Supernatural Writing Contest (SWC): Miraculous Recovery

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago

Miraculous Recovery

Life can be cruel at time but who want to die next remain unanswered question but yet death is inevitable.

I decide to use the above statement in introducing my ordeal.
image
Myself and my platoon commandant

I just got back from my National Youth Service Corp (NYSC) orientation camp on the 17th of August 2017 after spending almost a month in Sokoto. I was preparing to return back to sokoto a month after but got financial delay. Just like the saying delay is not denial, i packed my bag and baggage in other to eventually travelled on the 1st of October 2017.
After tidying up the room in the morning, i felt some sort of discomfort in my stomach which i thought is due to the stress but alas the pain become more severe and i had to rush down to the clinic at night in company of my friends. I got examined by a doctor 30min after getting to the clinic. The next i know was that i was placed on drip and the doctor had to transfer me that very night around 10pm on the 30th of September, 2017 to a more equipped hospital.
I was diagnosed for appendicitis and something must be done fast. Of course, this is the first time i will be admitted on an hospital bed being drip. An horrible experience. My friend had to go the next morning in other to prepare for his day. I was alone awaiting the hospital decision on what next! At around 12noon a matron came to inform me that i will be moving into the teathre for a surgery. Yeepa!!!, i exclaimed. The fear is written all over, my blood pressure is already high all this while am receiving drip, a check again doesn't indicate it going down either.
I decide not have to panic call my parent but i need to call someone. I called a childhood friend who had to come immediately though he later called my parent. I deposited all the sum in my account while i am awaiting the arrival of my consultant/surgeon.
image
Admitted at the hospital

The Theatre

My surgeon came in around 2pm in the afternoon and went in straight to prepare himself for the surgery. He was an elderly man in his early 60s. He had a team of three. Himself, another doctor and a matron. I was called in to have the operation region shaved. I signed the consent for the operation myself. I walked into the main surgery room around 3pm and i got my hands tied to the bed while a drip was passed through my vein. The next i know was i was given one painful injection and i passed out (unconscious). The surgery lasted for almost two hours and i didn't feel an itch all through out the period though i was told i complained of pain but i was unconscious myself. I learnt i was brought out from the surgical room around 5pm in the evening, all this while i didn't know what is happening around me. It is just like a half death situation.
image
Back from theatre

Back from the dead

I laid on the hospital bed of the male ward for like 30min still unconscious. I started gaining my consciousness gradually but my eyes refuse to see clearly while the pain is becoming severe. I eventually open my eyes and i was welcome back to life by family members around. Then the story continues, discomfort and pain took over me my night. I could set my eyes on sleep, i couldn't roll to my side on bed, i have to give a cry of discomfort deep at night before i was given a pain reliever to subdue the pain. It was a beginning of agony night. I had a pipe passed into my urinary system for over 24hrs and bed ridden. I remember the doctor saying had it being the surgery wasn't done that day, the appendix will burst and the operation will be fatal (life and death, 50/50 chance).

Discharge and home at last

I got discharged from the hospital on the 4th of October, 2017. The home experience wasn't platible. I was told to stay off some food for a certain period. I couldn't eat solid food and even drink my precious garri. I was bedridden for the next couple of days, i couldn't take my bath, i find it difficult to sleep at night and to walk is pain. My main food all through this period is golden morn and milk, i later took some rice. I was to visit the hospital on the 6th of October to redress my wound and remove the stiches. The process of remove stiches was another painful experience which i can't just imagine going through again. After the stiches was removed, i felt a little relief in my walking though i was caution not to walk a long distance.

Next check up and Final one

My next check up to either redress the wound or leave it open was another two days after. The plaster was opened and i was told to go home and just keep washing the surgery spot with water i soap which i did for three days. I notice some sort of swollen and later notice pulse coming out. Been scared i called my consultant and he ask me to see him immediately, i went there and he had to forced out the pulse from the swollen spot after which a plaster was applied to cover the spot. My last appointment at the hospital was two day after. This time around, the plaster was removed and i was finally discharged and also told to avoid some sort of food.
image
Stitches and surgery spot

Home finally

I returned back home finally to start my recuperating. I was indoor for over 30 days without stepping out. I was managing the wound so that it will heal up fast. I stayed off all stressful activities. My clothes are been washed by someone else while i only laid on the bed. For those period i was always hungry after an interval of 3hrs. I forgot to add the pain of urinating. After removing the urinating pipe, i was always in pains while trying to urinate. I had to sometimes forced myself into urinating and tears dropping from my eyes. Series of drugs was prescribed to aid in relieving the pains and also to help the wound spot to cover up quickly and also to fight infections.

The pain of surgery and the recovery agony is the least i will ever wish for anyone

It's wonderful sharing my experience here based on the platform given by @jerrybanfield and the support from @bugets and @gmichelbkk.

I had the surgery at Police Hospital, Eleyele. Ibadan.Nigeria on the 1st of October, 2017 which happens to be Nigeria independent day celebration.

It was actually miraculous because I was about to embark on a 20hrs journey by road on the 1st of October 2017 which it might if have being a worst scenario had it been I was already on my way.

Sort:  

Congratulation bro, for the victory over death. Our life is hidden in christ alone.We bless God for the successful surgery. Affliction shall not rise up a second time. Keep shinning bro

Amen... Thanks bro

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fadiji09 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Except the Lord build the house, they labour in vain those who build it. I am really thankful to God that you are alive to still be on this platform. It is indeed God's mercy @fadiji

Thank you fadiji09 for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.59% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Thank you very much @fadiji09 for writing this story and submitting it to SWC. You had surgery just at the right time before going on that trip, which is miraculous. I sent 12 STEEM directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

Thanks @gmichelbkk for the acknowledgment. It is an opportunity to share my testimony to the world. Special thanks to @jerrybanfield

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66408.50
ETH 3486.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70