"Hiya Steemit!" - Third Culture Kid

Welp. Here it is. Another one for the 'introduceyourself' category.

So...where should I start?

I'm, what you would call, a third culture kid. I was born in Australia, lived there a year, then moved to the United Arab Emirates. My mother is Taiwanese and my father is Australian. My grandparents are British and Irish on my Dad's side and Chinese and Taiwanese on my Mum's side. Yep. I'm quite a mixed bag of heritages.

As a third culture kid, I've never known what it's like to feel patriotic to a particular country. I lived in the UAE my whole life but was never recognized as a citizen and was always reminded that I was a 'guest' in the country. Never lived in Taiwan or Australia either and it's really strange, at least to me, to envision myself living there.

So in essence, I've never really had a home. Even the place I would consider home doesn't consider me as a citizen hahahhaha.

I moved around quite a bit; lived in three places in the UAE during my whole life but Dubai is really the only place anybody would recognize out of all the places I've ever lived though hahaha.

I did the International Baccalaureate program, an alternative to A levels, HSC, AP, and other secondary school curriculums. It's a two year degree and it really taught me to think more critically and globally.

French was a second language I took in school for 6 years as well as Arabic, though to be fair the only things I ACTUALLY know about Arabic are the cuss words, which don't make for a good conversation. I also speak English and Mandarin fluently.

My personal goal in life is to become a pilot. At least, it used to be. Turns out, I just love to travel and being a pilot would be awesome because you get PAID to fly.

Life before university was very comfortable so I'm quite lucky that I've been able to live the life I have. I travelled to numerous countries since my parents always did their best to make sure we all went overseas in summer.

So anyway, I left Dubai to come to the Netherlands, which is where I am currently. I took Aerospace Engineering at TU Delft for about 3 months before deciding to withdraw. It wasn't for me as it turned out. I just wasn't a very scientific fella.

That's basically it. I reapplied to do a Bachelor's Degree in International Economics and Business Economics in Rotterdam. The Dutch university system is kind of weird. They only have one intake per year meaning I couldn't transfer. In the meantime, I did quite a bit during my down time from university. 

Did a little bit of traveling in Belgium, Germany, and London because I have friends in all these places. I also took some time to learn Dutch. So that brings my language knowledge up to about five if you include the little bit I know in Arabic. 

I learned a lot about Affiliate Marketing in my free time and I hope to spread my knowledge on this platform for others to learn. I have my own website which I worked on for quite a few months. 

It was supposed to be a site where I would blog about tips relating to how to do well in IB. I've sort of stopped working on it now because I was basically recruited to write part time for a bigger IB-related website. Nice little side income there (happens to also be my only source of income haha).

I'm an avid Quaran with 180+ answers and counting about the IB program in Quora. Answering questions and helping people is just what I like to do.

So yeah that's basically what I'm all about. I'd like to write some fiction stories on steemit. I'm no writer and I don't proclaim to be one but I love to tell and think of stories. 

I'd also love to write some posts about IB and Affiliate Marketing that can hopefully be useful for everyone who reads them. I might also write some stuff about what it's like to live in Dubai as an expat.

Anyway if you made it this far then kudos to you. Hopefully I didn't bore you! That wouldn't be too good of a start for the writing I want to do hehehehe....

Here's to the future :D


Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @mysteryman :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome, welcome, welcome my Third-culture friend!


My name is Nicholas Black

Welcome us all, both old and new to this place of sharing and treasure. Well, that's how it was explained to me anyway! welcome aboard and if you get a minute, take a look at my mostly ridiculous, sometimes informative posts.

I'd love to see us all grow together, so if you feel so inclined, FOLLOW NICK and my silly antics and I'll do the same. Teamwork makes the dream work (an old coach in those way-too-tight shorts always said that before slapping us on the butt...which I think constitutes assault these days, but whatever.)

Hi Nicholas! Thanks for the welcome comment. I'll be sure to check you out :)

Welcome to steemit !! check this link out it might be helpful.. Goodluck

https://steemit.com/steemit/@yemmy4eva/5-easy-steps-to-building-a-great-steemit-page

Thank you for the info!

Welcome to Steemit. I wish you much Success. I am now following your blog. Cheers.

Following you back :D

Welcome to Steemit @mysteryman! Nice to meet you. Remember me when you are rich!

PS. Follow @ENAZWAHSDARB for entrepreneurial value content, my blog!

I'll do just that :)

To the future! Welcome aboard mate! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Nice post! I will follow you from now on. +UP

Congratulations @mysteryman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11