MY NEAR DEATH EXPERIENCE: *SWC*

in #jerrybanfield7 years ago (edited)

a.jpg
Source

Hello my fellow steemians, this is my own entry for the super writing contest organized by the great @jerrybanfield.

I am so sorry for presenting my entry for this contest this late, but know i have to participate not after taking my time to read the very long post of @jerrybanfield about the contest, no way!

Pleas note; as I was writing this story, i decided to add some words of encouragement at the end being that today is Sunday
So here goes... Enjoy!

I woke up to a beautiful day, my mom had woken up earlier than me, then she told me she was going to shop as usual, and that i should join her as soon as possible, then she left. I rushed to the bathroom to brush my teeth and take my bath.
Thereafter, i came out and put on my clothes and left to join her at the shop. I was so excited because i had interesting plans for that day. I also had a lot of assignments and projects to do and i planned on visiting some friends to do some team work concerning our school project as SS3 students preparing for waec examination. Because, w.a.e.c( west african examination council) was fast approaching.

On getting to the shop, to my surprise, i met my mom dancing and singing songs of praises to God. I was curious to know what was up, so i asked her what the good news was, but she told me to join her instead. I obeyed and started dancing ooo and singing. Then she broke the news to me and told me that my dad had won the long term contract he was pursuing. I screamed, jumped and ran around because of the news. The contract had been my dad's target and it was worth a lot of money. Words can't express how happy i was because, i knew God had answered our prayer and everything was going to turn around for good.

In the evening of that same day, my dad came back from work and bought so many things for everyone of us. I was so happy because there was a package for everyone including myself. We closed the shop for the day early which was unusual (that was around 7-8pm where on a normal day, its 10-11:30pm) because we all wanted to go home and rejoice.

We got into the car and left for home. On our way home, there was traffic, the cause of the traffic was unknown to us. There were about three to four cars behind us and a big trailer.
On getting to a point, the traffic was over and the cars were moving, i then noticed that there was no cars behind us anymore, i was shocked but i did not bother. I was seated at the owners corner, my dad was driving (thank God my dad drove, his experience in driving and bravery as a man assisted in saving our lives that night). Just keep following the story, you will understand this. My mom was at the front seat, close to my dad.

HOW IT ALL HAPPENED.

As my dad kept on
driving, i heard voices of people from behind shouting that we should pull over, i did not know the reason why they were shouting until when i heard the sound of a trailer horn and then i had to turn back to look. When i turned to look, to my shock, i saw that the trailer was moving with high speed and from the way moving on high speed from afar, one would know that there was no one in it then, i knew it had a break failure. I alarmed my parents. I told my dad to speedup or rather still pullover, he was confused at that time and drove the car recklessly. I was so scared and so was my mom. I noticed my mom was more scared than i was, everyone was really scared tho, but you wouldnt believe it, she opened the car door and attempted to jump out the car but my dad held unto her dress tightly and she could not; Now, after the incident, mum said she wanted to jump out so that at least, if she made it, there would be someone to look after my younger ones since they were still very little.

In the car as my dad fought for our safety by trying to get out of the road, but the trailer had already caught up with us, shinning its big round bright head lights inside our car from behind. It wasnt cool at all as so many thoughts were running through my mind, like is this how i am going to die? i was a senior secondary student about to seat for his waec examination, is this how my life is going to end. What would happen to my siblings, my little brothers and sister, what will become of them, how would they live, who will cater for them, how are they going to survive in this wicked world. These thoughts were going through the mind of a 15 year old teenager.

My dad kept on going with high speed as the trailer kept its high speed still, pushing us from behind. Now this trailer was loaded with concrete of about 3 to 4 feet, you can imagine. And In the area where we were at that point, there was a very wide canal in front, and that increased my thoughts and fear while my mum kept shouting Jesus and my dad kept his cool as a man focusing on the steering thinking of possible ways to save us. I was really scared that we were going to enter into the canal as the road also was slanty, it, wasnt a straight road. But God proved himself that he is God, and would always be God. What happened still looks mysterious to me because, the trailer was still moving straight on the road behind us, but God diverted the trailer to a gutter.

Okay, take a look at this; the collision happened with great force due to the speed of the trailer catching up with our small white volvo car because of my dad's unconsciousness about the situation at that moment and it resulted to the trailer hitting the trunk of our car which pushed us forward towards the canal in front. Hope you understand it now? But, Jesus being the controller of all things, then diverted the hands of my dad towards the left hand side of the road and we were safe. The trailer fell into a gutter by the roadside and landed on the roof of some shops by the roadside on the right. We came out of the vehicle without any bruise or injury sustained at all except my dad who had a tiny pinch on his right cheek with little blood on it and he said that was a sign that if it wasnt for God there would have been so much bloodshed. But nothing happened to my mum and I, NOTHING.

People rushed to meet us shouting as they thought something might have happened to us but to their surprises we were alright and they began praising God on our behalf as they wondered how come we were able to survive. I myself is still shocked as i am writing this but i thank God, may his name be highly exalted!! I would have loved to share the pictures of our car back then but i lost it years back, so bear with me.

Words of wisdom

Many people today, do not know how to say thank you to God. Maybe because the are not putting on Gucci, designers or because they are not eating fried rice or chicken and chips, they think God has been unfaithful to them. My brother and sister, glorify God's name because you are alive or is it a dead man that will be chatting or holding a phone as you are doing now. Brethren, Thank God for life, that you are alive today is atestimony, life is the ultimate of all, when there is life there is hope, be thankful to God. All our troubles will be over, its only a matter of time. Money is not everything. Even the rich faces problems in life . be thankful, be grateful, bless God's name.

If we had died in the accident, we would have left everything behind, the contract, the money, our house, my mom's shop, my education, everything. Vanity! Vanity upon vanity!! All is vanity. Never blame God for any misfortune that befalls you, rather bless his name because he is only preparing a story for your glory. God bless you!!!

THIS IS MY OWN EXPERIENCE!

TO GOD BE ALL THE GLORY!

HAPPY SUNDAY.

PEACE OUT!✌
DQmSaLYqFKJiDQqNgftT4tsM86VfXXWH7enygtyFn6MPnzM.gif

Sort:  

Thank you very much @happymichael for writing this story and submitting it to SWC. I sent 12 STEEM directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

Ohh my God..!! I have gotten the steem
.. And its my pleasure.. And Thank you so much @gmichelbkk. This just revived my spirit, Ive really been down lately but this has put a smile on my face again, yipee! I so much appreciate it.. Thankyou! This shows that @jerrybanfield kept to his word when he said everyone would be rewarded.. This is so lovely.
A big thanks to @jerrybanfield for organizing the contest...

Thankyou so much!

You got a 1.06% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @happymichael!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62241.82
ETH 2433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57