How To Make Raspberry Vinegar

in #food7 years ago

Why not make your own brightly flavoured raspberry vinegar? It's really easy and it tastes far better than the store bought varieties. You can use fresh or frozen berries making this a handy recipe for the winter months.

I've included two recipes, both taste great. One focuses on raw apple cider vinegar and requires time while the other uses wine vinegar and can be whipped up in under thirty minutes. Both taste wonderful.

IMG_0522.jpg

Raspberry vinegar is great for making a "mock" vinegar shrub (add a splash to your soda or a cocktail). Its also the perfect ingredient for a vinaigrette and can be simmered down to make a balsamic type reduction. It's especially nice drizzled over ice cream with a few slivers of chocolate.

Raw Raspberry Vinegar

Ingredients

  • 2 cups raw apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 cups Raspberries

Directions

  • Combine the raspberries and the sugar in a bowl, stir well, and cover with parchment paper. Allow to macerate in the refrigerator for two days, stirring each day.
  • On the third day, add the vinegar and stir well. Once the sugar is dissolved, strain the mixture through a fine mesh sieve and fine cheesecloth into a sterilized bottle. Squeeze it out really well to get all the juice.
  • Give it a shake every few days for the next week, to dissolve the remaining sugar crystals. The flavour intensifies with age so let it sit a while before using.

IMG_7923.jpg

Red Wine Raspberry Vinegar

Ingredients

  • 2 cups red wine vinegar
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 cups raspberries

Directions

  • Combine the vinegar, raspberries and the sugar in a pan. Gently simmer for 15-20 minutes on med-low heat.
  • Strain the mixture through a fine mesh sieve and cheesecloth into a sterilized bottle. Squeeze it out really well to get all the juice.

You might also enjoy: How To Make Rumtopf (Rum Pot): Fruit Preserved in Rum


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca

Photo copyright: @walkerland

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

Sort:  

Perfect homemade recipe to use for salad dressings and even on a sandwich change up to heavy mayo or mustard!!

That would be good on a sandwich in place of all the usual dressings :) Great idea.

Thanks for these. I would love one day to get enough apples from my few new trees to warrant getting a little cider press. Then even the cider vinegar could be home sourced. Have you tried that?

I love raspberry anything! My favourite bush I have planted are thornless blackberries, I am still amazed at their thornless branches!

I would LOVE a cider press as well and like you our apple trees are still really young. We've been lucky though and still end up with 5+ bushels in the fall. Some come from a local orchard that sells their "rejects: the ones the stores don't want" for $8 a bushel and others come from the woods. There are some old orchards from homesteads long gone all around the woods so we go out foraging.

Apple cider vinegar is one of the things I love making. Totally worth the effort. Even without a cider press you can make a lot of things, apple juice, apple butter, sauce, cider, vinegar etc. It is just much more time consuming and labour intensive.

Everyone is talking about these thorn-less blackberries and I am so envious. Mine have thorns but I didn't know there was an alternative when we planted them. This recipe is great with blackberries too or a mixture of both :)

Combat picking at its finest. We pick over on the snake river. The blackberry patches are huge and very thorny. Long sleeves and long pants for sure.

Blackberry thorns are quite fierce aren't they? I get snared up in ours all the time. They like to just reach out and grab me. I've never had a finer bounty of fruit than that of the blackberry though. Such abundance. .. its worth a few battle scars :)

Adding flavor to the apple cider vinegar. That would make taking apple cider vinegar each morning taste a bit better. Great idea. I think that would make it taste great.

Thanks!

Have you tried fire cider? If you are taking ACV each morning you might want to give that a try, it's like the super power version. Google "rosemary gladstar fire cider" if you are interested :)

do you know how to test acidity in the vinegars?

I've read about it but it seems quite complicated. You can test the PH using the same types of strips you buy for soap making but it does not really help you determine the acetic acid level. To do that you need a titration test kit that you can order from wine making stores or probably Amazon. http://www.apple-cider-vinegar-benefits.com/vinegar-titration.html

I have not tried rosemary gladstar fire cider. Wow that is a potent recipe. Thanks for the tip. I am going to make that. It is a wonderful infusion to have on hand.

First time I see that recipe.. excellent

Looks beautiful in the bottle. We accidentally made vinegar one year. The wine took to long to ferment. :) It was very tastey.

wine is nice that way, even if you make a mistake you still get something good to enjoy (well mostly ...I have made something unusable ...it smelled like nail polish remover). I like to make vinegar from our wine. If there is any left in the fermenting bucket one our demijohn is filled I will start some vinegar. It's so fun to have all these unusual types of vinegar in the pantry. I have a hibiscus rose petal variety that I am eager to taste.

This looks amazing! I forgot if I already asked you for permission in the past (I lost my list of authors lol), but may I link and feature your article in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter?? Thanks!

sure, yes please and thank you :) I love your newsletter!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33