My 1st Steemit Anniversary! — Everything I Learned From My Journey

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

steemfinaledit.png

birthday1.png

I still clearly remember the day I made my very first introduction post on Steemit an year ago. It was most definitely going to be a very new and different experience for me because I was about to step into something I knew absolutely nothing about.

Regardless, I clicked a photo, made my first post, and I was so happy with it. It was like being a kid again. I remember feeling so excited about all of it and I began seeing myself in the future and what would happen if I become a successful blogger.

I had high hopes for myself, which first brought in a wave of determination, but I also expected too much too early which later brought in an ocean of disappointment when I saw my posts making nothing.

The Realization

I knew it was only a matter of time until I started to make some real progress because I knew I was putting in honest efforts, but it still felt like shit seeing those $0.00's on my posts and because of that, I started comparing myself with other people who were earning way more than me.

It felt even worse when I saw how some people who started after me were already gaining more attention and appreciation on their blog. This led to building up of jealously and feeling of failure.

In the pursuit of trying to match their level of "success," I began working even harder on my blog, harder than I was supposed to for that time. Though it did brought some attention at first, I eventually realized it was not worth it because I was no longer writing from my heart.

I tried to remind myself why I started writing in the first place. I'm not gonna lie and say that money was never a priority, because it was, but not the biggest one. I started writing because I wanted, and still want to, be remembered.

The Recognition

On 19 June 2018, I made my first entry ever for a writing contest. Little did I know that it will become one of my most precious treasures on Steemit. It was my first post that earned $10+, which at the time felt like hitting a goldmine.

It was also the first post where I shared something personal about my life, even if I was very nervous because it was the first time here that I was opening my heart out for people to see, especially if those people were strangers on the internet.

But to my surprise, it worked out better than I expected because I ended up winning that contest, along with many others later on which were hosted by the same person. It's funny how sometimes little things like these end up shaping a part of you, and that's exactly what they did to me.

This whole experience taught me how important participation and socializing is, especially for newbies, and also the real credit value of honesty and connection.

As time went on, I began to apply those same principles on my blog, for which, I eventually got some serious recognition. I was recognized by @curie for sharing my vulnerabilities and honesty, and by @blocktrades and @ocd for sharing my curiosity in a contest I participated in, for which I couldn't be more grateful.

The Reward

It took me a long time to finally realize that the bigger reward isn't even the money, but the experience itself! It's about the collection of all the amazing and thought-provoking conversations you got to have with other people, it's about the world that you got to see from the eyes of others, and most importantly, it's about the family that you got to be a part of.

Money sure is a factor when you're investing so much of your time and energy in your blog, but at its core, it's about how belonged do you feel among the people that you are sharing this platform with. A big part of what makes a writer great, is not only his work, but the reaction of his readers to his work.

I know all of this might not sound practical to some of you, and that's completely okay. Most of us here on Steem aren't earning our living through it anyway. We're just here to try out something new and enjoy the ride along the way. If it reaps profits, cool. If it doesn't, it was so worth the try.

I wanna thank all these amazing people who have helped me in my journey in whatever way they did. Without them, I wouldn't have been able to make this boat stay afloat for as long as it did!

@averageoutsider @firepower @aishwarya @sauravrungta @apolymask @vedicsamurai @curie @ocd @blockurator @wolfhart @tryskele @youhavewings @hiddenblade @jmehta @goodguymate @delishtreats @felt.buzz @esteem @paulag @curatorhulk @steevc @niallon11 @slobberchops @alokkumar121 @angryman @simplymike @bengy @lymepoet @trincowski and a lot more that I'm probably forgetting.

You guys mean so much to me. Thank you for being a part of my Steemit journey. Much love <3

av4tt0mlsg.png


Capture.PNG

Sincerely,

@ayushjalan

Sort:  

Just keep doing it for the love of writing. There is no point in trying to please the masses, instead it's better to please yourself and see who appreciate it. Great to see you doing well and enjoying the process.

I am! My old articles used to be based around the idea "what other people would like to read" but now I've adopted to more of a "how do I teach people while also making them interested in my life?" kinda approach, and so far, it's working out just fine. I try to write what I love, while also making it entertaining and informative to read, so that way I can keep a fair balance.
.
.
.
.
.
Just like thanos wanted lol :P

I made the same mistake. No, I'm lying... I still do so 75% of the time: trying to write stuff of what I think will be appreciated by the audience, instead of writing from my heart.

It's funny... a couple of days ago, I came across one of my early posts. It was a very personal one about how the fear of failure kept me from entering writing challenges.

In the comments section, someone adviced me to submit the post as an entry for a contest. It took all courage I had, but I did. And guess what?! I won the contest. Pretty ironic, isn't it?

It doesn't happen very often that I write a spontaneous, personal post. But when I do, they are so much better than the other ones I do.

Shortly after that winner post, I finally understood that the monetaey rewards here are actually not very important. Of course, it is nice to get some rewards, but compared to the awesome people I meet here every day, the things I learned about everything, but mostly about myself, the awesome community... Those are the things that keep me here.

I've seen the price of Steem go down from $8 to $0.30, but it didn't have any influence on how I feel about this place.
It's an adventure that has changed my life in so many, positive ways...

Btw, congrats on your first anniversary!

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like you and I share the same story, and perhaps even the same mindset. I too won my first contest with my very first participation entry, and that was clearly my first big push that it led me to participate more often and on a regular basis.

About writing on personal matters though, I think it's probably better if you try to open up about it and be honest with yourself. It can definitely be scary, I admit, but it's so worth it when you see and read how other people have been through the same.

That's the reason why I started the #realtalk series on my blog because I needed a separate place where I can be 100% myself and 100% honest. It does suck to see when no one comments on it, I admit, but it's still worth it because when you read what you wrote, you can genuinely feel how true you are being to yourself and to everyone who cares enough to read. It's an experience in itself, to say the least.

IMO, I would rather want to follow someone who is open about their feelings to their audience, or is at least trying to because that shows that the writer is a genuine and trust-worthy person and deserves my whole-hearted attention.

Thank you for leaving such a brilliant comment! :)

Sorry for the delay... I'm so far behind on everything 🙄

but it's so worth it when you see and read how other people have been through the same.

I completely agree. It feels great to know you're not the only one going through certain things. It also puts things back into perspective sometimes. I often realize I'm whining while I actually have little to whine about compared to others. But then the people who do have reason to whine, leave a supportive comment. I love that kind of interaction.

Sorry for the delay... I'm so far behind on everything 🙄

Haha it's alright! I don't mind it at all. The fact that you replied means more to me than when you did it :)

But then the people who do have reason to whine, leave a supportive comment. I love that kind of interaction.

I know right! It's always the people who have suffered in their lives who end up being the kindest and most understanding because they already know how hard life can be and they don't want it to make it harder for other people but instead help them if they can. I love that :)

Me too. When you've gone through something yourself, it is indeed a lot easier to understand what a person is experiencing...

A great post and meaningful, opened my eyes today. Found your post in C-squared "self promotion".

Thank you! I'm glad you found my post meaningful :)

Thanks for mentioning eSteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channel for more benefits and offers on eSteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

Congrats on completion of one anniversary. Thanks for being part of Steem Indian community. 🤝

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Glad to come this far :)

Awesome! Generous! Brilliant! Cangratulations! I like your post. I'm only looking forward to complete my first three month of blogging and still loving it. 😊 😅

3 months is still a big milestone! I remember when I made a post about my 3-month beginner experience on Steem and how it got a bunch of really positive and encouraging comments from the community, including one from @simplymike who is still here on my 1 year anniversary :)

This is what I love about this community. You might not get the money, but you sure do get some new friends!

Thanks for your comment, @ayushjalan! I'm exitingly looking forward to taking some time to read your 3-month aniversary post. All the best to you and friends and family!

To you as well! I wish you great success on Steem :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ayushjalan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations and happy Steemiversary dude!

Big thanks to you buddy. I honestly couldn't have done it if you weren't there to give me a hand. There were times when I had thoughts about quitting the platform because I was seeing no progress, but then BAM! You went ahead and started supporting me on a constant basis and that made me feel sorta safe in a way.

The things that you do for this community are really admirable. I can see why you have so many followers :)

Glad to hear that I was able to help. Cheers dude. :)

What a wonderful post about your first year of Steem. You could have written this post for me, it follows my first year pretty well. We may have a different set of "important people" who were there for us in the beginning, but the premise is the same. If it wasn't for all the wonderful people and communities, it wouldn't be worth it. It's certainly not for the money, lol.

It's true when they say "Come for the money, stay for the community." Money sure matters, but it doesn't matter as much as the fact that you are getting to do what you love and if you're lucky, you might even be able to make a living out of it.

Even if you're not, a handful is still enough. Steem for most people, including myself, is more like a hobby that we enjoy. There's so much stuff going on in my life right now, but still, I always give time to Steemit no matter how tired I might be.

The satisfaction it gives to write your heart out is way more than the discomfort of tiring yourself out.

Congratz on your one year birthday here with Steemit 😁🥳 I still remembered mine and the journey seemed to be so long but yet just 2 years ago. Steem on!

I'm sure the second year will pass just as soon, especially when life seems to be going by really quick these days haha!

No doubt it will, things change fast these days. Steem on @ayushjalan!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47