My 1st month on Steemit: Lessons, Special Thanks /Acknowledgements and advice for Steemit members

my 1st month.png

Hey I am Fidel. I am a 21 year old writer with interests in areas like motivation, success, human development, money making skills and everything that can benefit all mankind for the best. I am not an expert but just a student of life.Day by day I try to improve myself in a positive manner. I am also one of those who try to make other people's world the best to live. I get my kicks when others are happy because of me. I think we have no time to waste frowning since life is short.

Since I have turned 31 days on this site I think it will be great to share my challenges as well as the best I found here. First and foremost I would like to thank the founders and supporters of Steemit that include @ned, @zurvanic, @wmougayar , @cass ,@val-a , @jamesc ,@sneak and @dan . Their works are great. Even if some many underestimate themselves I really think these guys are so important for they are helping many people who thought they would ever succeed. I wish these guys the best.I just don't know how to express my happiness to them.

Before I introduce you to other great people I would like to share with you some lessons I have learnt from his great community ever-since I joined it. I hope some new members can get 1 or 2 tips from me. I hope to continue growing here and assist new members to succeed like other Whales did by assisting me when I was a baby. I can say most of the members mentioned on this post found me when I was a baby and fed me with milk. They weaned me and I am now ready to go to early crèche school. Thanks to all of you.

My lessons on Steemit ever-since 19 December 2017

1 . Post original work

I think is the number 1 rule here. I mean why would you want to copy and paste stuff you got from Google.com or Bing.com when you know anyone can get it there with one click?

Posting your own content will also boost your confidence in your field as I noticed.So I advise all new members on this forum to write their own content.There is a tendency by the new guys to post other peoples materials. I advise all new members to avoid negative comments from @original works or by @cheetah .

I think something magical happens when you post stuff written by yourself. Plagiarism is a great academic offense which should be avoided at all costs. I suggest that when you really want to share something published by other people its good to give reference showing who authored that post. But I support you do more for yourself than copy other people.

2 . Make friends not for upvotes but for mutual real life interests

I think rule number 2 is to make friends with members of he community with your same views. For instance if you want to connect with #poetry #writer, #bloggers , #musicians #christians you will connect with them by giving genuine comments about heir works. Don't just comment to get their votes but also share with them some of your recommendations. Connect with hem also on Discord server or Steemit Chat.

3 . With time you get recognized

There is no need to rush and make huge rewards. I think there is a general feeling among-st minnows of ''why am I not receiving more rewards?''. I think one needs to appreciate that they are getting SBD0.5 which is by far more valuable than $US0.5 . I know there is a general tendency amongst us humans to keep wanting more and more. Ever-since I found the account the account of @jaynie (all new members must follow her ) I found myself working hard for the best of the community. I mean she started blogging here in June 2017(not so long ago from now) but now shes the epitome of success to all new members. So if you give value to this community you will find yourself having the rewards here.

Check posts by @jaynie that will inspire all new members and those who want to succeed:

4 . Steempower is the long-term investment so get it

I once had the idea that all the Steem and SBD I have should be used to buy other currencies that include Bitcoins, Ethereum. Litecoin, Dash and or Dogecoins. But I found out that was not wise. I think there is need to make this society strong by powering up and investing for long-term. I think Steem Power is the long-term investment like Real Estate whilst SBD and Steem are short-term investments. I think I first heard of this in the interview @dollarvigilante had with the founders of this social network @dan and @ned. See the video below.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@dollarvigilante/the-dollar-vigilante-is-now-on-steemit

5 . Improve your Markdown and HTML skills

This is one of the most interesting things I liked here. I learnt some of the basics during my first week here. Such include boldening your posts, italicizing them, centering your pictures. @steemitguide is a pro at this and I encourage all newbies to follow the account so that they can quickly learn basic HTML, Markdown and other stuff in an interesting way. So this great community allows one to learn some interesting stuff. You can also follow @sndbox .

Here is good stuff to learn from some of these guys:

6 . Love what you do and find your niche

The quote ''Jack of all trades, master of none'' maybe true or false. But I think one should blog about many topics but maybe 60% or so maybe about topics you like and are well versed on/ passionate about. Your followers will follow you because of your unique niche. For instance @allasyummyfood blogs about food most of the time but shes not limited to that only.Follow her to get some unique recipes to impress your family and loved ones.

7 . Support others if it is worth it

I you really liked someones post its great to upvote, comment and resteem their works to show appreciation.

If something is worth learning then its worth supporting - Fidelpoet

I just made my quote(above) inspired by Andrew Carnegie's great quote(below)

Anything in life worth having is worth working for. - Andrew Carnegie Industrialist, Philanthropist

8 . Join other platforms like Discord to meet others with your interests

In various Discord Channels I have met many great people that support me and my works.Some Discord channels worth joining are below. Install the app on your PC or Phone to enjoy this great invention which has more features than skype.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/3wgmg9-the-whaleshares-curation-distribution-monday-23-59-london-time

9 . Keep learning more and more day after day

There is need for us newbies to keep learning more and more about this community. I have found guides by @gold84 to be of great value for all newbies starting. @Gold84 is also another inspiration like @jaynie because he joined the community only in August 2017 but look how great his blog is. The main reason I think he is a success is its because he is a great value-giver like other veterans like @neilstrauss . Guides below for you:

10 . Bring your best self here

I believe if you give your best self here you will enjoy it here so find your passion and share it with others. You will find yourself seeing yourself differently and benefiting from it.

Special Thanks and Acknowledgements

This is the section I thank people who made my first month here great. So if you are listed here below I really appreciate the good works you do for me and I support you to do for others.

- @ocd and team

I would like to thank @ocd and his team for making my week great after his team of curators upvoted my poem here https://steemit.com/poetry/@fidelpoet/34cm3f-poem-my-definition-of-love. It was a great day for me when @jeanpi1908 sent me the message below. I was happy with the support I was given by the ocd-resteem team.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!
Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!
You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.
If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!
@Ocd now has a witness, please vote for @ocd-witness to help support other undervalued authors!

They even mentioned my poem in this article.Follow the OCD team members who support newbies listed below:

@m31

@anomadsoul

@mk40

@martibis

@cabelindsay

@howtostartablog

@jeanpi1908

@jznsamuel

@futurethinker

@gniksivart

@ma1neevent

@elteamgordo

@jeanpi1908

@geke

@gmuxx

- WhaleShares Discord Team

I once talked about this community above . It has great people like @Poeticsnake ,@kubbyelizabeth , @krazykrista , @mizdais , @crystalpacheco30 to mention but a few. Thank you . You guys rock.

- Steemit Poets United

Join this Discord Server if you like writing stuff. I would like to thanks guys like @angelveselinov , @twoflower , @mah7 ,@poeticsnake @simgirl and @nuridin for making this society home to me.

https://discord.gg/rpBB4NA

- Contests hosts I found in a month

Follow @terrycraft if you want to earn SBD via poetry contests. You will love this since you will learn about real poetry and master it yourself.

Follow @karenmckersie and @momskitchen if you like to be motivated more since she asks people to write positive inspirational posts. She even resteems your articles . You will love her contests since you yourself will be learning more but teaching others.Check the quote below to understand what you will benefit from @karenmckersie and @momskitchen:

If You Want To Learn Something Teach It

- #Steemingit40

This is a group working towards making @steemingit40 a whale so that they would support value-giving minnows. The founders of this project are pragmatic young women who are @toriasunshine and @thot2word . These 2 lead a group of over 60 Steemians who want to provide great value to the community. I wish them the best and hope they remain persistent and determined.

- The great brother I have never met

This guy is called @adigun-anjola .The unknown brother motivator of me supports me everytime I make a post. I like his inspiring message for my posts as well as his great posts. Follow him @adigun-anjola . I am sure soon within 2 months he will be a superstar here on steemit. I wish you the best bro and a merry 2018 once again.

- SteemitBloggers

Contact @Jaynie the inspiring mom to join this society. @Jaynie is serious with this great society so when you join make-sure you follow the steps or you won't be a member again. You will love this innovative Discord Server.

- Last but not least : My daily/weekly supporters

These Steemians include @emmaculate @thot2word @adigun-anjola @iwritealot @orlahyeahlay @timmy-karis @marvelking @harbecity @adigunabiola @popson @jaydip06 @banglaa @samhope @jamesmovic @bhavesh18 @Setapart @savanpatel @ikedichi @sunnyali @chemmy @psalmmuel @rossey @ossom @yhubie @darltasie @lavanyalakshman @javanhoess @morenikej @clixmoney and many more.

- About my new Bitmoji below( Inspired by @karenmckersie

So I saw she had a beautiful emoji and I liked to personalize mine at https://www.bitmoji.com .Thats why I ended up with that bitmoji cartoon.

Below is @karenmckersie and me( @fidelpoet ) personalised bimojis . You can get yours at :https://www.bitmoji.com .

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @fidelpoet! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Sometime when you've found your niche and you exactly know what you want, it is hard to position yourself in the mainstream ;)

true true sir............so I think you will have to persist until you succeed.

great advise. with so much content its hard to stand out and get noticed

Welcome to steemit bro @fidelpoet

thanks @juderoyal enjoy it too here

All these doesn't work out like magic it does require time and patient.

great patience, persistence and dedication

Woww I really like your experience on steemit you joined on a month ago, best luck , don't forget to upvote and follow me back

great enjoy your Steemit experience too. Happy 2018

Wow, great post! Nice and detailed, too!
Having a very similar experience with my first few months on Steemit, so let's keep the good vibes going. :-)

Great I followed you. I wish you the best in 2018.

Followed back! Let's make Steemit the #1 platform this year!

Done. Thank you pal . I wish you the best this year.

very sound advice, and things I have come to realize as a semi-new user as well! Thank you for sharing what you have learned. I'll go check your other work out. Glad to have you over at the RMAe @fidelpoet :)

thank you @falseyedols I have followed you to learn from you as well. Happy 2018

Nice post. Wish you best luck.

thank you.......I wish you the best too and have a merry 2018

wow, you have a brilliant skill of writing.i read your whole post it was your
very great experience.i come to know the people who are supporting and as well as about some contest.for this post. i will say

hahaha oh thank you. Thats an interesting gif there. Thank you. Happy 2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66928.57
ETH 3087.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66