MY GRANDMOTHER AND I....SUPERNATURAL WRITING CONTEST

in #jerrybanfield7 years ago (edited)

A couple of months ago 2017 to be exact. I was just 23 years old and my grandmother just died, I still remember her vividly, she lived a life of fulfillment, a very hard working woman, diligent and full of joy, she was loved by everyone, and my love for her knew no bounds, her smile, sense of humor even though she was aged was well above the moon, her smile was as bright like a star in the night sky. she laughed at almost everything and everyone, I miss her every day, we had some sort of connection, that could not be explained by anyone, well!! I did grow up with her so who can blame us for such a bizarre affection for each other.
It was the 3rd day in the month of October, a bad Tuesday you can call it, I woke up in the morning with a feeling I couldn’t quite explain, my mind and body were acting like they couldn’t be amalgamated, feelings were uncanny, strange was an understatement, as adversity became the order of the day. I managed to shrug the feeling and get on with the day’s work at exactly 10:00 am while I was in a lecture hall the feeling came back, this time it came back in a ferocious manner as my body temperature began to increase exponentially, to my complete consternation, fear and trepidation began to take a gripping of my heart as I plunge into a state of dismay, I knew something was wrong but I just couldn’t figure it out…. What might be wrong? I asked myself, I stood up, approached the lecturer and asked to be excused from the lecture, He agreed reluctantly as I dashed out of the class hurriedly and left for the hostel hoping to catch a nap and maybe just maybe all these strange feelings will be gone at the other end of the much needed sleep…As I laid on my bed, slumber trailed instantaneously as I was swept into a dream state, I felt I was in a state of emptiness, like I was in space (I have never been to space before but I just felt it) and heaven was not far away, I felt an emptiness and someone calling out to me, I looked around but I couldn’t see who or what was calling out to me, as everywhere was as dark as night, it was so real, fear engulfed me like flame but I felt obliged to follow the voice calling out to me, I followed fearfully as I was determined to see who was behind the whole illusion, as I ventured deep into the darkness I came across a bridge, wondering who put this whole structure out there, I was still on that thought when I saw a figure levitating, that was when I discovered I have been levitating all along, this strange figure was now really calling out to me, waving its hands up high to signify where it was, it was at the other end of the bridge. filled with frightened notion of whether to proceed towards its direction, I take a leap of faith and head to its direction, then a strange unforeseen thing happened, the bridge we were both standing on began to collapse unexpectedly and I struggle to uncover the face of the figure calling out to me, just a few meters out, I felt the sadness in the heart of this strange figure and it seemed like we connected at that instant but it was too late as I plunged into the emptiness of space below, falling and screaming.. I woke up instantly still screaming and filled with the sadness I felt from this figure, my body temperature was well above the roof, sweating profusely and filled with fear, sadness, and perplexity. I decided to call home, I picked up my phone dialed my father in the hope of explaining my ordeal to him, that was when I realized something really was going on at home, my father is a jovial and friendly person with a very high sense of humor, he must have gotten it from his mother… He picked up the phone and at that moment I knew something was wrong as he didn’t respond like he always did, His voice could not hide the sadness from his heart and he forced himself to hide it from me, accompanied with the strange feeling have been feeling all day I knew instantaneously that something was wrong and immediately I asked him, He couldn’t hide the sadness in his heart anymore and he voiced out to me that his mother (my grandmother) passed out at exactly 9:50 AM that morning, then at that moment it all came down on me, I understood why I was feeling strange and uncanny, why my mind and body couldn’t merge as one, now I felt an emptiness, a rare gem gone, this saddened my heart as I didn’t get a chance to say goodbye.
Later that day I was alone in the hostel still reminiscing the good old days me and my grandmother had together. it was about 12:35AM in the midnight, I could not sleep as I was still in shock from the death of my grandmother, just then I heard a faint whispering voice outside my room that sounded like hers, like her ghost was begging me to allow her enter the room, then I decided to check it out, still the scariest day of my life, I was terrified and frightened at the same time even though I knew she wouldn’t hurt me. fear sent chills down my spine as I wasn’t sure what I was going to find at the other end of the door, I summoned courage and opened the door and to my surprise a cold breeze blew passed me, and I felt baptized by it… immediately the feeling of fear and anguish disappeared and I came to realize that maybe she just wanted us to be together for one last time, maybe she was the hidden figure I saw in my dream!!! MAYBE!!!

A few months after,we had the burial ceremony in her hometown, it was a celebration of life not death because she lived a fulfilled life…here are some pictures!!!!

THE events that preceded that day made me have a rethink about life, so maybe ghost are possible after all..
Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Thank you very much @kay1 for writing this story and submitting it to SWC. I sent 10 STEEM directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

Thank you so much @gmichelbkk ... I have friends that I introduced to steemit that also participated in the swc but haven't gotten their entry checked ... can I assist in posting their link ? ...

Yes please, put their links in the comment.

Thank you very much @kay1 for helping me find these missing stories. The second was in the list and I added the other two.

Hello gmichelbkk I also participated in the swc contest and my entry have not been reviewed by your team.... got my entry in, the day @jerrybanfield posted about the contest so the post already paid out ... here is the link
https://steemit.com/jerrybanfield/@abdulazizganiyu/night-never-to-forget-swc

I have it in the list now, thank you @abdulazizganiyu.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47