A Steemit FAQ especially for NEWBIES - the most helpful pages - start here and get up to speed fast

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Here's a FAQ page to help Steemit newbies get up to speed more quickly. Most of these pages are very helpful posts written by other Steemians.

1. User statistics. Just put in your @name (external sites using the blockchain):


2. Steemit tags and topics. The tags that are most popular/have some of the highest payouts.


3. Your wallet. Steem, Steem Dollars, and Steem Power (the first post/video are from months ago, so some of the information may have changed, but they are still a very helpful introduction):

Also:


4. Account Keys/Passwords and Security.

And note a security flaw was recently found:


5. Gaining followers and getting started:


6. Voting Power:


7. Levels/Vests and Reputation:


8. Witnesses:


9. For new users:


10. Brief Introductions to Steemit:


Miscellaneous:

Also:


Welcome to all newbies, and thank you for visiting this page. Please upvote, resteem, and follow me at @doule

Sort:  

Another one that I always use is steemdollars.com. It shows the exact worth of your vote in cents/dollars. It's nice because then you know when you will finally be able to reward your followers when they reply to you. To be able to give 1 cent you need roughly 200 Powered up steem I believe

I'm going to add that. Thank you!

!!! ATTENTION !!!consideration of tags required.

This post cannot be tagged as introduceyourself !!

Please leave this category and space free for new people posting their self-introduction!!

I will remove the RED FLAG as you cancel the the introduceyourself tag!!

I'm red flagging your post for being angry and accusatory in tone. The flag is supposed to be used for intentional misuse of tags, it says, which is obvious that I didn't do intentionally and that I've told you I didn't do so, so you are abusing the flag by assuming someone is intentionally misusing them.

Introduceyourself page is High traffic, your article have rewards that are obtained in because or introduceyourself visibility - a Red flag can be used for disagreement in rewards or miscategorization - in your case both conditions were met.

First, this is one of the four listed reasons for a flag: "Intentional miscategorized content or Spam." Mine was clearly not intentional, IF it was even miscategorized.

Second, this is a post that is very useful to newcomers, and many people have said that too. Steemit is a site in development, and there isn't much in the way of helping people find information quickly at first. I was confused by at all for the first couple of weeks too, and I see others asking the same questions about steem power and vests and so on. So this is a USEFUL post under the "introduceyourself" tag. It gives people a taste of the basics and actually assists new users.

Also, "introduceyourself" and "introducemyself" are opposite things. A new person posting an introduction is the perspective of "introducemyself." To say "introduce YOURSELF" is from the perspective of OTHER steemit users.

So this tag is for more than just people introducing themselves, but is actually from the perspective of people greeting new users. And one way to also help them besides just greeting them is to give them some real help from the start.

And, other people who haven't signed up can also see a helpful post like that and decide to maybe sign up because of it, because they get an idea about what the site is about and how it works.

This post is very USEFUL to people introducing themselves, to help people who have just signed up learn quickly and STAY (which many people aren't doing), and THAT'S why it makes complete sense for it to be posted where it was. This site is in development, it's new, and it needs people developing things like this, to improve it and make it easier for people to use. That's what I did, and so after considering this for a couple of days, I can't agree with your flag.

Lastly, I have to say again, I think you need to reconsider using that message you use to tell people you think they've used the wrong tag. You could actually be wrong, and it's a very angry sounding tag when people might just pick a wrong tag. That's not constructive. I would suggest talking to people first, or at least seeing if the account has a history of spamming before blasting people with such a message first. To me, that in itself is a form of trolling. It's discouraging, and can make people less willing to post.

Agreed on all your points; your welcoming post to this poster was so

  1. Heart warming and reflective of a loving community
  2. So full of good succinct info for a new user.

I thought to myself "yesss... a simple guide for me as well... How do I save it for my own quick reference?"

Steemit being what it is, A Geek's Heaven ;-) still, it can be (it is in my opinion) overwhelming to many "average internet users" to even consider the thought that -* It is not that complicated* - for an average user to join in, let even, post...

There is so much geek talk about, so much to absorb, so much to be explained in "average user " language terms. Beta says it all, the geeks are at work, don't we love them ❤️ In the mean time the average users, are trying to merely understand and justify to themselves - the value of such a huge migration from the old social networks over to steemit.
PS: I am trying so hard to get all the artists I know to join, sharing steemit posts on FB for eg... Their reactions? None so far! It almost looks like my Steemit shares are only "visible" to the FB stemmit groups.

Agreed. And thank you! I'm where you are, too, with just knowing how to run my computer and a little bit more, like some html, and I can follow some simple tutorials for the average user. But that's all. And I found this all very confusing at first. It looked to me when I first saw steemit that it would be as simple as sign up, comment and post, and maybe get paid something. Little did I know. I was surprised the first couple of weeks at how much is involved here. But over the month since I signed up, I did come across some answers and wanted to share them with new people. It's somewhat discouraging to realize you don't understand the site AND you spend time, even hours, putting together articles that earn 1 cent, if that. I took about 2 week break. But now that I've started to learn about the place, I actually am starting to see more of its possibilities.

Did you mean Steemdollar.com?

Thank you for this. I am a complete newbie here and still getting a feel for how to do anything besides submit a story and comment :)

Excellent resource!

Thank you!

hello nice to meet you and happy to be part of this community.
please support #faithinhumanity
Your upvote resteem will be appreciated-https://steemit.com/landmine/@tinashe/when-life-becomes-living-hell-for-landmine-victim

Very helpful post. Thanks for it, I add it to bookmarks

"Bookmark" ??? Where? How? 😳

In my web browser :P
But eSteem on Android has bookmarks :P

Thank you for this post! Lots of very useful info! Upvoted, resteemed and followed!

Thank you very much!

Thank you for this guide! Very helpful!

Congratulations @doule! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

hello nice to meet you and happy to be part of this community.
please support #faithinhumanity
Your upvote resteem will be appreciated-https://steemit.com/landmine/@tinashe/when-life-becomes-living-hell-for-landmine-victim

!!! ATTENTION !!! consideration of tags required.

This post cannot be tagged as introduceyourself

Please leave this category and space free for new people posting their self-introduction!!

I will remove the RED FLAG as you cancel the the introduceyourself tag

Well, I don't know. This tag seemed to be the place for this post, to bring it to the attention of people introducing themselves. I'll consider what you're saying further, though. I certainly didn't intend to spam, however, so I don't quite understand why your post takes such a tone.

The tone of your replies here to me is angry and accusatory, and I have to say, I believe they do more harm than good, unless someone is actually spamming and has ignored people telling them that they are.

I just spent quite a few hours of time working on this post, and was pleased to post it, and you come in with that post that shouts and accuses me of wrong-doing. That's not a way to treat people here and grow a site.

I really put this post in what I thought was the right place, and never for a second did I think I might possibly be spamming, and somewhat doubt that I am even now.

I have seen quite a bit of true spamming since I've been here on steemit, with posts being put in entirely unrelated categories, which is actually a problem all over the site. Tags pull up all sorts of posts that have nothing to do with the topic. Sometimes most of the posts under a tag have nothing to do with a topic, it seems.

Well, I'll think about this further, but after a few hours work, and being talked to that way when this is a post of relevance to people using the "introduceyourself" tag, I can't decide on anything right now.

@iulianbutanu @gmuxx - guys can you take a look to tag - and relative comments - this needs your attention. Thank you

thanks, this is some good information.

I write about silver. Here is my latest post: https://steemit.com/silver/@hgmsilvergold/if-you-are-a-silver-and-gold-stacker-this-is-for-you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61029.99
ETH 3375.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48