Preserving Your Harvest With 12 Delicious Recipes

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


There's nothing more comforting than a well stocked pantry. Start building up your preserving, brewing and fermenting skills with these 12 tried and true recipes from the Walkerland pantry!

Raw Packed Carrots

The secret to canning delicious carrots is simple: fresh, firm produce and using the raw packed method of canning. Get the recipe here: Raw Packed CarrotsIMG_2965.jpg

Perfect Strawberry Jam

This recipe for strawberry jam is bursting with bright, fresh flavours. It captures the essence of juicy red summertime fruit and stores it up for future enjoyment. Find the recipe here: Perfect Strawberry Jam
IMG_7426-1024x683.jpg

How To Render Lard

If you don't raise pigs, you can buy lard from a butcher or local farm. Give them a call and they'll usually arrange something with you. Often when you buy lard, it will not be rendered so you'll need to do a little work to prepare it for use. It's really easy to do! Learn how here: How to Render Lard
img_0143.jpg

Spring Flower Jelly

Spring Flower Jelly is a lovely way to celebrate the arrival of spring. This easy to make jelly uses edible flowers to capture the essence of spring and bottle it up for enjoyment through the year. What could be better? Learn how to make it here: Spring Flower Jelly
IMG_7090.jpg

Fresh Horseradish Sauce

Fresh horseradish sauce is easy to make and the flavours are far superior to anything you can purchase in the store. If you grow horseradish, early spring is a perfect time to dig some up and make sauce! If you don't grow any you'll often find it in the produce section of the grocery store near the garlic. It's usually labelled "horseradish root". Find the recipe here: Fresh Horseradish Sauce
IMG_1065.jpg

Healing Fire Cider Tonic

Fire cider is a spicy, raw apple cider vinegar, herbal tonic. The slow process in which you make it extracts the medicinal qualities of the ingredients creating a potent herbal vinegar. Fire cider helps to boost your immune system. It can be taken to ward off a colds or other respiratory infections. Learn how to make it here: Healing Fire Cider TonicIMG_9236.jpg

Raw Apple Cider Vinegar

Raw apple cider vinegar is one of nature’s miracle foods. In addition to it's many culinary uses, there are also countless health and skincare benefits. ACV is often used for things like: heartburn, digestive issues, flu prevention, inflammation, regulate pH balance, ease nausea, detoxes and the list just goes on and on. Find the recipe here: Home-made Raw Apple Cider Vinegar
IMG_4895.jpg

Raspberry Vinegar

Why not make your own brightly flavoured raspberry vinegar? It's really easy and it tastes far better than the store bought varieties. You can use fresh or frozen berries making this a handy recipe for the winter months. Get the recipe here: Raspberry Vinegar
IMG_0517.jpg

Apple Fig Chutney

This Apple & fig chutney is one of my favourite preserves. It's pretty popular with family and friends as well. It's jam packed with dried fruits, and seasoned with warm spices. At first glance, the long ingredient list might make this chutney seem complicated but believe me, it's super easy to make and well worth the effort. Get the recipe here: Apple Fig Chutney
IMG_0608.jpg

Pickled Jerusalem Artichokes

This recipe is for Pickled Jerusalem Artichokes. It creates a sort of bread and butter pickle flavour that you can enjoy with roast pork, ham and sandwiches. This recipe is for a large batch but you can safely reduce the recipe to meet your own needs.Find the recipe here: Pickled Jerusalem Artichokes
IMG_4804-1024x683.jpg

Carrot Wine Recipe

This recipe makes a semi-dry white wine with a twist. It really does not taste like carrot. One word of warning: Root vegetable wines do tend to turn out stronger than fruit wines. Find the recipe here: Carrot Wine Recipe
IMG_5188_01.jpg

Rumtopf (Rum Pot)

Rumtopf quite literally means rum pot. It is a traditional German method of preserving fruits of summer with sugar and strong rum. It is traditionally eaten around Christmas but if properly stored it keeps indefinitely. Find the recipe here: Rumtopf (Rum Pot
IMG_9264_01.jpg


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Resteeming this so I can find it again :) especially for the strawberry jam! I'll be giving that a whirl for the first time this year! As always, the photos are beautiful. They make me want to try all the things!

Thank you, you are always so sweet. I just got a continuous light/umbrella so I'll be able to practice food photography and learn how to use lighting properly. So far they are turning out worse than my old natural light method though. Another challenge to get me through these next weeks of winterish weather I suppose. Demolished kitchen and lighting and seedlings ...it's a total disaster around here.

I do have a recipe on our website for Strawberry Rose Jam & Strawberry Mint Jam if you want a twist. With kids though plain is probably the winner.

I love all the natural light photos. I think it goes with the homesteading appeal since a lot of folks equate homesteading with "off grid"...Like everything in the picture is natural, even the light!

Did you pick out your countertops yet? Is there a light at the end of the tunnel for your kitchen? :)

That is a good point and probably will still do a lot of natural light. I like it best! My only issue is I work really late sometimes it's too dark to photograph. It's nice having the option (If I can make it work!)

I ended up going with wood counter tops. Really thick butcher block style made from local wood. It's costing me less than a laminate counter would and I couldn't justify the pricing for granite. I went to see the cabinets today, it's really coming along, a week or so and they should be installed.!!

It's going to be fun to see your kitchen coming along if you post progress photos! How neat to have local wood and craftsmanship too!

Not only do they all look and sound delicious but the photos themselves are really well done! You must be some sort of food photography wizard!

Thank you for the kind compliment. I am a passionate yet very amateur photographer. I practice a lot. I love food and making things pretty so it's all quite fun. :)

Some wonderful recipes here. Thank you for sharing. I'm going to try rendering lard or tallow shortly so I shall bookmark this page :) Oh and I made your coffee grounds soap and it is curing right now :)

oh wow! I hope you like it as much as I do. Its become one of my favourite bars, being so hard it lasts so much longer than the others.

Wow, you have so many good things here, especially the raspberry vinegar. I have never heard of such thing. I was thinking of making some vinegar of grapes this year. Do you have a recipe for that?

I don't have any grape recipes other than grape jelly. I grow grapes but every year it's a battle with the birds. I end up with a few cups at most! I bet it's delicious though. I'm sure someone on steemit has a good recipe!

Thank you! Looks like you need a net to protect your grapes. We don't have any problem with the birds but the bees 🐝, sometimes they eat half of it if we can't harvest it in time.

very true. I have bought a net but It's such a pain to get it on the vines. I gave up trying. I'll just have to plant more grapes! Eventually there'll be enough for both of us.

Let's hope so 😊

Drool! Those all look so good! Every time I see the flower jelly one, I wish I could make it!

Spring will be here soon!! :)

Happy Sunday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked and featured in the most recent Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thank you and have a great day!

Thank you @kiaraantonoviche! what a nice Sunday surprise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57679.84
ETH 2442.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34