How To Render Your Own Lard (For Soapmaking, Baking, Cooking & More)

in #food6 years ago

img_0143.jpg

In my recent post on how to make lard soap, I realized that I had not covered the essential steps of rendering the lard. Thanks @gillianpearce for pointing that out. You can buy lard from a butcher or local farm. Give them a call and they'll usually arrange something with you. Often when you buy lard, it will not be rendered so you'll need to do a little work to prepare it for use. It's really easy to do!

This is what 6.5 LBS of fat looks like.

img_0080.jpg

Ingredients/Supplies

  • Pig fat/lard (trimmed of any excess flesh – should be purely fat)
  • A heavy bottomed pot (or crock pot)
  • Wooden spoon
  • Fine mesh sieve/strainer and cheese cloth (I used my jelly strainer and cheese cloth)
  • Storage jars/containers (I use mason jars)
  • Kitchen knife

Rendering the lard

Chop the fat into bite sized pieces. This will speed up the rendering process. We attempted to grind it in an old hand grinder. We've used to make hamburger with great success. It turned out to be a terrible idea for fat. TERRIBLE! It took me an hour to clean it after the failed attempt. Not fun.

We ended up chopping it up with a big chefs knife, and it worked great.

img_0092.jpg

Stick the chopped fat into a heavy bottomed pot. I used my cast iron/enameled pot.

img_0101.jpg

Low and slow is key. You do not want to burn it. If it burns, it is probably still good for cooking but it does not make a nice looking (or smelling) base for soap or baking.

I have a gas stove (with fairly low BTU) and simmered this at the lowest setting, stirring quite frequently. It took about three hours to completely render the lard. Some people use a crock pot with a really low setting, I don't have one and have not tried this but I expect that this would be a great tool for the job.

img_0100.jpg

Eventually there will be a lot of liquid, and the solid bits will have shrunken down.

img_0118.jpg

You want a nice pale coloured liquid, like this.

img_0126.jpg

Strain out the liquid. Use cheese cloth or nylons and a fine mesh strainer to separate all the little floaty bits from the liquid. Just keep straining until all the bits are gone. Place all the bits back in your pot to make some pork crackling!

img_0121.jpg

Let the liquid cool enough to handle and pour into mason jars. Leave some head space if you plan of freezing. This is what it looks like once it has cooled. Deceptively like butter cream.

img_0153.jpg

Bonus Item: Making Pork Crackling

img_0134.jpg

Bacon lovers beware, this might push you over the edge. If you have dogs, they'll be going nuts right about now. Making pork crackling takes about ten minutes.

Turn your burner to medium and gently cook the remaining bits that you threw back in the pot. Sprinkle a few pinches of salt on the fat. Cook until its browned and crispy looking. Take a slotted spoon and spread the bits out onto paper towel to drain off the excess fat. Let cool and then store in a jar.

Store in fridge and use within 4-5 days or freeze. Crackling is great sprinkled on pizza, or used as bacon bits or as a not so healthy snack. If you want your puppies to love you forever and ever, crack open a jar and give them a few nibbles.

Now that we have the lard rendered, the next step is making some lovely, all natural lard soap. You can find that recipe here!


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I accept. Thank you!

Awesome post!!

Keep @healthy-home in mind and use the #healthy-home tag when doing quality posts about: strong family; gardening and food harvest (and also homesteading....though my curation focus will be less on this for the near future).

I will be taking a break from Steemit for the next 2 weeks, but when I come back, will be better than ever!!

Peace

Thanks @healthy-home! I will!

This post is gold! I have bookmarked it for future use.

It has been so long since I rendered fat- probably decades.
Do you used grain fed beef or fat?

well, I've never made tallow (beef fat) because we don't raise cows (yet) and I don't know of a local source that does things to my liking. I really am a very picky person :)

I've only rendered lard from our own pasture raised pigs. We feed them organic grains, garden vegetables and all kinds of good stuff. We don't have pigs right now, not sure if my husband want' to do it this year or not.

Hehe I love the look on the face of those two pups watching the chopping 😁 thanks for this great post 😄

omg! Seriously. Every photo I take in the kitchen seems to have our two dogs watching intently. Thank you!

How long do you think this would last put up in canning jars and not refrigerated? I am trying to get away from depending on my freezer since if I manage to buy a tiny house, there will not be room for one.

I have read somewhere that it can be canned and made shelf stable. I don't have instructions for that but I am sure on-line someone has written of it. I have seen relatives leave it out on the counter for daily cooking and I don't recall it ever going bad. I just don't know the answer to this (having never done it myself) but hopefully someone who knows will comment!

It is really easy to do. We did it outside this fall. We had run it thro our meat grinder, so the cracklings were tiny.

A meat grinder would be so nice! I bet that sped up the process a lot!

Yeah, it's got a motor too! I do have a hand crank one, but it was just too hard to turn for this job.

David grinding chicken crop Sept. 2017.jpg

That is so wonderful! Good tools are so nice to have!

Wow. That was fast @walkerland. Great job with the instructions. How on earth did you manage that so quickly? 😊

I had already written half of it a while ago and just needed to polish it up and refresh it because I've rendered lard a few more times since I originally wrote it up. I have dozens of posts in partial states of completion. We have such a bad internet connection that I have to write my posts on the computer and then upload them so it seems to create a lot of "drafts" in my world.

Didnt realise it was that easy to do , thanks for the post.

Glad you liked the post. Hopefully it comes in handy for you some day!

Very nice explaination. I've made soap a couple of times only but I would like to make more. Thanks for the inspiration on making soap with rendering fat!

I love multi-purpose products! We don't like to use chemicals and it really seems like most of the stuff I use for cleaning & personal care come from my food pantry or garden.

I totally enjoyed reading how to do this. I am looking forward to doing this one day.

Glad you enjoyed it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83