Value Your Loved Ones Whilst They Are Still Around

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I wasn't planning on doing a post today but something happened late last night that made me change my mind.

Last night I received some devastating news. My first cousin, whom I spent many summer holidays with as a child passed away at the age of 37.

Although he had suffered from epilepsy for a few years he had been generally fit and healthy.

The sad thing is that he lived alone as he was separated from his wife and young son.

As a result nobody was with him when he passed away - although we still don't know exactly what happened or how he died.

To add to the tragic circumstances he was found by his little sister.

ThinkstockPhotos-126886117.jpg

I am still in total shock really.

I am just going through the motions of doing things as normal because it just doesn't seem real.

We get so caught up in our own issues that we lose sight of others far too easily. Once we get into our 20s it is so easy to lose track of friends and people we grew up with.

Life is busy so we keep putting things off.

We cancel or postpone meeting up because of work or other things which are not significant in the grand scheme of things.

ThinkstockPhotos-176985842 BW.jpg

Career, work and other considerations can wait. Life and ultimately death, do not.

We all have a set amount of time and you can't really buy more once it is too late. If you have a friend, relative or other loved one that you haven't seen in a while - remember that fact.

Once people are dead, they are gone forever and you can't get the opportunities to see them or connect with them back.

Make the most of friends and relatives while they are here so you don't have regrets when they are gone. You don't want to find out they died from a Facebook update.


(N.B. - I was originally going to decline payout on this post but have decided that I will send the liquid payouts to an epilepsy charity, along with my own donation in my cousin's name.)
Sort:  

My condolences @thecryptofiend...
My Dad passed away all alone in his apartment.., and besides being completely devastated, I carried so much self-imposed guilt for not being there... Until, I met a very special person.., and she said to me -- "dying is an extremely personal and private thing, maybe he needed to alone." I don't know if that helps, at all -- but it actually helped me let go of all that guilt i carried with me...

Thanks mate - I can only imagine how hard it was. Right now everyone is in shock - plus we don't know the cause of death and because it is sudden there will need to be an investigation/autopsy etc. Plus this also sadly the kind of time when family feuds become even more bitter - the drama has already started and it is the worst time.

Hang in there, buddy...

I agree with what she said, and I have thought about it myself and would prefer to be alone. The best you can hope for is that loved ones die peacefully while they sleep when the time comes.

It's amazing how much that one sentence helped me...

Loading...

My sincere condolences.
Thank you for the reminder how precious our time on earth and health in correlation to spent time with our loved ones is.
Mostly we are to much unaware about what we have.

Thank you absolutely agree on that. To be honest right now it is helpful to have the distraction of mundane things.

Sorry for your loss, @thecryptofiend - my thoughts are with you.

(I have nothing but respect for your decision to donate to an epilepsy charity.)

I have thought about that as well. I had some family trouble twice with health issues and I simply gave up everything and returned home. I don't have many people around me but I think family comes first no matter how primitive it sounds. They are the ones who will stand by you at the end of the day.

If it's of any consolation, your cousin most likely went painlessly after suffering a stroke. Epilepsy does that most of the times.

All best while you go through this.

I don't have many people around me but I think family comes first no matter how primitive it sounds. They are the ones who will stand by you at the end of the day.

Yes I agree.

If it's of any consolation, your cousin most likely went painlessly after suffering a stroke. Epilepsy does that most of the times.

Thanks yes I hope so.

what a sad post. but good call to remind ourselves on whats important - even the harsh way. good wake up call.

Yes I think these things snap us out of the complacency.

Very sad, I hope the community cheers you up a bit! :D

Maybe this cute guy will help!

So sorry to hear about your cousin :( Such a beautiful post though and a prevalent reminder of how precious family and loved ones really are....going to hug my kids now! Thinking of you.

That's very sad. My thoughts are with you and your loved ones. Life gets in the way all time, we never realise until its to late.

Thanks so much for the donation I will send it along with the rest:)

You are more than welcome :)

Resteemed, upvoted and donated :)

my sincere condolences

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53