had a cold, running nose, it is getting more serious during the afternoon, every few minutes, need to use tissues to wipe snot. I know that my situation is not good, and later, I informed my manager that I had to leave early, after a short meeting, I only able to leave one hour earlier.

That night, when I talked about this with my friend, she said: “Might as well stick to it, leave one hour earlier, also make the manager think you don’t have perseverance, too little dedication.” and she joked that in the boss's eyes, insist on working with the illness is a good employee!

I did think about what she said. Although the cold is not a big problem, at the state of clearing the nose three times every minute, I am also not in the mood to work, I have finished all the main tasks of the day, even if I reluctantly stay in the company, I also wasting time waiting to clock off.

That being the case, I would rather get off early even if I only have extra one hour to rest. A wise boss should know that the work efficiency is much higher if the employee is energetic.

If some persistence is meaningless, follow your feelings and heart.


source

I didn't do that when I was in school. I was emaciated, often got cold and fever whenever it’s December, no matter how uncomfortable I am, I insist on going to classes, never take leave.

In the teacher's eyes, I’m not only excellent both in studies and behavior, but also a persistent student. Sometimes, go to class with fever is also considered as a role model. Whenever there is a student want to take a leave because of trivial things, the teacher will say:”Look at Tony, good at learning, having a fever also insist on coming to class." Sometimes I was also really uncomfortable, but I was a role model, how can I easily take leave? I began to wonder what I was holding on to.

Until I went to high school, the situation was finally broken. The new teacher didn't seem to like me. One time I had a bad cough, I tried to endure, but I couldn't stop coughing. My class teacher came to ask me to go home to rest, but the class was almost over, I told her it doesn't matter. She said if you stay here and you feel bad, you will also affect others. Although she has a sharp tongue, a language to wake up the dreamer, the classroom does not belong to me, if I make noise, I will also affect others to study.

Insist on doing one thing should come from the heart, and not for other people's view doing something you don’t like. We live in groups, and in persisting many things, we also need to take into account the impact on others.


source

In college, the professor gave an example, a high school teacher put all his effort on the work, one month before graduating, almost morning to night accompanying his students in the classroom, giving them counseling. At that time, his daughter has a fever, but he has no time to take his child to the hospital.

In the end, all of his students have achieved excellent results, many of his students admitted to the prestigious university, he was also rated as an excellent teacher, but his daughter because did not get a timely diagnosis, affect the development of the brain, intelligence level will always be affected. The professor asked us to discuss, if we are the teacher, will we put aside our work to accompany our daughter?

Work is important, as a teacher also must hope that his/her students are able to graduate, but as a parent, taking care of own child is important too! It is commendable to insist on work, but the result is enough for him to grieve for a lifetime.

Finally, the professor said, there is no standard answer to this question, and everyone has their own choices. But for the professor, he would take his daughter to the doctor first because he was a father.

Persistence has hidden costs. Most of the time, when you choose to do something, it means you have to give up another thing. There is no right or wrong to insist or give up, but think about it, when you look back, what will make you more grateful. At that time, you already have your answer.

Persistence is a topic that deserves to be celebrated forever, but is it really necessary to persist under any circumstances? Lu Xun want to go to Japan to study medicine, he thought becoming a doctor can treat the people, later found that the mental indifference of the people is far more serious than physical disability, so he abandoned medical literature.

Coincidentally, Dr. Sun Yat-sen also determined to become a doctor in the early years, and finally see the reality of the revolution. Van Gogh was the son of a priest who aspired to be a missionary and finally became a world-famous painter.

Ideals should not be abandoned, but there is more than one way to achieve them, and it may be wiser to give up when the road is found to be impossible.

Persistent has always been praised, but I hope that everyone is persistent on the things that make you happy, but also hope that when you see through persistence into a meaningless behavior, can disregard the eyes of others, rationally give up. Sometimes it takes more courage to give up than to insist.

follow

PREVIOUS LIFE POST
There is no easy in adult world
How to get over this poor and confused 20 years old?
No one will be with you all the time
Next time? When exactly is next time?
Don't let procrastination kill you in 2018
It's ok to fall, but you need to get up quickly

RECENT TRAVEL & FOOD POST

1. Travel Diary #1: An exciting trip to Bangkok
2. Om nom nom #1: Surprise food from 7-Eleven
3. Travel Diary #2: A tour to Wat Pho, Temple of Reclining Buddha
4. Om nom nom #2: Mango Addiction at Make Me Mango

Sort:  

Nice work

Happy New Year ......

Interesting sharing! Be persistent but in a balanced and moderate way is much more crucial than being persistent blindly.
In fact, I've just realized the importance of living a balanced life instead of focusing all my energy on just one thing that I think was so so important, now knowing that I have been ignorant all these while. But the good thing is, its still not too late now. Im glad that I realized it in my 20s.

I believe that sometimes letting go of our strongest wishes can actually help us make them come true. If we struggle too hard for too long, we will exhaust ourselves both mentally and physically. Doing something else for a bit and resting our mind and body can ultimately help us achieve the main goal. Cheers and happy New Year! : )

Congratulations @walkinharmony! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58224.09
ETH 2508.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34