New day, first post

Hi, this is my first time writing any post online before so this is bound to be interesting.

There's a saying in my hometown, "if we don't know each other, we can't respect one another" so let me introduce myself. My name is Aswin (and yes, i don't have an online name), i just finished my second semester as an economic student, there is literally nothing interesting about me other than i'm that awkward but funny kid in class (guess i got that going for me).

2016102122906 (2).jpg
That's me

Before the start of March, i got started trading stock's on my free time, and i think i'm pretty good at it, making decent profit on my portfolio, but there's one thing that i kinda hate about it, i can't withdraw my account on the same day i have my profit, i have to wait 3 days to do that, until some time later, my brother told me about bitcoin and etherium, so i got exited and open an account to start trading bitcoin in my country, and every step of creating an account, deposit, buying, selling altcoin, and withdrawing was literaly 5 times faster than trading stock, so i started concentrating on trading altcoin, but there's only a handfull of coins that are available in that exchange, so i discover poloniex. after opening an account and transferring my bitcoin there (the same day) i start doing what i was doing in the stock market, buy low sell high, but ofcourse i'm still very green in this altcoin trading so i started learning from article's online to videos on youtube. i still trade to this day, but of course the lack of capital an average student like me have is the biggest hurtle to make a decent amount of profit from trading, until one morning on my recommended list from youtube, there's a video about steemit and why it can disrup social media. Now before i clicked on that video, i could have sworn i heard the word steem somewhere, then i remembered that i sold my steem on poloniex worth about 22 USD, it was a good trade that day, profit of about 8%, so i started watching the video, my first impression on steemit was, "where did all this money come from? there's no advertisement as far as i can see" so i started researching on my own and this really fascinate me, the idea that author's are the "shareholder" of the company by giving them steem (depending on how much they're contributing to the community by the community themself) that they can exchange with bitcoin or fiat currency. this really spark my interest, so i started signing up, but i wasn't all that hopeful because when i watched the comment of the video i watched about steemit, many people have not been approved by steemit for over a month (probably because of the queue).

2 days later i was surprised when i checked my email and popped up an email from the steemit team,so i got exited and confused at he same time, 2 days later here i am, making my first post, hoping that i could make something out of my boring life by contributing to this community with the best of my knowledge.

Well, that's the story of who i am and how i found Steemit, i would love to hear your guys story one day.

Thank you so much to the steemit team for giving me this opportunity and to the steemit community, i really appreciate any tips and tricks you guys can give me about steemit.

Sort:  

Welcome to the Steemit community! My name is Tann.

I've outlined some basic tips on how to make your posts stand out from the rest and get more upvotes to earn more steem! Click Here for more!

I think you may find them useful!

@tajo thank you, it's a very helpful tip, i'll be sure to use it on my next post :)

Hey @aswinhedi its cool hearing about your life, I wish you all the best with your studies. Where do you live? You'll be amazed how connected steemit is :)

Hi @harrynewman thank you for the compliment and your wish. I'm from Indonesia BTW :D

No worries friend! Check out this post to see my friends video montage of Australias east coast. If you have ever wanted a beautiful look at coastal scenery make sure you check it out.

Are there nice beaches where you live?

There are a couple of nice beaches about 3 hour drive from where i live, but if you're looking for an even better beach near Australia, go to NTT, there are dozens of good beaches there.

Yeah I've heard the norther territory is amazing. But to look out for jellyfish and other dangerous animals in the water. Just have to keep an eye out.

Yeah, you're right :D

Welcome to Steem @aswinhedi I have sent you a tip

Welcome aboard @aswinhedi Brace yourself for the best social network you have ever experienced. Steemit is the place to be if you ever use the internet on any device. Check out my blog I hope you'd find something you like and feel free to follow me @simeonburke I will follow you in response.
If you need any help, feel free to ask questions as well.
Have a lovely day!

Welcome to Steemit @aswinhedi :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome to the community, Aswin! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

 CHECK >>>TIPS-MY FIRST WEEK ON STEEMIT- https://steemit.com/steemit/@tinashe/tips-my-first-week-on-steemit
*Thank you*
 

welcome!! hope you enjoy here as much as i do! if you like photography check my page :)

Nice to see a fellow Indian on Steemit. Welcome to this platform :)

I'm sorry @charusaid, I'm an Indonesian :D, and thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45