The Early Days - JitteryMan Part 5 - Freewrite Day 602 Entry & SBI Giveaway - Prompt: Show Me The Way Home

in #jitteryman5 years ago (edited)

This is the next part in my JiteryMan series. If you would like to read the earlier parts, please check out my Page of Contents.


Leo was starting to go from worried to full on blind panic. The waiting, the lack of news, the sheer suspense, was driving him up the walls. His systems were monitoring news worldwide, but no mentions of attacks from shadowy being, no new organizations threatening anyone. He knew something had to change, he could feel it, but for now he was stumped.

And honestly, sort of bored. Sure, he still had missions to undertake and petty criminals to fight. But fighting the Shadow Warrior had brought Leo back to the feelings he had during his early superhero days. Back before JitteryMan became a household name, when he had new enemies to fight every day. Those were intense times. He recalled one particularly heinous adventure, well, not fondly, but with a sense of pride. It has been his first overthrow of a dictatorship.


It had been 4 months since Leo had discovered the coffee that gave him super powers. He had spent those months training, learning his limits and establishing his superhero identity. He had tried several while dealing with local crooks in his city, and eventually settled on the coffee themed persona. The taita who showed him the ways of the sacred coffee, whose name was Anselmo Galindo, thought it was a bit on the nose, but what did he know? He'd been out of touch with modern society for hundreds of years. Leo was still coming to grips with the idea of virtual immortality, but that was something to ponder later.

Leo finally felt ready to take his persona to a whole different level. In the news recently, there had been a country committing horrible atrocities against the people who lived there. Every day it seemed there was some new story. It took everything Leo had to be patient, but he knew that if he jumped the gun he would likely end up dead. So he threw himself into training and preparing, learned the history of the country, it's geography, estimated military capabilities, and as much of the language as he could.

Finally, after one more news story, he knew he could wait no longer. He was as prepared as he could be, and things were only getting worse there. He donned his suit, got several thermos of coffee ready, and took off toward the country. Seeing as this was his first long distance journey, he really pushed his speed, getting halfway around the world in a little over an hour. He found a small village on the outskirts of the capital, and landed softly in a field next to some farmers.
"Hello, I mean no harm" he called to them in their language, seeing as they looked frightened. With good reason to be fair, he had just landed from the sky. Hearing their matinee tongue, they turned away from their imminent flight, and allowed Leo to slowly approach.

"I'm here to fight your cruel ruler and bring peace to these lands. I need a base to fight from. Will you help?" Leo knew the fight would be much harder without a place to refuel.

Luckily, the locals agreed instantly. Well after a good long laugh at his accent. Excited at the success of the first phase of his plan, he asked them, "Please, show me the way home."

That's when the fighter jets roared by overhead.

To be continued...


Greetings my fellow Earth citizens :)

This one was a little late, but I wanted to write another JitteryMan story. This definitely was over 5 minutes though. Eh, I write while I’m on public transport, so I don’t really set a timer for those sessions, just write until I feel I’m done or the trip is over haha.

I think it turned out good, I have an interesting concept that I am going to try running with. Hopefully people like it :) it’ll make for a few entry story arc though, at least that’s what I’m planning.

By USN; The original uploader was HJ32 at English Wikipedia., 15 January 2007 (original upload date) - U.S. DefenseImagery [1] photo VIRIN: DN-SC-04-17201 [2];, Public Domain, Link

Hopefully JitteryMan will find some effective method of dealing with jets like these soon.

I’ve found a really easy way to get pictures for some of the more obscure topics that I write about. Instead of going to Unsplash or Pixabay, I just search on Wikipedia, and use the picture there. So far, every one that I have seen is CC of some variety, so it works out awesomely. I highly recommend it.

I am having my FreeWrite’s be an SBI giveaway. This is a way to reward my fellow FreeWriter’s, and hopefully motivate me to do daily freewrite’s again. No promises on that, but I am going to make an attempt.

What you need to do to enter is simply comment on this post with a link to your freewrite. I will then assign you a number, and when I write the next post, I will pick using a random number generator. There’s no need to resteem or upvote, though it would be helpful to allow me to do this contest for longer.

I am also hosting another contest if you would like to enter that as well. Everyone is welcome :)
Looking Back/ Looking Forward SBI Contest

Until next time,

Aloha


Here are the results from the previous giveaway:

I used Google’s Random Number Generator (if someone has a preferred method let me know) and got 1. So @carolkean, you are the lucky winner and get 1 SBI.

Thank you both for your entries, I enjoyed reading them, and I look forward to your next one.


Here are the people who have responded with their own freewrites and entered my contest. You should definitely check out these awesome writers :)

@wonderwop, @fitinfun, @owasco, @carolkean, @creativesoul, @samioli, @mrscwin, @whatisnew


This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-602-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-show-me-the-way-home

Prompt: “Show Me The Way Home"


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.



Sort:  

Happy fathers day, glad the Table of contents is working out, I do like the layout and method you chose, now I have one or two back issues to read and get caught up on the story.

Yes, I think that will work out excellently. Thank you again for your suggestion :) I hope you enjoy the story.

Here is mine for this prompt:

https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/freewrite-day-602-show-me-the-way-home

If coffee gave me superpowers, I would be in great shape. Made another cup thanks to reading this today lol.

Thank you, you are entry #1

Haha, if coffee gave superpowers, I would have to reconsider my decision not to drink it :p

It's a really great story! I've been a bit lax on reading other people's entries and I need to catch up, but I love Jittery Man. And thanks for the contest, the mention and the sbi!
Here's my link to my pedestrian weekend freewrite
https://steempeak.com/weekendfreewrite/@owasco/the-burn

"Pedestrian" is an excellent adjective for run-of-the-mill prose, and it is totally NOT the right adjective for your writing. Your humility puts me to shame. (I like to say my prose reads well; it's my plotting and pacing that fall flat.) This is NOT pedestrian:

...her mother in law started screaming "Ice! Ice! you have to put ice on it right now!" The song "Sha Sha Da Shviga Kumpt", klezmer music's rendition of a very annoying mother-in-law, started up its doleful and repetitive melody in Sally's head.

and this!

...her father in law continued to read the paper not saying a word or offering any help at all.

You paint such a vivid picture of these characters with so few words. That is not "pedestrian" - that is the hallmark of great writers.
--I love the way you put Prompt One at the end, not the beginning, of the three prompts. :) And I love it that @mariannewest allows "cheating" of this sort.

Klezmer!

How many other people would think to mention Klezmer? I love you all the more for your mention of it.


I'm envious of writers who can envision another world entirely! coffee that gives one super powers, trains to the end of time and bossy raccoons.

Great tiny desk concert! I love those! How DID you know?

Well, you did mention klezmer. ;)

Thank you :) I also need to read more freewrites from other people, it's hard to find the time though. That's one of the nice things about this contest, then at least I get to read a few people's :) I am also really glad you like my Jitteryman stories :)

You are entry #3 :)

Leo cracks me up - a superhero who is cautious! I.e., he has trepidations:

*It took everything Leo had to be patient, but he knew that if he jumped the gun he would likely end up dead. So he

threw himself into training and preparing,...*

Hey! I won something! THANK YOU!

So @carolkean, you are the lucky winner and get 1 SBI.
I am lucky! I have LUCK!!! {{ Happy Dance }}
Post another link to another of my posts when I comment? That feels like milking the system. Suffice to say, my freewrite for the prompt Show Me The Way Home was pretty lame, while yours is awesome.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@carolkean/mom-s-cousin-lenna-part-9-day-602-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-show-me-the-way-home
Don't even include it in this week's drawing - thanks!

JitteryMan is one word

not two. Oops. Someday I'll pay closer to attention to spelling AND remember the correct spellings offhand.

Haha, I think that it is important to train and be aware of your limits, even when you're a superhero :p

You're very welcome. Thank you for entering. Haha it is not milking the system, that is my whole goal for this. I would still like to enter you, but if you don't want me to I don't have to.

I am thinking that I may change it to be Jitteryman, without capitalizing the m, sort of along the lines of Superman or Batman. I don't know. I had initially chosen that because the prompt that sparked my character idea was Jittery, but now I'm less attracted to the spelling.

It's ok to milk the system? Count me in. :) Thank you.
I like Jitteryman, lowercase m, like Batman. The blockchain may be forever, but the finished book can be revised even after it's been published, especially if it's an ebook. Jitteryman to the rescue!

Haha, at least of me it certainly is. You are entry #4.

Well, I can go back to edit them. I think I might, just for consistency's sake.

Just so it isn't a waste of your time to go back and edit what's already been posted.
If you do much revising, you'll have more than JitteryMan Jitteryman to edit.
It's kinda cool to have that permanent record of what you wrote as you wrote it - an archive of first drafts that morhped into a finished, polished, beloved story. On the other hand, Joyce Carol Oates DESTROYED her early drafts and novels. (To avoid having people look back and laugh at what the great best-selling novelist had done in her first forays into writing?) Whatever...she might have made the rest of us feel better about ourselves, but ok, Joyce!)

Jittery Man is a fantastic name

for a comic book hero or the star of any series. It somehow sounds more alarming than "Slender Man." And this - this - what a great prompt it would make:

It had been 4 months since Leo had discovered the coffee that gave him super powers.

What an epic line!
I totally have to read this from the beginning. I'm losing my battle to get authors to just email me a link to a google doc where I can read it in one block, preferably via my Kindle. I'm being forced to start here, click the link to the next installment, click, click, click... sometimes the advances of the 21st C feel more like a reversion to 19th century technology. But I'm not complaining. (Much.) I'm trying to adapt to the times. And I love the premise of Jittery Man, and your clever execution of a splendid idea.

Well thank you, I am glad that you like it.

I would be very honored if you took that line and made your own story from it :)

Ah, yeah I can understand why that is an issue. Check your Discord :)

Check my Discord... did you message me there?
I'll go see...
It's the clicking of links that gets me because I (along with @wakeupkitty) have the world's most agonizingly slow internet speed. I get up, peel the potatoes for dinner, come back and finally have gotten to the next link. Ok, I exaggerate. I only get one potato peeled while waiting for the internet to get me from one link to the next. :)

I wipe floors in between, do the laundry, etc while a post is loading, a !BEER for you.

LOL!
Someday we will join the 21st C of high internet speeds!

Great. even in the trip by public transportation you create a post.
Her my own entry
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@rokhani/show-me-the-way-home

Thank you :) I enjoy it, it gives me something to do.

You are entry #5.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58