I'm starting to have an anxiety attack, lets see if I can get this down in words.

in #life7 years ago

I can feel it starting.
There isn't a reason but my chest starts to get tight and it seems I can't get my breath. Next up is the ringing in my ears and my face feeling numb.

It's time to distract myself so I've just got up and put the kettle on and began typing this, I'm beginning to get a little light headed to boot. Let's see if writing down what I'm feeling helps.

This is my first anxiety attack of this year, I thought I was doing well with them but it seems I'm not over with them and the feeling of panic is growing even as I type. Soon the twitching will turn up but before then I'm starting to clench and unclench my left hand. It always seems to be my left hand that is first but I put that down to being left handed.

Distraction is a good way to counter what I'm feeling and my cup of coffee helps too but I can still feel the panic and anxiety building and I'm startling to get restless legs.

OK writing this wasn't helping enough so I've just got up and walked around the house, done a little tiding up and worked on breathing.

Looks like I managed to dodge the bullet this time so I'm going to find a photograph that I can drop in at the end, I know just the one as I was going through my photographs last night.

After 3 months or so of these I'm getting better at handling them and avoiding going full out attack that needs paramedics to calm me down. At worst it's 20 minutes of twitching and struggling to breath or like today managing to head it off.

I can still feel the anxiety lurking in my head and chest, which is just a little bit tight so I think some serous house cleaning is needed to distract myself.
Well at least I'll have a clean kitchen to show for it, so not all bad.

IMG_2158.JPG

Sort:  

I too have experienced these, so I have complete empathy - the worst one was at a grocery store several years ago, when I ended up hiding under the cashier's counter crying my eyes out; that was also the most embarrassing one and I don't know how I got there. Thankfully it's been a long time since I've had a major attack, and I've learned how to ward most of them off before they get to that point. I also wasn't able to handle the side effect of the meds. For me, learning to meditate to control my breathing helped a lot - as is connecting in some way with nature, especially being around water. It's harder now with my disabilities to go for walks, especially in the winter ... but I do so whenever I'm physically able. Please know you're never alone. So many of us know your struggles with anxiety and depression - and I'm rooting for you as well. Always keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

I hoping that the more I learn of the warning signs the more I can swerve to one side and as time goes by the attacks get less. Like I said, first one this year so much better than the daily attacks 5 or 6 weeks ago.

You're doing all the right things - and if necessary, a call for help can also be timely and helpful. (((hugs)))

I'm so sorry you are experiencing the dreaded things. When I had agarophobia I had so many I was never really 'out'of the panic. Distraction is key. I used to pop a polo mint went I felt it coming on and it helped...like training the mind to think polo mints mean safety! CBT helped me in the end and I can go most places now, haven't had an attack for a while. Big hugs. Hope you keep kicking it's ass! It's great to use the blog post as a distraction and it helps others to understand too!

I've also found reading is helpful so i can now say reading is part of my medical treatment.

Love your method of actually writing about it (beautiful text btw) to also distance yourself from those emotions partly at least.

Having the mindset that you do, to actually take action and working with your anxiety like this is, is key to actually overcome it in the long run. I believe in you :)

Otherwise, if you're into travelling, fitness, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work, I hope u feel better and I'll see you around. :)

I am so sorry. I know what it is, I also suffered from them. Then my doctor prescribed medicine and now I feel much better. I really hope that you will have the necessary help and will cope with this. Hug you.

I was given tablets for them but the side effect from taking them was far worse so now dealing with them as best I can.

Oh, unfortunatelly it happens sometimes:(

I used to wake up with these attacks. They were awful. I too took medicine for them but I couldn't take the side effects. I did like you, try to find ways to work through them. Finally they got to be less frequent. I can't say I am totally free of them but I certainly don't get them very often thank goodness. Continue with what you are doing and perhaps they will become less too. I often wondered if the attacks were worse when I had a lot of stress in my life and got to be less as the stress lifted...

The attacks started with the stress I was under during the late Summer and Autumn, I got depressed and into a negative mindset. Now it's about changing that mindset.

I am rooting for you. I know you can beat this.

Let's just hope that everything will be OK.

Is there anything specific you feel anxious about? I sometimes have a similar experience, but it is directly linked to the idea of doing administrative paperwork (like taxes). Good preparation, and managment help me at those times.

Just getting such attacks at random must be exceedingly hard to live with...

They just come out of the blue most of the times, I can tell when it's starting so am better able to deal with them now but it can be a pain in the arse if I'm out at the shops or something.

Another one from a fellow sufferer? https://steemit.com/health/@animal-shelter/panic-attacks-returned

Anyway, I left a comment under there, no idea if that is something you already tried or can't do or whatever, just putting it out there.

Thanks, I'll take a look.

Dani & I also suffer with occasional, no reason, anxiety attacks. Some do have triggers and those can generally be caught and often stopped.

But it's the ones that hit for no apparent reason that are the worst, as you probably know.

You have our sympathies.

One of my coping strategies, picked up from a surprisingly helpful counsellor who, whilst primarily doing CBT, also worked 'outside the box' with me, is to visualise a massively tangled string/rope and mentally unravel it. Doesn't always work, but sometimes it sorts me.

Best wishes mate.

Thanks Greg, I'm open to all input and suggestions, well apart from serious exercise.
Say hi to Dani and the kids.

I've had one bad one in the past year - I feel ridiculous about it. I know the cause and that doesn't help me feel less ridiculous, I can tell you.

I know how much you struggle with this and if there was any way I could help, I'd certainly be right there for you <3

Things are getting better for me, learning to cope with things and I've a head start on most.
Never feel ridiculous for these things, the mind is powerful and when it sends you a brain fart there isn't much you can do until you know what is happening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50