Is there a choice you made in your life that had consequences you could never have imagined?

in #life6 years ago

When I was much younger, I quit university.

At the time, I was facing a bank of tremendous personal challenges, battling C-PTSD, addiction, and depression.

Eventually I cleaned up and got on the right medication.

I received counseling, took some tough advice to heart, and began putting in the mental and physical work that was, and still is, necessary to keep myself healthy. 

I got off the medication. 

Several times in the years since, I have pursued opportunities to further my education in a classroom setting, but that door has repeatedly, and sometimes violently, slammed shut. 

I have spent many sleepless nights in a cold sweat, immersed in regret. What did I do to my life?

I'm sure this is all trying to tell me something, maybe that there is another way, that there is something else I'm supposed to do; something I'm missing.

I have a love-hate relationship with writing. While I love to come up with ideas and words truly excite me, I find the act of writing itself kind of a drag. I lack focus and self discipline. I am my own worst enemy in this regard and often don't have the grit or persistence to stay the course when going after things I want, including writing the books I have ideas for. Poetry, at least, doesn't outstay my attention span.

This is the same reason I almost need a classroom setting, with projects and deadlines to force me to follow through. I could attempt to educate myself, but my interests are all over the map and I spend more time roving from one subject to the next than getting anything done. While I'm clean now and basically healthy, I still have the nature of an addict, flights of fancy and all that stuff.

The doors closing are financial setbacks, programs I failed to qualify for by a margin, and this last time, I was accepted to a college but had to go back to work instead because my husband lost his job.  Some people can do both school and work, but with a family, I'm not one of them. I'm not resentful, just resigned.

The answers are shrouded in a deep mist of having been beaten down, and feeling my whole life has become about getting back up. Like there is nothing else, only a stuck record replaying an old song with a broken needle. The static bounces down the corridor of years; rise, and fall, and rise, and fall again. 

Is there a choice you made in your life that had consequences you could never have imagined? What lessons have you learned along the way?

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

You may rely on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.47% upvote!
I was summoned by @sarahben. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Congratulations @sarahben! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sarahben! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71