What I Learned From My First Day In College - Life Advice For High Schoolers

in #life6 years ago (edited)

segvse.jpeg

Mostly when talking about first day of college, there are two groups of people. One, who had an amazing first day, made a lot of new friends, and can't wait to go back to college; the extroverted people, basically.

The other, who had a horrible first day, were somehow embarrassed in front of the whole class, couldn't make any friends, felt cornered, and regret their decision of going to college in the first place.

For me, it was none of the mentioned. I didn't had an amazing day, but not a horrible one either. I didn't make a lot of friends, but just one acquaintance. I'm not super enthused to go to college again, but I kinda wanna see what all happens next. See what I mean?

I've seen some people take it way too seriously at times. They worry way too much of what kinda first impression are they gonna create, what should they wear, who should they interact with; all of this makes up for nothing but a big cake of anxiety.

Since I've experienced it for myself, I want to share what I learned with you guys. No, I don't mean literally what I learned from the lectures, but what I learned about life, people, and socializing in general.

It's Hard Only If You Make It Hard

pexels-photo-459971.jpeg

If you think first days are hard, spoiler alert, they are not. They are super easy and chill. You might think that people are gonna judge you for not knowing which class to sit in, or for not knowing the environment of the college, but let me remind you, you're not the only new one there.

There are hundreds of other kids who are just as unaware as you are. Just like you, they don't have a single clue of how everything works around that place; and if you think everyone is gonna judge you, there's no reason to worry because frankly, no one really gives a shit.

Remember, it's not high school. Everyone is there to make their own future. No one cares about your appearance. They won't even notice you as long as you don't give them a reason to. Even if they do notice you, it's probable that they'll just forget about you the next day.

Now I'm not saying this is the case for everyone. I know some people have had it really rough in their times, but just because they have, doesn't mean that all of us will experience the same.

The Way You Talk Changes Everything

excited-3079076_960_720.jpg

This one's big. It applies not just for schools or colleges, but your entire life. Language is complex and complicated, and the way you choose to frame your sentences along with facial gestures can change the entire meaning of your words and can be interpreted as something you didn't want to.

It's important to learn about micro-expressions and what they mean because they can be your biggest tools when and if used properly. It might not sound very important right now while reading this on an internet blog, but in real life, micro-expressions can make a lot of differences, especially in the ways others see you.

Even if you meant well, but the way you framed your sentences was unclear, it's highly probable that the person in front of you will interpret it in a wrong way and might create a bad image of you inside their head. The best possible way to avoid this, is to use your gestures and micro-expressions carefully.

It's Easy To Be Helpful

adventure-1807524_960_720.jpg

Think of the last time you helped someone. Did you have to give anything up or had anything to lose if you helped? The answer is probably no. It's literally so easy to help someone without losing anything at all. No matter how small, but if you are able to help someone, do.

Now I'm not trying to brag or anything, but on my way back home as I was sitting in a crowded city bus, I saw a rather short lady who couldn't hold onto the straps and it was quite clear that she was unable to stand steady in a moving bus. So I gave her my seat because I'm tall enough to hold onto the straps. Did I lose anything? Of course not. Instead I made someone happy by little to no effort.

Even if it's something as little as giving a spare pen to your classmate, help is always appreciated and it goes a long way. If that wasn't enough, it can even be a great way to make some new friends. After all, friends are like your back-ups in case you missed a lecture and need to catch up on what's been taught.

When In Doubt, Ask Your Way Out

question-mark-2123967_960_720.jpg

Just remember this one thing if nothing else: Whenever in doubt, simply ask people to help you. It's super easy, super quick, and there's no shame in doing so. It's the same reason why somehow some people always figure out a way to do pretty much anything.

When asking someone for help, all you are doing is gathering resources. Think of it like a video game. When you can't defeat the boss, you go to different places and interact with a lot of other characters who guide you through learning more about better weaponry, skills, spells, and all that stuff to ultimately upgrade your arsenal.

The same thing happens when you ask people out for help. The only difference is, the weapons is the knowledge about your environment and the arsenal is your brain. The more the information, the more the chances of figuring stuff out. Simple as that.

av4tt0mlsg.png

If you liked this article or found it useful, you might also like:

Continue reading:


Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

Interesting post @ayushjalan. I still remember my college days. This post helped me traverse through my college memories. Thank you. It was indeed a good read.

Thanks for the compliment :D I'm glad it made you remember of those times!

Well written post. It is great advice for those starting college which is certainly an unique experience in life!

Thank you :) I hope it'll help someone out.

Hello Ayush,

you share very good blog , this will help in our life

I like your blog am following you for daily upvote and comment follow me @ram.todkar this will be helpful for mutual growth to be successful on steemit.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for this!

Good post. First time on my first campus, busy with the contents of krs (card plan study)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ayushjalan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58296.60
ETH 3064.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26