Reflections: My Life as a Hay Farmer

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Those who know me are surprised to find my past has any relationship to the title of this post. @roleerob was a farmer? Who knew? Well, haven't we all experienced that at some point in our past? Being surprised, once you get to know someone, there is more to them than you might think?

Capturing some highlights of that time in my life is the subject of this post.

Background

Wishing to protect my privacy in general, I won't get into too much personal detail about the particulars of why, in the summer of 2011, I found myself faced with the challenge of caring for a 50-acre hay farm. One that I didn't live anywhere near. In fact, it was in a different state from where I lived. To keep it going required about a 4-hour commute each way.

Thankfully, at the time, I worked a 4-10 schedule, so every Thursday evening, I'd set off with my sons, getting back on Sunday evening. Go to my "day job" the next morning. Repeat with enthusiasm from early April through to early October.

Our personal circumstances required me to do this for two seasons - 2011 and 2012. While I won't get into my age, let's just leave it at I was not a young man in his prime ... 😉

What follows is the story of the 2011 season.

Getting Started

As an engineer by profession, starting into this new "adventure" I foolishly and naively thought (trying to encourage myself I suppose in the face of the daunting task ...) "how hard can this be?" I was about to find out.

As part of the answer, later on that summer, while working with another young man (born and raised on a farm nearby) in the area helping us out with a particular repair which was needed, he said something which I will always remember from that time:

"Farming is honest work. You just can't cheat it!"

By then, I realized how true this simple statement was. While I had always had a healthy respect for farmers, those two years took my respect to another level.

Highlights

The fundamentals of hay farming are relatively basic. In the area we were farming, irrigation is just a way of life. So, every morning and every evening, i.e. on 12-hour "sets" we'd go out into the fields and get all the piping moved. On our farm, we had a combination of what are referred to as "wheel lines" and "hand lines." With the terrain, we could water roughly half the property with each of the two types of lines.

Moving the wheels lines simply involved starting up a gasoline powered engine, which would then turn large wheels up and down the field and move the sprinklers either forward or backward, as needed. The hand lines were what their name suggests. Moving them required breaking them apart into their individual sections, carrying them to the next location and linking them back together.

Guess which one we preferred? 😉

One key decision Dad made (that would be me ...), when the boys wanted to drive the 3-wheeler all around the farm was "no, we'll walk. It will be good for us." Once the first few days of grumbling subsided, we all agreed it was one of the best parts of our farming experience. Walking all over the property in the mornings and evenings, soaking up the glorious mountain air!

[Image view: A slow start to the season, when you are farming at over 7,000 ft. The date is May 20th. The snow is still down low and that is elk still out in the field!]

2011 was a particularly "late" year for the region in which the farm was located. Specifically, how long the snow stayed low on the surrounding foothills, as seen above. Nonetheless, watering was still very important to maximize the yield.

[Image view: Did I mention a slow start to the season? The date is June 3rd. Going out to take care of the morning irrigation rotation, that is ice!]

Our fields were a combination of grass and alfalfa. You would know when it was time to begin cutting the hay, when the blooms on the alfalfa reached a certain point. This was one of the many aspects of this type of farming I never really got very good at. It was relatively simple, though, to just start cutting when the farmers around us did ... 😊

[Image view: In late June, the first cutting was underway!]

We had two tractors - older John Deere tractors. The larger one was only used to pull the swather, as it required the most horsepower. Revved up and kept at a constant speed, this tractor handled the load very well. If the hay was sufficiently dry ...

In 2011, that was a problem, as it rained far more than was normal for that country. And, so, being a "rookie," I found out the hard way about cutting the hay when it wasn't sufficiently dry. The result was a much increased incidence of the swather getting bound up and work would grind to a halt. In time, I got better at this aspect of timing the work, but paid a heavy price early on.

There were instances where it literally took me two hours of steady grinding work to cut the green alfalfa out of all the machinery to get it moving again. With the tremendous horsepower of these large tractors, it took a lot to bring them to a grinding halt. The resulting pressure of the plants into the machinery was incredible. I had not yet learned you need to stop very soon after realizing it might be starting to bind up ...

[Image view: Independence Day, July 4th, still working on the first cutting. Raking after a rain storm ...]

Once the hay is cut down into what are called "windrows," it is simply a matter of letting the sun dry it out to the right amount of dryness. And then run the baler over it, which picks it up and binds it in bales for stacking. Piece of cake, right? What could go wrong?

Well, key phrase above is "letting the sun dry it out." That requires the sun to be out. Cloudy days would prolong the wait. If the clouds produced rain, the hay would rot before it ever dried out. That would never work.

So ... After a certain point, you had to run the rake over the windrows, to turn them underside up to the sun (once it came out ...). This was costly. Both time and additional fuel. And no matter how tenderly you attempted to do this, leaves from the alfalfa would fall off, lowering the nutritional value of the crop ... And, therefore, the amount customers were willing to pay for it ...

[Image view: Final stages of getting the first cutting picked up off the fields.]

A key was ensuring the hay was sufficiently dry, before baling. If not, then binding it all together in the bale would still result in the hay rotting. Learned a lot about this particular aspect of hay farming in 2011.

The one bright spot? Figuring, particularly with the especially damaged 1st cutting, that it was nearly worthless turned out to be wrong. There were always customers willing to buy the hay in pretty much any condition. The only question was the price. We lost about 40% of the value of our first cutting due to rain damage, but at least we got something for our efforts.

[Image view: In early August, the 2nd cutting begins. Water twice daily. Cut. Bale. Pick up and stack. Repeat with enthusiasm!]

The 2nd cutting was an opportunity to find out how much we'd learned from the 1st one. Well, we definitely did better, but the learning curve was still quite steep. Thankfully, while there were still problems with rain, it wasn't nearly as serious as with the 1st cutting.

[Image view: In our "spare time," keep the orchard going!]

Oh, yes, did I mention that once the haying chores were done for the day, we still had a yard and orchard to care for? Never a lack of things to do on a farm. If you ever think you're through working, well you probably don't really know what you are doing ...

[Image view: Finishing the 3rd cutting in late September. The thrill of victory!]

The highlight of the season was the 3rd cutting. While temperatures had dropped considerably at that elevation, the sun was out for all the time we needed to cut, bale, and stack. I was very thankful to end the season with experiencing putting together some very nice and tight, dry bales of hay, for which customers were willing to pay a premium price. Almost pure alfalfa at that point, we got some "rave reviews" particularly from the horse breeders who prefer it.

[Image view: Collapsed 3rd cutting stack. The agony of defeat!]

Just to ensure we were kept sufficiently humble, the picture above shows the disastrous results of attempting to stack this 3rd cutting. Operator error on the tractor ... 😞

The result was we had to get this all cleaned up and restacked by hand. On average, our bales weighed about 75 lbs. Throwing them around definitely gave us a serious work out.

A highlight of the memory of that summer? A keen observer will note the nice green color of the 3rd cutting bales on the left of the picture above. And the "golden brown" color of the bales from the earlier cuttings on the right. I joked with the boys about who would want to pay for "that yucky green stuff," when they could have the nice "golden brown" stuff instead.

Well, there was only one problem with that, which by then we'd learned. The brown hay was due to the rain damage. The nice green bales were what our customers wanted and for which they would pay top dollar.

We all had a good laugh. We'll never forget that first summer. The older of my sons used the money he earned to buy a coveted old Camaro. He has it to this day and still says he will never sell it ...

[Image view: What is the point? Oh now I remember ... Trading that green stuff in the picture above for this green stuff!]

While a little tongue-in-cheek here, I mention the money earned, I learned a valuable lesson. There was no possible way that the money we earned was from any sort of a "profitable enterprise." What is does do is pay the bills, some spending money for the children, taxes for the property, and maybe a little left over for next season's annual water bill.

My wages? Well, hey, I was on vacation!!

Many people today who live this way, do not do it for the money. To make money at it requires much larger tractors, sections of land, etc. No, it is simply a wonderful way of life. With a lot of good, clean, honest work behind it.

My sons and I will always cherish our memories of those two summers. Historically, sons could work in the fields with their fathers and learn what it means to work, get through the challenges of life, etc. That time is long past for most of us.

For a brief time, I was able to live a little bit of that lifestyle again. Neither my sons or I will ever forget it.

Closing

Making their living by farming was the primary lifestyle of our forefathers going back to the beginning of time. I am thankful and count myself blessed to have experienced some of what it takes for a brief period of my life.

I hope you enjoyed this personal reflection and found something of interest in it. I'd love to receive any comments you might wish to make.

All the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together to build our Steem Community! 👍 😊

Respectfully,

Steemian @roleerob

Posted using Busy.org and "immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Monday, 3 September 2018!

divider 123.png

steemdivider.png

If you enjoyed this post, perhaps you would also find these posts of interest / value:
Or, on the lighter side, this beginning of a series on some of my travels might be of interest:
Sort:  

Hi roleerob,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow! Thank you @curie!! Up before 🌄 and started my morning with this wonderful surprise.

I began posting in May and this is the biggest honor I have received. No words to properly express my gratitude for the encouragement received.

I have a "day job," so will take some time, but I will definitely follow these links provided and learn more about the Curie community and what I can do to help others.

Working together we'll "make hay while the sun shines" and add value to our Steem blockchain. 👍

Thanks again!

Congratulations @rolerob on the curie vote and for producing such an awesome post :) I knew they would notice you eventually!

I grew up on a farm and totally understand all of this ... it sure is a job you must love, because it's certainly not for the money! :)

As always @lynncoyle1, thank you for the kind words of encouragement. Up early yesterday morning and find this result after posting the day before was the biggest lift I've had as a Steemian. I think this post is probably worth almost as much as all of my other posts combined. But, who's counting anyway ... 😉

"it sure is a job you must love, because it's certainly not for the money! :)"

No doubt about it. It is a lifestyle that people grow to love for themselves and their families.

Thanks for stopping by. All the best to you!

I was the fortunate recipient of a curie vote twice and each time, it's like Christmas morning for a kid :)

My father was a college graduate but went into farming many years ago when it was lucrative. He insisted that we kids all went to university and if we decided to take over the farm after we completed school, only then were we allowed. Needless to say, once we got off that train, we never got back on it, and I think my father was always thankful for that because he knew how difficult it had become. Sad really, the loss of the little family farm. It's all big business now.

Up before the roosters 🌄 here @lynncoyle1 (literally) and touched by this.

"... I think my father was always thankful for that because he knew how difficult it had become. Sad really, the loss of the little family farm. It's all big business now."

Yes, very sad to me. Is this "progress?" to lose a way of life such as it once was? Family farms can no longer compete really and those who still are determined to attempt to have a huge challenge.

My beloved lifemate grew up on a farm and I'll never forget first meeting her father (long since passed). He'd also be up before the roosters 🌄, quietly drinking his morning coffee and looking out over his fields, quietly reflecting on the day in front of him. On the horizon, just above the fields was a glorious view of the mountains. Magical time ...

That is .... If you could just drag your carcass out of your warm, cozy bed ... 😊, at that time of the morning ...

Well, I did! And of his 4 daughters choices for a lifemate, I was the only one of whom he approved to marry his "baby girl" ... (true story)

Hmmm. Seem to recall writing about "sowing and reaping" somewhere around here recently ... 👍

Sadly, before he passed, the family had lost the farm. While he seemed relatively OK over his last few remaining years, I don't think he ever quite got over that.

Working full time @curie, it has not been until today that I could follow through on what I had hoped to do sooner. And in carrying it out, the end result is a post about how much this upvote has meant to me.

I hope it will serve as a source of encouragement and, perhaps, even some inspiration to those who read it.

The Curie Community is central to the story. Without it, I don't think the story could've been written. I hope someone will read this and the outcome might be at least some or partial answers to the questions I ask in my post about the Curie Community.

If there is a link or anything someone would care to provide, that would be excellent and much appreciated.

Thank you (seems very inadequate ...) for all you do to add value and help build our Steem blockchain!

Hi @roleerob!
I had as well a little experience on farming because my father also had worked as a farmer. We planted corn during those times. I had the experience of great heat from cutting grasses, preparing the soil, planting, putting fertilizers and up to harvesting. We tried also planting peanuts and sweet potatoes.

But now my father is old as well as my mother. But not really that old because many people will still come to our home for a dress making. My father is a tailor as well and my mother is a dressmaker. Now they're trying to make 37 uniforms from the teachers here in the school in front of our house.

Farming was just part of their skills and talent.

Your experience in farming and life in general only shows your dedication to live a life not only for yourself but to people near you and even far from you when people will know what you're doing for the good of all.

Thank you @ronel for stopping by and commenting. Up before 🌄 and encouraged to find it! You have elected to put a lot of yourself into it and I respect and appreciate that even more!!

"I had as well a little experience on farming because my father also had worked as a farmer."

You clearly have far more experience with it than I. Perhaps you have written about it? I'd welcome a link to any post you may have written about it. I promise to stop by and read it!

"Your experience in farming and life in general only shows your dedication to live a life not only for yourself but to people near you and even far from you when people will know what you're doing for the good of all."

Yes, well, you are very kind. I am a Christian man. "For the good of all," I can only hope I am daily making steady progress toward pointing to our Creator as the ultimate source of all that is good.

Off soon to my "day job." All the best to you @ronel for a great new day!

Thanks @roleerob!
I haven't actually written about my farming experience.
I was also studying high school during that time.

I'm a Christian as well and doing the best as I could for His glory. Ups and downs will come along the way that can't be avoided, but faith, hope and love will keep us moving forward.
God bless you and your family @roleerob!

I love it. It is not easy to make money as a farmer, and even with tractors etc. it's a lot of hard work, and a bit of luck. I farm a bit for pleasure and tradition. When I was the CIO of the local hospital system, I had some board members ask me about it. Our fields were right on the side of the main road and a lot of employees and people in the community would see me out there working...
No one could seem to figure out why? I would bust my tail out there when I didn't actually need to. It is really just one of those family traditions and I thought it was a good example not to judge others when you see them working..

Hey, thanks for "stopping by" @coinsandchains! I really appreciate you adding value to this post.

"Our fields were right on the side of the main road and a lot of employees and people in the community would see me out there working..."

Interesting setting! With the attendant issue of others passing judgment apparently. That's too bad. We didn't have any problems with that at all, as the farm was very remote. Just the way we liked it ...

*"It is really just one of those family traditions and I thought it was a good example ..."

Sounds good to me. I certainly respect your attitude / approach. Thanks again for stopping by!

lol, I wish at this moment ours was a bit more remote, they are in the process of taking large sections of the land to add two lanes to a highway. Which is rather disappointing, considering the land has been in the family for at least 160 years, and probably closer to 200.

Interesting follow-up @coinsandchains!

"... they are in the process of taking large sections of the land to add two lanes to a highway ..."

"Progress" on the one hand? BUT ... Yes, I can certainly understand the disappointment.

Hopefully, you're family has been "fairly" compensated for the land now lost. Realizing, presumably, that "fairly" would be a matter of opinion.

What a great experience! Sharing it with the children makes the memories that much better. I am sure those are some stories to pass on to the next generation.
I think a lot of us spend far too much time locked into technology. Sometimes when I get to unplug for a while the feeling is so free.
Good to see you back blogging again.

Thanks for stopping by @headchange. Nice to hear from you! Yes, the greatest part of the memory overall was sharing it with my sons.

"I think a lot of us spend far too much time locked into technology. Sometimes when I get to unplug for a while the feeling is so free."

Agreed! In my Month 3 update, I talked about that. I seriously was thinking, starting into my vacation, that I was going to try to keep up at least some posting "in here" ... Silly boy! 😉

So ... Yes, I am back and doing some posting. Mostly since I feel I lost some of the momentum I had developed. How "real" was that? Even if it was "real," does it matter? Not to me. I simply can't spend the time doing this I was before my vacation.

I do enjoy it though, so you'll still have to put up with me "hanging around" ... 😊

The platform really can take a lot of time. Even more for those who can not afford to invest. Growing organically is possible but the time it takes is not a very good ROI. Not in terms of finances, but at the same time addictive for other reasons. I myself have grown to love it.

I do enjoy it though, so you'll still have to put up with me "hanging around"

I am really glad! I had just met you before vacation. I did make a mental not to watch for your return. I really enjoy reading your insights into the experience here.

Thanks for putting up with me @headchange. You may like to know I posted my first contribution to the PIFC weekly contest this morning.

It's all your fault! 😉 👍

Take care until next we "meet" again!

That's wonderful news! I will be sure to check it out. Thanks for letting me know.

Something tells me that there's more the the farm work than what you shared. I can imagine/relate to the stuff you mentioned here. I used to live in a farm and even after moving in a city, I still spend my vacations in a farm (childhood memories). Everyday is like a mundane routine and the highlight was seeing your labor being paid off. I didn't think farming in general was hard work until I grew up realizing how farmers lived in poverty in my country. I just thought farming was fun as a kid who lived in bliss.

Still, I agree that it's mostly hard work and investing in farm equipment is only for those who want to make serious profit from the their land.

Thank you @adamada for stopping by and commenting. I really appreciate it! Your comments definitely add value to this post.

"I used to live in a farm and even after moving in a city, I still spend my vacations in a farm (childhood memories)"

We share something in common, then, as I did not mention in this post, that I had been coming to this farm to visit since I was 19 years old. But, I was always there on vacation, not to work the farm. We'd help out, as needed, like chasing down cows that got out and get them back inside the pasture. But mostly we were just there to visit and spend time up in the mountains.

Not until I worked steadily through a full growing season, for 2 years, did I have a much deeper appreciation for what it takes.

All the best to you @adamada, until we (hopefully) "meet" again!


P.S. Working full time and with a family, this is the first opportunity I've had to reply. Thank you for your understanding this delay in following up.

Yep, reminds of the the old days when I used to do farm chores for fun and a mix of work. Thank you for the thoughtful response and no problem, I work in the medical field and delays in responses are something I don't mind since I experience the same probs.

It was really a great experience for me to find out how an engineer by profession can also be a good farmer.

If I talk about India most of the people here do farming, though not in a big scale, in every other household you will find small farm.

Thank you @codingdefined for stopping by and commenting. Up before 🌄 and encouraged to find it! And from the other side of the world no less. What an amazing time we live in ...

"... to find out how an engineer by profession can also be a good farmer."

Yes, well, you are very kind. Not sure how good I was, but I will never forget the experiences. There is something about living "close to the earth" (as I sit here with "my face in a computer monitor" ... 😉) that runs deep in our souls. Or at least that is my perspective.

Off soon to my "day job." All the best to you for a great new day!

Hi @roleerob!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.179 which ranks you at #21000 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1345 places in the last three days (old rank 22345).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 178 contributions, your post is ranked at #8.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

And greetings to you @steem-ua!

Very nice to get this first look at what my delegation "to the cause" produces. As an engineer, I am a "numbers guy," so definitely you have provided a lot of good information! I like it!!

"In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 178 contributions, your post is ranked at #8."

Not sure exactly what this means, but being #8 doesn't sound too bad!

On the basis of this "first look," you will be pleased to know I will be increasing my delegation to @steem-ua.

Thanks for "stopping by!"

I had no idea this much go into hay farming- A little mistake and all your produce is ruined (or quality compromised)!! Quite a tricky and challenging one but well, with each season, you guys got better! You and your sons went through an incredible learning experience. The farm is really big and with beautiful views.

Well, it turns out that spare time at the farm isn't spare at all. Well, because orchard calls. lol

I had actually wanted to ask why you "baled" the third without letting it dry (since its still looking green), little did I know that its already dry and it turns out that its even the best.

This is definitely a memory worth cherishing, it is a beautiful one!

Thank you @audreybits for stopping by and commenting. And from Nigeria. I really appreciate it! Your comments definitely add value to this post.

"Quite a tricky and challenging one but well, with each season, you guys got better!"

Yes, we definitely got more comfortable with how big the challenge was. And we did learn to overcome a lot of the obstacles, but I was a long way from being a great farmer.

"I had actually wanted to ask why you "baled" the third without letting it dry (since its still looking green), little did I know that its already dry and it turns out that its even the best."

Very good question. It may interest you to know, that all through the winter, the farmers come and get the bales of hay to feed their cows, horses, and sheep. While the outside of the bale can be a little bit dry and brown, once you cut the baling twine and open up the bale it is still very nice and green inside.

All the nutrients in the hay are mostly in the leaves on the alfalfa. The nice green bales still had most of this well preserved inside, so that is why our customers were willing to pay the best price. It was of the highest quality.

All the best to you @audreybits!


P.S. Working full time and with a family, this is the first opportunity I've had to reply. Thank you for your understanding this delay in following up.

Yeah, from Nigeria. I am glad it did add value. Its amazing how Steemit is, right? I mean, we get to meet people from different places we never thought we would have...

You didn't end up being a great farmer but you still got the job done!! Wow, that's quite interesting. They knew what the best was and they were willing to pay for it!! A learnt alot reading through your reply.

Thank you.

I totally understand, thank you for taking out time to reply...

@roleerob, Thank you for sharing. This was a family bonding time as well :). I wish i can have a farm like yours and brought the young generation along and it would be a sense of accomplishment and taught the young generation that everything we have today is not drop from the sky, we need to earn it.

It also brought back my memory, in my hometown. my parent used to have an empty land. The different with yours was in my home town. It was a 3 hours drive from our home, the road was bumpy and muddy. We need a 4WD in order to get to that land. Because of too far inside and not develop (mostly like jungle), there were wild elephant and boar. Yah.. it is that deep inside. Slowly, everyone start to develop their piece of land become oil palm plantation when the price of oil palm increase. As my parent, they like to eat durian, so they plant a lot of durians and cocoa :)
Sorry for my long winded :)

Thank you @oliviackl for stopping by and commenting. I really appreciate it! Your comments definitely add value to this post.

"… it would be a sense of accomplishment and taught the young generation that everything we have today is not drop from the sky, we need to earn it."

Amen to that! Actually, this post was written with two purposes:

  1. To capture a very special memory with my sons.
  2. To your point, it was going to be referenced and used in my next post about adding value to our Steem blockchain. It takes work! 😊 So, we're "on the same page." 👍 😉

"It was a 3 hours drive from our home, the road was bumpy and muddy. We need a 4WD in order to get to that land. Because of too far inside and not develop (mostly like jungle), there were wild elephant and boar.'

Goodness sakes! Our farm was quite remote, but nothing like what you are describing! I don't know what country you are from, but farming there sounds like quite an adventure. You should write a post about it, then let me know. I will come read it.

"Sorry for my long winded :)"

No apology needed. Your input was great. I enjoyed reading it!

All the best to you @oliviackl, until we (hopefully) "meet" again!


P.S. Working full time and with a family, this is the first opportunity I've had to reply. Thank you for your understanding this delay in following up.

Its ok for late reply, I am full time as well. Only check the blog once a while.

You should write a post about it, then let me know. I will come read it.

This is a good idea, should give it a try. My writing skill and english not so good, these are my challenge. When think about it, it no harm to try.

I don't know what country you are from, but farming there sounds like quite an adventure

My home town is in East Malaysia. Where there are a lot of undeveloped land in outskirt.

To capture a very special memory with my sons

It's true. When I read your post, it really brought back my special memory with my parent, How we went to the plantation and bitten by mosquitoes :p.

We sure "Meet" again as I enjoy reading your blog.

Up before the roosters 🌄 here @oliviackl and pleased to find your reply. East Malaysia! Wow, what an amazing time we live in ...

"This is a good idea, should give it a try. My writing skill and english not so good, these are my challenge. When think about it, it no harm to try."

Yes, I would encourage you to try it. I can't speak for everyone, of course, but I think most admire the effort you make to communicate in another language other than your native language. I certainly do.

Form what you write, I would also imagine a post like this would "flow naturally" from your keyboard as you reflect back on that time in your life. I know it did for me when I wrote this one.

If you choose to do it, then just provide me the link (don't want to take the chance on missing it ...) and I promise to come read, reply to, and upvote it.

Off soon to my "day job." All the best to you @oliviackl for a great new day!


P.S. Nice job extracting out portions of what I wrote. Takes extra time, I know, but I think it stands out to others and improves the quality of our "curating." 👍 😊

Hi @roleerob, wow you was early :) Good to hear from you again.

If you choose to do it, then just provide me the link (don't want to take the chance on missing it ...) and I promise to come read, reply to, and upvote it.

You give me a good idea to have a topic to start. But maybe it take sometimes for to me complete it.😅
Yes, definitely will let you know.

Nice job extracting out portions of what I wrote. Takes extra time, I know, but I think it stands out to others and improves the quality of our "curating." 👍 😊

Just follow what you did 😜 Btw, this also how I replied my email in my daily job.

Have a nice day!

"You give me a good idea to have a topic to start. But maybe it take sometimes for to me complete it."

Excellent. I certainly understand time pressures. So, just as your time permits, looking forward to reading it!

Until then, all the best to you @oliviackl!

While my father had a different job prior, I got to my senses with farmer parents. When I was young I felt the discrimination of others looking at us to be dirty because of the nature of our living. Regardless of that, I will always look at farmers with high regards. No matter what white-collared people say, they can not deny the fact that farmers produce the food on our table. And I will always miss the simple living while I do not run out of fruits to eat. 😊

I'm glad that you appreciate and cherish your experience in farming.

Up before the roosters 🌄 here @macoolette and pleased to find your thoughtful reply. Thank you for stopping by and adding value to this post.

"When I was young I felt the discrimination of others looking at us to be dirty because of the nature of our living. Regardless of that, I will always look at farmers with high regards."

How sad that you experienced this, as this (to me, at least) just shows the misplaced values of those who left you with this impression. I admire and appreciate that through it all, you maintained your respect for your way of life.

"... farmers produce the food on our table. And I will always miss the simple living ..."

Absolutely right and with you, perhaps, wish "for another time," when living simply was all one knew. In my profile, I actually refer to that, as part of what I am "working on," at this stage of my life ...

Off soon to my "day job." All the best to you @macoolette for a great new day!

Up before the roosters

That is a farmer's life. There were times when I wake up and my father is already gone. He comes back for breakfast and he's done with whatever needs to be done at dawn.

I wonder what that day job is. Have a great day!

Good morning @macoolette.

"I wonder what that day job is."

If you're interested in knowing more about me, here is the post where I introduced myself to the Steem blockchain on May 14th.

In it, you'll find out a little about my background and what I do today for a living.

If you wrote one, please send me a link to it and I will visit and read it.

Off to work! 😊

Oh, you have a very well thought of introduction while I have a very lazy one here. It was what just came out of my head when I first logged in to Steemit. I have been thinking of coming up with a more comprehensive introduction but I wonder when that is going to happen.

Good day to you!

Thank you for the link @macoolette.

"... while I have a very lazy one ..."

I think you may be a little too hard on yourself. I enjoyed reading it!

And the snake! Goodness sakes, among other things, it looks very heavy. How heavy was it? Your smiling and looking pretty relaxed, so I guess it wasn't too bad.

Also, I've held snakes before, but always held them closer to their head, so they couldn't bite me. In your picture, it appears as though it could turn its head and bite you. Probably not, since we are talking about it and you seem to be fine ... 😉

If you ever write more about it, I would enjoy learning more about what type of IT work you do.

Have a good day there on the other side of the world from here!

I am not sure how heavy the snake was but it was heavy. It was trying to wring me that both its weight and the pressure were pulling me down. I was trying so hard to control it just for the photo shoot. Of course, I had to smile for the camera. There are actually have few shots wherein I was screaming. Here is one, still trying to look cute on camera. 😂

Have a great weekend there!

Well at least you are 😂 @macoolette!

"It was trying to wring me that both its weight and the pressure were pulling me down."

Yes, I can only imagine. Snake to self:

"What kind of creature is this? Usually they run away when I am hungry, but not this one! No!! This one picks me up, curls me around it and ..."

Fortunately they are not too quick! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87