You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Early Days - JitteryMan Part 5 - Freewrite Day 602 Entry & SBI Giveaway - Prompt: Show Me The Way Home

in #jitteryman5 years ago

It's a really great story! I've been a bit lax on reading other people's entries and I need to catch up, but I love Jittery Man. And thanks for the contest, the mention and the sbi!
Here's my link to my pedestrian weekend freewrite
https://steempeak.com/weekendfreewrite/@owasco/the-burn

Sort:  

"Pedestrian" is an excellent adjective for run-of-the-mill prose, and it is totally NOT the right adjective for your writing. Your humility puts me to shame. (I like to say my prose reads well; it's my plotting and pacing that fall flat.) This is NOT pedestrian:

...her mother in law started screaming "Ice! Ice! you have to put ice on it right now!" The song "Sha Sha Da Shviga Kumpt", klezmer music's rendition of a very annoying mother-in-law, started up its doleful and repetitive melody in Sally's head.

and this!

...her father in law continued to read the paper not saying a word or offering any help at all.

You paint such a vivid picture of these characters with so few words. That is not "pedestrian" - that is the hallmark of great writers.
--I love the way you put Prompt One at the end, not the beginning, of the three prompts. :) And I love it that @mariannewest allows "cheating" of this sort.

Klezmer!

How many other people would think to mention Klezmer? I love you all the more for your mention of it.


I'm envious of writers who can envision another world entirely! coffee that gives one super powers, trains to the end of time and bossy raccoons.

Great tiny desk concert! I love those! How DID you know?

Well, you did mention klezmer. ;)

Thank you :) I also need to read more freewrites from other people, it's hard to find the time though. That's one of the nice things about this contest, then at least I get to read a few people's :) I am also really glad you like my Jitteryman stories :)

You are entry #3 :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60617.06
ETH 2405.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59