Introducing @cyclingchef: When I'm not cycling or at work, you'll probably find me in the kitchen.

What am I doing here on Steemit?

My lovely daughter, @hannahlicious, thought it would be fun for me to share some of my recipes for healthy meals and cakes. My kitchen cupboards are rammed with quite an array of pulses and several varieties of lentils. I don't drink much wine nowadays but I use a fair amount in the cooking. I'm a gluten dodger as it makes me ill and I'm a wannabe vegetarian because of animal welfare issues, climate change and world hunger. That's heavy but I feel this would be a good forum in which I could learn from others and finally kick that occasional craving for bacon and chorizo, both of which can turn a bowl of lentils into something really special. So, I'm looking for top tips from all you lovely vegans and vegetarians out there.

Cycle Touring Tips Please!

My other half and I are going to retire in two years' time and plan some serious cycle touring in Europe, the US (definitely want to cycle Oregan) and in Australia. We have cycled Lands End to John O'Groats, and various Coast to Coast and other routes in the UK and we are not scared of a hill. So any tips and advice would be most welcome.
In the meantime I cycle to work each day to my job as a community public health nurse.

Thank you

Thanks to @hannahlicious for helping me to get started: Steemit How To: Write A Good Post For Newbies

@rlamasb for being the best son-in-law

Check out my recipe for Kaffenback Gluten-Free Apricot Cake

I'm afraid I won't be able to respond instantly as my day job is very demanding!

Sort:  

@cyclingchef nice to meet you. The cycling community on here seems to be progressing rapidly. Glad to have you here.

Can't wait to see your recipes and hopefully hear about some of your cycling adventures.

By the way your plans for your retirement sound awesome. I bet it can't come soon enough.

We just got a new cycling caffe here in New Orleans and everyone loves it!
Welcome to steemit! I am new here myself, and did a post to help other new steemians in the first week. Here it is if you want to check it out! Very simple stuff.
https://steemit.com/minno101/@nezbong/minnow-101-tips-from-my-first-week-on-steemit
I am going to Follow you to keep up with your progress!
Good Luck fellow Steemian,
Nezbong

Hi Nezbong. Thanks for the tips in your post. We'll definitely have to factor New Orleans into our travels. :)

No problem! I know it was very confusing for me at first. I was like, wow how do they put those pictures on there. Good luck and I will probably do one at week 2 with some other helpful hints. Nezbong

Btw if you are ever here the name of the caffe is Rouler

Brilliant, thank you. I'm on a steep learning curve. :)

Welcome to Steemit Mum!!!
Steem on!

Hi @cyclingchef! Great post! I'm a vegetarian with vegan tendencies myself. I must check out your recipe for Apricot Cake. I just got a bike, any recommendations for good helmets? Los Angeles is too crazy to ride without one. Have a great day! - :) @Tiffy

Hi @Tiffy. As long as your helmet meets a national standard, it should keep your bonce safe. Then it is very much down to how comfortable it feels. Always try it with your eye wear, to make sure that the two are compatible for for fit (and style!). If you're cycling in hot weather, good ventilation helps. A nice light helmet also improves comfort. Just remember that a cheap helmet will protect you just as well as an expensive one. I have a Specialized Prospero03, which replaced the 02, which took a bang last November, thanks to a careless driver.
Always wear clothes that make you visible... It doesn't have to be hi-viz lycra but don't cycle round in black on a dark night...have fun and stay safe. :)

Thank you for all of these tips! I needed them :)

Congratulations @cyclingchef! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yeeahhhhh great to have you here @cyclingchef we miss you guys. Come and cycle in Australia soon :)

Haha @rlamasb - We can't wait to come cycling in Australia again... We'll just make sure the weather is a bit cooler next time. Xx

Welcome to Steemit @cyclingchef :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome to Steemit @cyclingchef! Nice to meet you. Remember me when you are rich!

PS. For entrepreneurial value content, go check out my blog!

Nice to have you on board, Chef! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87