THEY HIRED ME! - Sharing My First Day Experience At My First Job

in #life5 years ago (edited)

tax-requirement-point-right-img3.png

A couple of days ago I interviewed with a multimedia advertising company for the position of a content writer. After some discussions, inquiry, and negotiation, they decided to hire me and I was supposed to start working from the very next day itself.

It was all very new to me. Part of me felt the same anxiety I felt when I gave my first interview ever for a different company but unfortunately couldn't get the job because of my interrupting exam schedule.

But this time, I was pretty calm overall and I was fortunate enough to get it right. The interview didn't feel that formal, but I got the job nonetheless. This initially brought a huge sigh of relief when I exited the room followed by a sense of accomplishment along with some mixed feelings as well.

I know most folks try to start off doing internships, part-time or summer jobs or whatever, but I worked out an arrangement from my daily schedule (which you'll later see going to trash in my next post) and was able to do full-time without compromising my college timings.


I'm not ready, but let's do it anyway!


So, it's the next day and I show up at the workplace and I'm pretty sure you can expect what was going on in my head. I was nervous but excited, scared but curious, and for once, I even thought of going back home and not having to deal with any of it entirely.

But that's not progress, that's not change. So I opened the gate regardless, forcing myself to not overthink and end up triggering my anxiety in a place where I can't afford to have it. What helped calm down the introvert in me (which is most of me anyway) is that the place isn't crowded at all.

Hardly around 20-25 people in the room, which was perfect for me because I don't feel comfortable working in a crowded environment. One of the guys around there showed me where to sit and handed me the work.

I imagined myself saying to the guy, "Uh.. how about some introduction first maybe?" but I thought that would be rude and since there weren't many people, an intro wasn't really required because I did indeed learn most of their names in a few days.


Oh, you must be the new guy!


The people I've met so far are interesting enough, especially that photographer guy who I seem to bond with pretty well since I too love photography. We do seem to share some talks here and there, and he occasionally lets me on to some of the inside stories about the company and the people working there, so that's a bonus.

He showed me some of his photos and I was like "Holy moly, these are amazing!" and then I showed him some of my photos that I took from my phone and he said, "You do indeed have a sense of photography," and that honestly meant so much to me even if I don't really share my photos with many people.

Some of them, all females, are so incredibly soft-spoken that it feels nice just to talk to them lol! Overall, I love working there. Well, not always, especially when I have to work late while almost everyone else has already left (more on that in the next post) but apart from that, it's a fun new experience for me and I think it will help me get rid of my fears of the adult world too.

I've talked about it before how I'm often intimidated by the idea of what the future might hold for me, but now after this experience, I honestly feel like I'm beginning to become a little more able to face whatever life throws at me.

...and I hope it stays that way.

av4tt0mlsg.png

End Note:

I know I've been trying to be a lot more open about my life lately and I know most of it revolves around me revealing my fears and misfortunes, but I also want to remind, mostly myself, but also you guys that all of it isn't all of who I really am, and that I want to share with you guys the parts of my life that I can one day look back at and be proud of.

I know life is going to get a lot harder from this point on, and I can't say for certain if I'll be ready for it or not, but I'm sure I'll handle myself pretty well. After all, I've done it before, even if I thought I wouldn't be able to. In the coming days, I might not be able to give Steemit my full attention because as I'm growing older, so are my priorities, but I hope it always remains one of them. Peace!

av4tt0mlsg.png

Related articles:

Continue reading:



Capture.PNG

Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

Congratulations on the job! You write well, so I'm sure you will fit in and do well!

I did fit in pretty well. It's actually been almost a month since I started working with them but I never got the time to make this post.

I'll soon be making another post sharing some of the stuff I learned about the corporate world and all that and how my college timings might again mess up my work timings, haha! We'll see!

Congratulations on the new job! :)

Thank you man :D Looks like I'm finally beginning to enter the grown-up world!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ayushjalan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You got a 8.78% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @ayushjalan! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I'm glad to hear you are enjoying your new job. Starting on a new job is always difficult... and sometimes things just won't work.

It looks like things are going well for you. Congratulations... and may you be happy at your new job!

It sure was, and I learned a lot of things in the time that I worked with them. However, I've quit that job and found an even better one! I talked about it in this post if you'd like to give it a read :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47