Fresh Horseradish Sauce Recipe

in #food6 years ago

IMG_1065.jpg

Fresh horseradish sauce is easy to make and the flavours are far superior to anything you can purchase in the store. If you grow horseradish, early spring is a perfect time to dig some up and make sauce! If you don't grow any you'll often find it in the produce section of the grocery store near the garlic. It's usually labelled "horseradish root".

Versatile

Famous as an ingredient for Caesar cocktails, horseradish add a great flavour to many dishes. Try using it to add a punch of flavour to sauces. It's also great in mashed potatoes, potato salad, salad dressings & latkes. Some people even enjoy it mixed into their home-made mac and cheese.

IMG_0903.jpg Early spring is a great time to harvest horseradish

One Word of Warning

Breathing in horseradish root while you are peeling and grating it can burn the sinuses and make your eyes water. It is best to do this work in a well ventilated area!

Ingredients

For every 1 cup of fresh horseradish

  • 1/2 cup white or apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp sugar

Instructions

  • Peel & grate the horseradish.

  • lightly pack the grated horseradish in mason jars, leaving space for the brine.

  • Prepare the brine. You'll want: ½ cup white or apple cider vinegar, ½ tsp salt and 1/4 tsp sugar (optional) for every 1 cup of fresh horseradish

  • Fill the mason jars with brine, ensuring enough fluid was added to cover all the horseradish.

  • Close the jars and put them in the refrigerator. In optimal conditions this will keep for up to a year.

We don't water bath horseradish because the heat process will kill many of the beneficial properties of the horseradish root and will also change the texture.


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

WOW!!! It is easy to make and I bet MUCH better than any store bought horseradish sauce.

My dad is a HUGE lover of horseradish sauce and he'd eat it on his potato pancakes (latkes) every year for lent. My mom always made them with salmon patties every Friday. It was a family tradition. I bet I could make him some with some store bought root and surprise him.

I is totally worth it! My husband goes through it so fast. The first time we made it we still had some store bought sauce in the fridge so we did a taste test and it's just so much better! :)

With St Patrick's Day coming up next week and it's corned beef time of year... nothing makes a sandwich of sauerkraut and corned beef taste better than some horseradish slathered on the bread!

Friday is errand day, I'll have to stop by the organic fruit/vegetable market while I'm out.
My list keeps growing... ginger, turmeric and now horseradish root!

ginger, turmeric and now horseradish root!

All amazing things that I love! Fresh turmeric is hard to find here but I've got lots of powdered. Sounds like you have a lot of fun projects planned!

That's a thing I miss living in the desert. Good horseradish. Nothing like it.

Thanks for the memory.

no horseradish? well I guess I could handle that if the trade was a much warmer climate. :)

I really want to try this.
@tincanjunction

I love horseradish! Do you have any idea how long you can keep this in a fridge?

ours never lasts more than six months before we have to make more but it can last up to a year if kept in the fridge. If it changes in colour or looks bad in any way toss it.

Thank you, will definitely try to make this. :)

I have never thought about making this cause we don't eat it often. Thanks for the ideas and recipe. I know if I make some and have it, we will eat it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98