Introducing Moondrop to the Steemit community.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone!! My Steemit handle is Moondrop. This is my second Steemit post. My brother Stuntworks introduced me to Steemit last week. I am an ex elementary school teacher, turned graphic designer / entrepreneur.

This is a little about me and my story. I am a mom to two wonderful kids. I have a brilliant daughter Nicole who is 23 and my son Jonathan who is 20. I worked as a teacher for 13 years and really disliked it. I liked the students, but the pay was awful. I always had a side hustle because the pay just wasn't enough. My first side hustle was selling stuff on ebay. I did ok but it just wasn’t enough money to quit my teaching job.

IMG_0175.JPG
With my brother in Mexico.

When my daughter turned 18 she told me she was moving to NY to purse a career as a Web Developer. I was shocked that she was leaving as I always thought she would go to college. My daughter did very well and worked for large companies as well as startups. I asked her what I could do to leave my teaching job. She told me I should create graphics. I had never drawn with a computer, so I was very skeptical that this could be a career. My daughter gave me her old Mac Book Pro and a book on graphic design. She told me to read the book and start creating.

FullSizeRender 13.jpg
My daughter Nicole, Me and my son Jonathan.

I spent that summer that she left to NY teaching myself Illustrator and Photoshop. By the time school started up again I had an online store and I was selling a good deal of items. I continued to create items and work my teaching job for one full year. After a year with my graphic design business I was able to quit my teaching job to purse my graphic design business full time.

Quit Teaching.jpg
The day I quit my teaching job.

My daughter recently quit her full time job to freelance and travel, to be a digital nomad. Sometimes we travel together. Basically we can both work wherever our computers are. Lately we have been traveling a lot to Mexico. We love to travel, see new things, meeting new people and great food. I plan to post a lot of our trips on Steemit.

IMG_1093.JPG
My daughter and me in Mexico.

We liked Mexico so much we purchased a building, along with my brother, in Tulum, Mexico. I will be posting on running my business while traveling and on running a business on Airbnb.

IMG_0001.JPG
Our new property in Tulum, Mexico

That’s a little about me, I hope you follow me to read my future posts on travel, food and trying to live the digital nomad lifestyle.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I can't wait to see your content, it sounds like you will have some interesting posts. I have followed you & please follow me as well if you would like. Have a nice day & Steem on!

Thank you, I am now following you.

Welcome to the community! Glad to have you here! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Welcome to Steemit, @moondrop!

Hope you will enjoy Steemit, and looking forward to your posts, especially the ones on travel and living the remote working lifestyle!

Thank you so much. I will be traveling soon and posting.

Welcome to Steemit, @moondrop!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stuntworks from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @moondrop! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61346.78
ETH 2637.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58