7 Things I've Learnt as a Non-Muslim Fasting During Ramadan

in #life6 years ago (edited)

vicki-marie-makeup-ootd-midsummers-night-dream-final.jpg

For the past 4 years, I've been fasting during Ramadan, despite the fact I'm not a Muslim.

There are quite a few reasons why I've chosen to do this, but for the sake of brevity, all you really need to know is that I'm a curious person and I enjoy learning.

And each year I learn a lot, not only about Islam, but also about myself and others.

This year was no different.

Here are 7 important things I learnt:

1. My mind is stronger than I thought it was

Going into Ramadan, I thought I was going to have to prepare myself for an onslaught of negativity and self-sabotage from my inner critic.

To my surprise however, thoughts of giving up never crossed my mind. Looking back, I think that was in part due to my desire to support my fiancé and friends, who are Muslims but mostly due to reminding myself of the millions of people who don't have adequate food or clean water on a daily basis.

Every time my stomach hurt and I felt thirsty, I told myself that at the end of the day I would get to eat, so my pain was temporary compared to those less fortunate than me.

Keeping others in my thoughts made me much more motivated than I've ever been purely for something for my own benefit.

2. I'm way more focused and productive

You'd think that without food, our ability to concentrate would drop dramatically. However, for me, I found this not to be the case, especially during the later parts of the month.

I believe one of the biggest reasons for my increase in productivity was the fact that I wasn't taking breaks to prepare and eat meals (I work from home as a freelance Designer and Writer).

I also found that because I wasn't wasting so much time thinking about and planning 3 to 4 meals a day, I had so much more brain power in reserve to put towards work and being productive.

Sure, it's difficult in the beginning as it's a bit of a shock to your body and normal routine, but you'd be amazed at how quickly your body adapts and responds to prolonged fasting (>20 hours/day).

3. I can deal with my emotions in healthier ways

I knew that this was an opportunity to really face my demons head on.

And it was rough. Most evenings, during the first 2 weeks around 6pm, I would get grumpy and irritable as hell.

It was like coming undone, being stripped of my armour and forced to look at myself in a gigantic mirror. All of my anxieties and insecurities would come steamrolling in, completely suffocating and overwhelming me.

Unable to distract and comfort myself with food, drink, cuddles or kisses, I had to deal with my emotions in healthier and more constructive ways.

And I did.

In fact, I turned to journaling, painting, meditation and self-soothing; all of which are much harder to implement than grabbing a chocolate bar or downing a glass of wine, but practised habitually over the 4 weeks, instead of ignoring my problems, I began to unravel them, understand them and heal from them.

4. Fasting can cure chronic pain

For about 6 months before Ramadan, I was suffering daily with chronic back pain. Nothing seemed to work, from yoga, to swimming to flat out bed rest. I had pretty much resigned myself to visiting a Doctor for undesired (and potentially addictive) medication, when after the first week of fasting I noticed a dramatic reduction in the pain.

Obviously relieved and ecstatic, I did some research as to why that might be, and discovered that one of the biggest benefits of fasting is the high level of Human Growth Hormone (HGH) secretion during daylight hours. This is important because HGH is crucial for cell recovery and rejuvenation and usually only released in small amounts at night whilst you sleep.

Now at the end of 4 weeks, I can happily say I'm pain free. Of course, I'll have to see how things go now that I am back to eating normally, but from what I've learnt on the topic of fasting this year, it seems that regular periods of fasting are extremely beneficial for protecting the body from chronic pain or serious illnesses in the future.

This is not to say fasting is the right answer for everyone, but I do think it's an inexpensive and underrated option that's worth further exploration.

5. Food and water is a luxury

This one is a biggie.

I remember even on the first day of fasting just how grateful I felt when 9.20pm rolled around and I could finally take my first sip of water in almost 22 hours.

It was pure ecstasy.

In Tunisian Arabic, they have an expression called "saha" which loosely translates to "good health", and it's used quite liberally in all kinds of situations, from achieving something in life, to exiting the shower.

However, it really has impact after someone enjoys a good piece of food or a satisfying drink. Imagine how good an ice cold soda feels going down on a ridiculously hot summer's day and you'll understand what I mean.

After that first sip and being told "saha!" by my fiancé, it hit me why that expression is so powerful. It really is a luxury it is to have fresh food and clean water on a daily basis, and it should be enjoyed and appreciated at every single opportunity.

6. The random act of kindness from strangers.

This year, as part of personal development journey, I decided to step out of my comfort zone and create a couple of short YouTube videos on my experience during Ramadan.

Ever the realist however, I had prepared myself to face a multitude of negative comments, what with the nature of social media in general and the topic I'd chosen to talk about.

Yet, I was completely dumfounded at the overwhelmingly positive response and kindness that I received. In fact, during the first week, one of my videos went viral on Facebook, with Muslims all over the world thanking me for making my video and cheering me on for fasting.

Indeed, I truly love Ramadan because everyone who is fasting, supports and encourages each other whole heartedly. Muslim or not, male or female, child or adult, we're all in the same boat, and you'd be amazed at the acts of kindness demonstrated during this holy month.

In fact, one of the most amazing videos I saw online during this time was made by an anonymous man from UAE, who gave an elderly woman selling napkins on the street a proper job, with a salary, for no other reason than he didn't want her to be struggling. It's a beautiful video, and I implore you to watch it.

7. Deep respect and understanding for a religion and way of life other than my own

Something that grows year upon year that I fast during Ramadan is my deep love and respect for Islam and Muslim communities all over the world. As mentioned, I'm a very curious person, and I love to experience other people's ways of life.

Seeing the world through someone else's eyes brings you a much better perspective on life, develops deeper understanding and empathy. And if nothing else, by embracing other people, and other cultures, we not only will learn something about others, but perhaps also about ourselves.

Understanding, empathy and love are the keys to a more peaceful world.

I honestly believe that we all need to be more willing to listen to and try another ways of doing things because our way isn't the only way! Who knows, you may discover something that changes your whole life for the better!


Thank you for reading. I really loved experience during Ramadan this year and I hope you'll maybe feel inspired to try it out next year.


If you liked this, you might also be interested in my other articles:

Overcoming the Fear to Post about my Depression Online

On Feeling Like An Outsider

Is It True That We Have To Spend Money To Earn Money On Steemit?


Steemit
Twitter
Facebook
Medium
Instagram

Sort:  

Great blog!

I've lived and worked with a number of muslims and did always wonder about the personal impact physically and emotitionally, but never really broached the subject with them.

Fasting does sound brutal, but with some potentially awesome outcomes. Thanks for sharing your insight 😊

Hi! Thank you so much for reading and commenting! I was always curious too but it wasn't until I met my fiancé and his Muslim friends that I started asking questions and decided to try it out myself! And I'm glad I did :) It was definitely an eye opening experience!

PS - it was brutal, especially as I was fasting for 22 hours a day!! But, as you can tell from my post, it was worth it! :)

Good to connect with you! Take care!

Well done to you for sticking with it and learning along the way :)

Have a great weekend!

Thanks! You too!

Thank you for sharing your blog with me. I have given everything I can in terms of a 100% upvote and a resteem - I hope you get the attention you deserve!

signature_5.gif

Your post has been featured in todays announcement here:
https://steemit.com/steemitbloggers/@jaynie/1-day-1-post-100-minnow-blog-support-initiative-no-4
Looking forward to seeing more from you!

Proud Founder of the @steemitbloggers

Steemit Bloggers

(PS. On a separate note... I really like your approach to life and would like to extend an invitation to you to join our @steemitbloggers community on discord. If you are interested... drop me a DM on Discord... here is my handle: jaynie#9450)

Thank you @jaynie!! You are so amazing! <3 I really appreciate it!

PS - I would absolutely LOVE to be a part of your community! Thank you for inviting me! :)

I fasted for Ramadan 3 years ago just for the experience. Living in Las Vegas with Ramadan at that time falling in July was difficult because of not being able to drink water during the day but I did it and felt amazing after the month. I learned a lot and now follow an intermittent fasting lifestyle that I enjoy immensely. Thanks for posting :)

Hi! Congratulations for doing it!! I bet it was super hard in Las Vegas during the summer!!! I also do intermittent fasting now and it's amazing! :)

Thanks for commenting! Take care!

22 hours sounds crazy
Here we fast a little over 13 hours
The bit about chronic pain, hmmmm interesting
Hey congratulations (fasting 22 hours!! Still wrapping my head around that)

Hey! I know, right? That's what I get for living in France! Haha! But it was a great experience nonetheless!

Thanks for commenting! Take care :)

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on Ramadan! I've never really tried going through their rituals but your thoughts and your experiences about it, gives me a better understanding on what it is all about.

@steemitbloggers totally picked an awesome individual!

#steemitbloggers!

Hi! Thank you for reading and commenting! I'm so glad you enjoyed my article :)

:) Happy to read it and thank you so much for sharing your experience.

Loading...

You have an amazingly positive attitude, and I can totally see why @jaynie picked this for today's #steemitbloggers minnow support initiative! These are all excellent observations, and I thank you for sharing them - I needed a couple of these reminders today. Bright blessings to you!

Hi Traci! Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post and leaving such a lovely comment! You are so kind :) And I'm so happy you enjoyed my observations.

So lovely to connect with you! Take care x

You're very welcome, and so happy to have connected with you as well! 😊

This is a great post, I never heard anyone tell something about fasting during ramadan, except for muslims. And this is nice to read. Those things you mention, that you learned are very valuable lessons. I always believed that this would be so terribly hard and not doable, but your post makes me doubt that now. Although I can't believe that I would manage to not drink water all day while all the days are about 30 degrees. I get such a big headache then. But again, thank you for sharing this, it was a great read!

Hi! Thank you for reading and leaving a lovely comment!

I also thought it would be really difficult but if you set your mind to something and really focus, you can achieve it! :)

Congratulations @gouldingv! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72