Answering Questions About The Congo (10 SBD giveaway!)

in #life7 years ago

PC317921.JPG

Hi I'm Danny! I'm travelling around the world! Follow me.


Thanks to the amazing comments on my posts from my trip to The Congo! If you haven't checked out the posts you can here! In this post I wanted to answer some of my favourite questions that I've received.



Arriving In The Congo
Going To The Incredible Virunga National Park
Seeing Mountain Gorillas In The Wild Part 1
Face To Face With Incredible Mountain Gorillas Part 2
Spending New Years Eve By The Largest Lava Lake In The World
Visiting a Gorilla Oprhanage

PC317934.JPG

The giant body size of gorilla makes them unapproachable. The feeling of seeing gorillas in the zoo and in the wild is so different. Conservation should be carry out to protect these rare animals from extinction. by @jiashin

I agree! The whole point of increasing tourism into places like this is to give back to the people running these places, and to the rangers who defend the mountain gorillas. The gorillas were incredibly calm and I'd say we were probably about 1 metre away at one point and I didn't feel threatened at all.

Dannystravels is now..JaneGoodalltravels!! by @razvanelulmarin

Haha, I like this. She is a legend, for sure. I actually wrote about her in an earlier blog and how she became a huge inspiration for me.

I’d love to go to the Congo but how safe is the Congo? I’ve been to some rougher countries and cities but for some reason thought the Congo would be too dangerous. Am I completely off in thinking this? by @travelersmemoire

No you're absolutely right. The Congo is still quite unstable. You definitely can't just go in there on your own. That's why we organised our trip via Virunga tourist board. They transported us everywhere and sorted out our accommodation. There are still some military on the streets with guns, but our guide didn't have a weapon or anything like that.

I loved reading your story again :) What caught my attention this time was your photo of the cage where it shows the fingers of the gorilla. Interesting shot and it's kinda scary. I know that the gorilla is in the cage but I was still imagining what if the gorilla broke the cage haha that was just my imagination though. Two thumbs up for a great story. Cheers! :) by @beachpersona

Although it looks quite sad for the Gorilla the truth is that if they weren't in the orphanage then they'd be dead from poachers. They live a happy and healthy life in the orphanage so that's a good thing. We did see the Gorilla trying to unlock the padlock from inside the cage, but they don't really show aggression.

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 12.49.38.png

PC317964.JPG

PC317980.JPG

PC318154.JPG

SAM_9405.JPG


Follow me here and check my old posts!

Bonito's beautiful waters

The 2000 year old sinkhole | Underground Cave Diving | Untouched Blue Caves | Floating Down the River | Ziplines into crystal clear water | Bonito is absolutely Stunning | 50 SBD Giveaway!

Columbia & Trekking to the hidden city

First thoughts about Columbia | Trekking to the hidden city (Day 2) | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5 | Trekking to the hidden city (50 SBD Giveaway!)

The Pantanal Wetlands and Wildlife

My Trip to The Pantanal | Swimming With Caiman | Giant Guinea Pigs | Photographing Blue Macaws | We got attacked my Howler Monkeys! | 50 SBD Giveaway

Sort:  

Excelente foto amigo, ya te estoy siguiendo, te invito a visitar mi blog y ver alguna de mis publicaciones seguro te gustaran, regalame un voto

You are good luck because you visit all around the world and get happning

greetings from aceh (indonesia)

Lovely photos
Africa is lovely indeed coupled with her rich heritage

lovely photographs.

Since you are in Africa, try and visit Nigeria. I assure you of a fun adventure. You can also meet fellow Steemians in Abuja, the capital of the country.

This is a cool post!! thank you for doing this and for mentioning me!!

thank you so much @dannystravels
Cheers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51