Not sure what steemit is? - A Semi Short Introduction to Steemit and My Helpful Links/Hints

in #justbecause6 years ago (edited)

Hello and Welcome to Steemit

          Not sure what steemit is? Join the crowd. There are a lot of people on steemit, and I doubt that you could get two of them to give you the same answer to "What is Steemit?" question. After almost one year, (Aug 1st for those curious), I still do not know and can not answer that question in a simple easy to understand comprehensive way. I tried, on Thursday to say "Why I like Steemit". That was not easy to do. So this will not be a repeat of that, mostly of some useful things I have found on steemit and learned to do on steemit.

          Eye candy, every post, or so I am told, should have a picture, or a graphic. I try to only use my own pictures so here is one I will share:

Pine cone one captain cook park 7-17-18.jpg
         This was taken at Captain Cook park in Alaska on 7-17-18. Just a pine cone used as a prop sort of. I put it in different locations on different surfaces so I could practice with my camera. Here it is sitting on a Sitka Rose Bush.

          I have done a lot of how to and help type post in the past six months, but I also know it is a royal pain in the arse to try to scroll back on some days, or to even remember where you found it. So I will try to go through some of those helper type links.

  1. This is an absolute must for people to read whether new or old to steemit, it is a reminder that needs to be made every now and then. Got Hacked? Here's How To Get Your Account And Reputation Score Back!. The post was created by@simplymike after she had an incident. The information is still very relevant and one week ago was used by one of the photographers to help return their account to normal. So a very strong go read and bookmark link you do not want to lose.

  2. It's your vote, here is one method, but it is a long read - - - One way to Maximize your Votes Power - - -. This was a post I did to try and explain a couple of things about voting, and a few ways to vote. The most important thing to carry away from that post is, it is your vote and you get to decide how to use it.

  3. To Justify or not, pulling left and right and all in the pink., Just a post about a couple of cool things I found on steemit to help in post formatting. I know how to use the tools sometimes, but it takes a real eye to do a really nicely formatted post. It allows for the use of a red font, but does not work well in a numbered list.

  4. A three in one here actually. !IFC is a competition I have been participating in since January. "IFC S1 R40 entry" @dustsweeper and @steemchiller. The challenge in round 40 was to "Help steem". So those were the two I chose. As a new user Steemworld.org is one of the most useful tools, and for growing your account @dustsweeper can not be beat. So even though it was a game entry, there is a lot of good reading and useful information.

  5. So how long does it take to get to minnow status and not really be a new user redfish anymore. For me it took - - 253 days to get to Minnow Status. (April 11, 2018) - - -I did a milestone post about that day, and at the bottom of that post you will find links to several friendly and useful sites.

  6. Last is my "Master Banner Post". I use the banner url as a link back to a static steemit page that I use to hold various pieces of information that I lose easy, or forget. It is also where I collect all my Authors for when I want to read something. It is due an update soon, and I will get around to it soon. (soon on steemit means, I get to it when I get to it ;-}). In the settings tab of all users we are given the option to provide a website, it is located between your location and joined on date. Not everyone uses the website option, but a few of us do, and I have not seen it called anything other than the banner website, or master banner post. (I picked that term and idea up from @suesa, back quite awhile ago,).


This account protected by @dustsweeper
Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67421.43
ETH 3217.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66