You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing The Farmstead!

Good luck with your new homestead adventure!
I had 10 acres in the country for about 20 years until an ugly part of life happened. We always had a big garden, and raised mostly chickens and turkeys, I also had rabbits. There was always at least 1 horse on the property, now there's a big hole into which you pour money! We had a couple of dairy goats for several years, in retrospect, that may not have been one of my better ideas. :-)
I live in town now and just have a big garden, the city doesn't allow livestock such as chickens and rabbits, unless the rabbit is a pet.
I tend to write many of my posts here on steemit on my greenhouse and garden.

Sort:  

Haha horses are definitely very big expensive toys, that's for sure. Unless you've taught them to pull a plow or something, they're not a whole heck of a lot of useful. I mean, people hardly even use them to round up cattle anymore because 4wheelers are still cheaper in the long run! We're all about double use animals.

Sorry to hear about your no good situation! Have you thought about skirting around the rules with Quail? Usually unless they're mentioned specifically, you won't get into trouble!

For some reason, I've never really had much interest in quail. Pheasants, on the other hand...

Hm, why? Cause they're 'prettier'?

No, probably because they're bigger.

Hm. They've never really been on my radar of interests. I think my husband is interested. But I do think quail are quite adorable. There are so many different kinds. Haha.

True, and they lay these cute little miniature eggs. I don't know if they lay eggs like a chicken, or just during nesting season.

Google just told me that quail lay 200-300 eggs per year, so they are like chickens in that aspect. But quail start laying as early as 6-8 weeks old depending on breed!

But, google says that pheasants are seasonal layers. 50-60 during the spring/summer season.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59101.88
ETH 2521.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47