Some of My Favourite Personal Productivity Tips

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Introduction


For a change I wanted to cover something lighter in tone than the usual medical things I post.

I have a few dementia and neuroscience posts in the works but they just seem a bit grim now in light of my recent personal events.

I also wanted to say thanks to everyone for their recent words of support it. Onto the subject of today's post:

Over the last year or so I have been experimenting with various measures to improve my productivity and I thought I would share some of the things that have worked for me.


No Social Media, Email or News in the Mornings


This is one of those things that I used to hear a lot of other people recommending but I did not try this myself until recently.

I used to find myself getting out of bed, turning on talk radio and reading my email/social media notifications and would find myself wondering why I would feel terrible!

The truth is none of this stuff is important or indeed urgent but it still uses up mental energy and drains our reserves.

Since I have stopped doing this I feel much more productive in the mornings and I actually find my mood is better too even though I'm not really a morning person.

Currently I'm also trying to add in the extra rule of only checking devices and email at fixed times - this has proven to be a little harder though!


No Computer/Connected Devices Before Bed


This one is a little bit harder as the temptation to check your phone or tablet is very strong.

We seem to have been programmed by modern society to need constant stimulation - even if you think that is not a bad thing in itself, mental stimulation before bed is known to make it harder to get off to sleep.

Further the light stimulation from such devices (particularly the blue spectrum) may affect sleep by modifying melatonin levels.

I am trying to maintain a 2 hour buffer before bed - it is not easy but does seem to help. At the times when I have managed to stick to this (quite a lot this year) I seem to get off to sleep quicker and have less interruptions.


Mindful Meditation


I'm not really a morning person as I said but the first thing I do now when I wake up is a 5 minute meditation.

It is a very basic mindfulness practice where I focus and concentrate on my breathing whilst also letting my thoughts come and go without resistance.

The aim is to be a neutral observer of one's own thoughts. If something feels stressful or difficult to deal with, you focus more on your breathing, taking slow steady breaths.

It definitely makes a difference for me - I feel "lighter" if that makes any sense - the best thing is it takes little time or effort to do and the more you do it the easier it is to snap into that meditative state.

I also use little moments to top up my mindfulness when I am waiting for things. For example if I am in a queue at the post office to collect a parcel, if I am waiting in a clinic - I use all these opportunities to concentrate on my breathing and be mindful.

I see it as a form of mental recharging.

If you are not familiar with mindfulness please check out my previous post on it for some useful resources.


Take a Walk


In addition to meditation one thing which I found really useful to do when I am frustrated, tired or stuck on something is to go and take a quick walk.

Oftentimes I find it helps to clarify my thoughts and it can be conducive to a form of mindfulness in itself.

Just 5-10 minutes can be enough to make a big difference. I find it works best if I do it outdoors but if it is raining doing it indoors is still better than nothing.


Never Watch Live TV


It is so easy to just sit down in front of the TV and waste several hours.

I have done it myself many times in the past and to be honest in most cases you don't really gain any long term benefits from doing this. If there is something I really want to watch I DVR it or stream it.

The other added advantage of this is that I don't have to watch adverts and I can avoid the mainstream news.

I watch much less TV nowadays and I have more time to concentrate on things that are useful like reading and exercise.


Take a Shower


This may seem like an odd one and is more of an observation than a recommendation.

I find some of my best thoughts and ideas come to me in the shower.

I believe this may be similar to walking, the situation of focussed activity which does not require an extreme cognitive burden allows creativity to emerge.

I have heard others talk of having similar insights and ideas while washing dishes or ironing.

I think the key is that it is a repetitive task that allows your mind to wander without compromising it.


Conclusion


These are the main productivity tools that have worked for me over the last year or so.

Have you tried anything similar yourself? Perhaps you have even used the same methods?

Please let me know in the comments:


Thank you for reading




All uncredited images are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.



Steemithelp.net

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers?

Please visit:

Steemithelp.net

A collection of guides and tutorials that cover the basics of Steem and Steemit.


Follow me on Steemit & Twitter. Connect on LinkedIn and Facebook. Join the Life Extension and Anti-Aging Technology Group and the Steemit Group on LinkedIn. Get the Markdown version of the Steemithelp Footer to add to your own posts here. Let's get STEEM on Coinbase: THIS POST shows you how.


Sort:  

2 things difficult to follow for me:

  1. No Social Media, Email or News in the Mornings
  2. No Computer/Connected Devices Before Bed
    A lot of times now, my news is coming social media - fb or twitter
    Addicted to steemit. How not to do no. 2? Yes, I heard the screen makes it difficult to sleep and I feel it too.

2 things easier to follow for me:

  1. Mindful Meditation
    This doesn't need to take long. We just need to learn to take long slow breathe. Even sitting on bus or standing on a train for longer session.
  2. Take a Walk
    Not a stroll but brisk one to the bus-stop or train station or meeting points
    Of course, I take a shower too :-) I don't have a bath tub or I could be checking steemit in there.

I think we all have certain things we struggle with more than others.

Priorities and sacrifices. Part of daily decisions all of us have to make. :-)

Thanks for sharing! I'll try the meditation next morning, perhaps a much better time to just start your day with.

uwelang Uwe Lang tweeted @ 29 Apr 2017 - 21:57 UTC

Some advise for #Productivity @steemit

steemit.com/life/@thecrypt… / https://t.co/lbyy7Lp1tS

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

@thecryptofiend I liked your post and I myself follow these routines from a while which helped me a lot to be peaceful and happy throughout the day. Another things that are productive are Singing a song when we wake up to improve our mood and taking a break daily for half an hour and sit silently.

I hadn't thought of singing but I do have friends who do it regularly as a form of stress relief!

Well, One of my friend had some weird problem, when he woke up in the morning, his mood was always off. He would not talk to anyone and if someone would try to ask him why he isn't talking, he would get even more angrier. Then somebody suggested him to humm a song when he get up, he tried and after a while, there was a tremendous effect. That day I come to know the power of Music.

These are some good ones @thecryptofiend I find taking a shower works well for thinking and a walk to reduce stress.

Thanks, yes me too. They are both very meditative for me.

I really like the way you describe your productivity (and happiness) tips! I use all of these tactics as well and have also found that I feel MUCH better with more intentional use of time integrating the practices that work best for me and especially the set boundaries around social media,news, email and any computer time that isn't creative! Thanks @cryptofiend

Actually, do you have a routine with Steemit? This is one activity I've had a really hard time developing a regular way to participate that works well both for curating and posting and would welcome hearing about any tips you've found helpful. Thanks!

Thanks. I think your experience makes sense from a cognitive standpoint.

@cryptofiend, that was an awesome post. . I'm an "addicted facebooker". If facebook were to be giving rewards like steemit, then I would have been a millionaire. But Just recently, my mobile phone spoiled, so I haven't been participating much on social media, because I am using my computer which is not handy to connect the internet. Guess what I noticed; I just became much more productive, sensible and useful.

Thanks for sharing you experience - I think it makes a lot of sense because things like social media can be a major time sink that soaks up your energy if you use them before you do any work. I think like with all things moderation is the key and if you find yourself becoming too dependent on them setting some limits or parameters can be beneficial.

You are welcome

thank you for sharing.. good article
i'm very interested .

Here's mine

very wise words! i agree, to walk is very good for mind and i can also add cooking to this list because it helps me to relax and feel better, and of course to eat healthy food :)

Yes I have heard quite a few people suggesting that they find cooking therapeutic - I think these tasks have something in common in that they have a meditative quality to them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61937.20
ETH 3004.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49