Do you tick the boxes?

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

  • [x] Do you have too much steem/SBD and don't know what to do with it?
  • [x] Do you like style?
  • [x] Do you like gadgets?
  • [x] Do you need some really bad advice in cryptocurrency?

Well, if you ticked all the boxes I'm your man....

First let me give a brief introduction about myself. My name is obviously not waza...What kind of parent would name his/her kid waza??? My real name is Rafael and I'm from the Netherlands. I'm 36yrs old and father of 2 boys and living together with my soon to be wife. I'm a mechanical engineer and blog about tech, life, gadgetss and style. Well....something has to keep you at sleep at night right...? ;)

This is me in action @ one of my hobbies (I kind of suck at it..).

As shown in the next pic; story of my life ; )

So what made me decide to participate @ steemit? First let me tell you how I ended up here. Read carefully, this is advice how NOT to participate in the cryptocurrency world:

I first heard about bitcoin when price was about 50$. I think it was somewhere in 2013. I told a collegae I've read/heard about bitcoin and was doubting if I should buy some. After some discussion he said it was all a bubble and a ponzi scheme....Well, I then decided it was not the thing for me. I didn't do any research before but after I heard bitcoin had risen to 1300$ it got me thinking...What??? Ok 2nd chance...I bought some bitcoin...and you all know what happened then....Mt. Gox bankruptcy and I panic selled.

Yes that's right, I sold my bitcoins with a loss. After the Mt. Gox debacle priced dropped significantly as everyone probably knows...along the way I picked up some bitcoins for about 250$. I ended up with the smartest idea to make up for the loss....daytrading. Noob as I was I thought I could gain some of my losses back. Well, short story; I ended up with only 0.5 bitcoin. Day trading was just not the thing for me. It's not my profession and I don't have the time to sit behind my computer all day. From that day onwards I decided to become a holder. I put the 0.5 bitcoin in my wallet and never touched it again. Somewhere at the beginning of May (last month) I was talking with a colleague and told him in short what cryptocurrency was. Apparently he went in full swing because last week he told me he made a profit of 24€k in just 1.5 month. What? Say that again? He bought some coins (several) for 9000€. He stepped in at the right moment. I had some doubts to put my savings in but that would not be the best strategy. Never bet what you don't want to lose. I have kids, a wife and financial obligations so it would be pretty stupid to risk my savings. I only put the money in I can afford to lose however sometimes it may be tempting to take some risks now and then.

But it got my attention and just last week I decided to pick up my crypto skills. I now have a small portfolio with some BTC, Ether and other small coins. Furthermore I invested some small amounts in ICOs. I intend to Hold because as it turns out, that would have been the best strategy for me all along. By scanning CoinmarketCap I stumbled upon Steem. After reading about steem I decided to sign up and here I am...

Trading/crypto is obviously not my profession..; but I certainly believe in its potential and like to read & learn about it. The idea behind steemit in my opinion is great! It makes cryptocurrency more tangible to normal life. And above all I can share my thoughts, hobbies and interests with my fellow steemians!

So if you liked my story you know what to do...click below and I will regularly share my thoughts and blog about the topics I like. Questions, remarks or just a reply? I will try to answer as quickly as possible.

Thanks for reading and have a nice day/evening!

alt text

Sort:  

A big warm Steemit welcome goes out to you Waza. :-D

Upvoted and High Pawed!
IMG_1439.JPG

Flatrider

You're welcome and have a lovely day! :-D

IMG_0037.jpg

Flatrider

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)

Thanks! (Oftewel dank je!)

Welcome to Steemit @waza :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Welcome to Steem @waza I have sent you a tip

Welcome to steemit, happy to have you here

I am @alienposts , my real name is achraf :)
Checkout my blog posts, Enjoy your time here and let's get this party started :)

you're welcome :)

what if I didn't tick any of them ??? :) .... Welcom to Steemit dear .. would love to read more posts by you .. keep posting
Upvoted the post!
You Can follow me @utfull if you like
Will follow you back! See you around.

Haha..well, then you just failed this examn ; ). Upvoted & followed.

I do like your STEEMIT post @waza … nice one … look forward to future posts as are been waited; so hope for you the best in this much interesting & challenging environment.

I like writing/posting about several topics that call my attention, from travel, life, politics to science, food and technology. Here are some of my last posts, that if you can, read them and leave some comments - it will be great.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/nice-island-beautiful-beach-lots-of-aquatic-sports-to-do-still-the-best-part-of-the-trip-was-been-in-family-all-together

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/lgbtq-s-continues-to-be-discriminated-against-in-most-of-the-world

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/facebook-is-moderating-my-writings-are-my-rights-for-freedom-of-speech-taken-away-does-this-depends-on-whether-i-say-i-love-you

https://steemit.com/security/@indepthstory/how-is-it-that-hackers-steal-information-from-companies-read-this-easy-to-understand-information-sure-it-will-help

Best of good luck in the STEEMIT arena …. have given you my UPVOTE tick for the post, and hope you will FOLLOW to be up to date on posts ..!!

Txs. & Rgds.

@indepthstory

Thanks for your reply/upvote. Will take a look at your posts..cheers!

Congratulations @waza! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33