My truth about breastfeeding

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Adam's mum Blog #8


Hi everyone

Today I want to share with you my story of breastfeeding.

karmienie.jpg

If you watched in movies how mothers feed their children – have you ever wonder is it hard? I haven’t, it seems to me like a simple thing.
It is a natural thing for the body that mothers always feed their children - it is our nature.
But as always it is easy in theory, and in practice not quite.

They give me Adam to feed an hour after his birth. He sucked in nicely and ate about 30 minutes. I didn’t think about what it would look like before and at that moment I thought that it wasn’t so difficult because he got it right away.
The next two days in hospital were not so bad. We managed to feed (that’s what I thought so).. At that time, I fed lying down, on demand, and often Adam spent 40 minutes at the breast.

When I returned home, nothing was like in a hospital anymore. My nipples ached from a bite. I greased them with lanolin, which relieved the pain.

Leakage is a serious issue while your supply is coming in. Your body doesn’t know how much to produce yet, so you’ll probably find yourself with extra milk pouring out frequently. Especially at night. I mean I just think about feeding the baby and my boobs start leaking!

In the first period, the body has to learn how much milk to produce.
Some women have a problem and have little production of milk and have to stimulate lactation.
I got different issue, I had too much milk comin out of my breast. My breasts were all the time large and hard (my breasts increased by two sizes). As I was feeding from one breast on the other one milk was dripping. I laughed that I could feed the twins because I have plenty of food. Adam wanted to eat very often at the beginning. I fed him 14 times a day for about 30 minutes. It was a hard time for us, because I had too much milk Adam had problems with food - he choked. After some time it goes better but it was difficult road at the begining.

In first month of feeding, I got inflammation breasts twice. I do not wish this to anyone. Pain is amazing. This happens so quickly that it can not be prevented. Once it happend to me at night and once in the afternoon.
At first I felt that I was very cold, I was shaking so much. 3 blankets it was not enough to warm me up. Then comes a fever of about 40 deegrees and shivers. The breasts become sore and hot. At the time helps me massage and wraps from cold cabbage. The house stank of cabbage, but it helped. During this time, it's best to breastfeed your baby as much as possible. But when your baby is not hungry at the time you may help yourself with the breast-pump. With that you have to be careful not to take too much milk - just to feel relief on your brest.
Breast inflammation was probably the worst thing during the beginning of my journey with breastfeeding. Later I still had a problems with my breast - a blocked canal. The breast was hard and the food would not flow out.

I know how frustrating those first couple of weeks can be. I may have even shed some tears more than once. But in most cases, it won’t stay that way forever. It will get better. I went from bleeding nipples and pain so intense I couldn’t think straight, to peaceful and enjoyable breastfeeding. I’ll be honest, it did take a little work to get here. So that’s where this post comes in for all you mums out there if you’re struggle with breastfeding remember it will be better.

xoxo

You can jump to other Adam's Mum Blog:
[Previous] [#1] [#2] [#3] [#4] [#5] [#6] [#7] [#8] [#9] [#10] [#next]

Witajcie

Dziś chcę podzielić się z wami tematem dla mnie bliskim jakim jest karmienie piersią.
Oglądając na filmach jak matki karmią swoje dzieci. Czy widząc w parku jak to robią wydaje się to rzeczą prostą. Jest to przecież naturalna rzecz dla organizmu, że matki od zawsze karmią swoje dzieci (w każdym gatunku zwierzęta) – jest to nasza natura. Ale jak to zawsze w życiu bywa w teorii łatwe, a w praktyce niezupełnie.
Ja dostałam Adama do karmienia już godzinę po urodzeniu. Wtedy przyssał się ładnie i jadł z jakieś 30 min. Nie zastanawiałam się wcześniej jak to będzie wyglądać i w tym momencie pomyślałam, że nie jest to takie trudne, bo młody od razu załapał.
Kolejne dwa dni pobytu w szpitalu nie były jakieś złe. Dawaliśmy radę się karmić, Adam pogryzł mi trochę sutki, nie zawsze udawało mu się chwycić całą brodawkę, ale ogólnie nie było najgorzej. Karmiłam wtedy na leżąco, na żądanie, często przy piersi Adam spędzał 40min.
Jak wróciłam do domu nic już nie było takie jak w szpitalu. Moje sutki bolały z pogryzienia. Smarowałam je lanoliną, która łagodziła ból. Jednak najgorsze co mnie wtedy spotkało to nawał pokarmu.
W tym pierwszym okresie organizm musi się nauczyć ile mleka ma produkować. Niektórzy mają problem i mają pokarmu mało muszą pobudzać laktację. U mnie było inaczej miałam nadmiar pokarmu. Objawiało się to tym, że moje piersi były cały czas duże i twarde (moje piersi zwiększyły się o dwa rozmiary). Jak karmiłam z jednej piersi z drugiej kapało mleko. Śmiałam się, że mogłabym wykarmić bliźniaki bo pokarmu mam pod dostatkiem.
Adam na początku chciał jeść bardzo często. Karmiłam go z 14 razy na dobę po ok 30 min. Był to ciężki czas dla nas, przez to że miałam za dużo mleka Adam miał problemy z jedzeniem – dławił się.
W tym pierwszym miesiącu karmienia dopadło mnie dwa razy zapalenie piersi. Nie życzę tego nikomu. Ból niesamowity. Dzieje się to tak szybko, że nie jest się w stanie temu zapobiec. Mi się stało dwa razy. Raz w nocy, a raz po południu. Najpierw poczułam, że jest mi bardzo zimno, normalnie się trzęsłam. 3 koce to było za mało. Potem przychodzi gorączka ok 40o, dreszcze. I piersi stają się obolałe, gorące. Mi w tym czasie pomogły masaże i okłady z zimnej kapusty. W domu śmierdziało kapustą, ale pomogło. W tym czasie najlepiej ściągać trochę pokarmu, najlepiej jak zrobi to dziecko, ale jak akurat nie jest głodne można pomóc sobie lakratorem. I tu też trzeba uważać żeby nie za dużo ściągnąć pokarmu tylko do uczucia ulgi. Zapalenie piersi było chyba najgorszą rzeczą podczas początków mojej drogi.
Później miałam jeszcze problem z zatkanym kanalikiem. Pierś robiła się twarda, a pokarm nie chciał wypływać. Namęczyłam się bardzo, żeby to minęło.
Pomimo tego, że początki karmienia są trudne. Chcę wam powiedzieć, że warto przetrwać ból. Warto się chwilę pomęczyć, bo to minie, a zostanie nam piękny czas bliskości z naszym dzieckiem. Są to chwile niezastąpione. W mleku matki jest najwięcej składników potrzebnych dziecku do prawidłowego rozwoju. Dostaje on od nas nie tylko pokarm, ale poczucie bliskości, bezpieczeństwa.

You can jump to other Adam's Mum Blog:
[Previous] [#1] [#2] [#3] [#4] [#5] [#6] [#7] [#8] [#9] [#10] [#next]

Sort:  

The inflammation your talking about sounds like mastitis. I never knew that feeling cold and shivering has levels and magnitude until I experienced it. Thanks for taking me back to Memory Lane. It all really got better.

Exacly I never thouhgt it could be in such pain.
But the time when I breastfeeding my baby is so special.
Love to be close to him even if sometimes it hurts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41