Apple & Fig Chutney Recipe

in #recipes6 years ago

IMG_0597_04-1170x778.jpg

This Apple & fig chutney is one of my favourite preserves. It's pretty popular with family and friends as well. It's jam packed with dried fruits, and seasoned with warm spices. At first glance, the long ingredient list might make this chutney seem complicated but believe me, it's super easy to make and well worth the effort.

This chutney is an ideal accompaniment for a cheese plate or cold meats like venison and beef. It is especially good served with curries and rice dishes. For shelf stable storage we’ve included the directions for preserving it. This is my recently improved version of the recipe. You can find the original here.

IMG_0608.jpg

Servings: Aprox: 8 - 250ML Jars

Ingredients

  • 2 cups - apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup - honey
  • 1 pound - brown Sugar
  • 2 pounds - apples (unpeeled. washed, cored, diced)
  • 1/2 pound - dried figs (chopped)
  • 1/2 pound - dried cranberries (roughly chopped)
  • 1/2 pound - raisins (roughly chopped)
  • 1 large onion (diced)
  • Juice of two medium oranges (1 cup)
  • Juice and zest of two medium lemons
  • 1 Large Garlic clove (diced)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh grated ginger
  • 1 tablespoon mustard seed
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt

IMG_9091.jpg

Instructions

Prepare all of the ingredients and add them to your preserving pan or heavy bottomed pot. Stir well and then slowly bring to a boil until the sugar has dissolved.

Simmer for 1½-2 hours, stirring frequently to prevent the chutney from sticking to the pan.

When the mixture becomes very thick it is ready.

Ladle the mixture into sterilized jars and use a preserving spoon or chopstick to carefully remove air pockets and bubbles from each jar. If necessary top up the jars.

Wipe the rims, add your lids and rings and water bath for ten minutes to seal.

Store in a cool, dark cupboard for two to three months to allow the flavours to develop before eating.


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

Oh my looks delish! Well done @walkerland. You always take great photos and this one’s got me drooling 😋

Thank you :) I don't eat a lot of sweet stuff but this is so savoury and complex. It goes perfectly with fresh bread and cheese my two favourite things.

oh my, exactly! the complexity is what makes it doable and so so rich. i, too, am i fresh bread and cheese fan. mmm mm!

This looks wonderful! I will have to try this one! The pictures look delicious!

Looks amazing! Where do i get figs, lol?

You can find dried figs at bulk food stores and grocery stores wherever they sell dried fruit. Depending on where you live fresh figs are seasonal in the produce section (we never seem to get fresh figs).

Oh wow this looks and sound delicious. Great recipe and beautiful pic!

MMM yum - My apples and close to being ready as are my figs so this will be a fabulous recipe for me to make. Question: Could I use fresh figs instead of dried?

I have never had the pleasure of being able to use fresh figs (I am so envious!) I am not sure how the texture might change, but I know there are recipes on-line for chutney using fresh figs. One recipe suggest using slightly underripe figs.

I know right I'm very lucky - my tree is laden with figs which will be ready in about 4 weeks I hope. I have to fight the birds for them!!! I'm guess it would change the texture with dried figs being quite chewy - I will give it a go and let you know. :)

I think with all the other dried fruit it will still have a nice texture. Just imagine all the great things you'll be able to make! You'll have to stand watch closer to harvest time and guard that fruit (lol).

lol my brother also has a fig tree - he has way too much time on his hands as he wraps every fig in muslin and ties it up like a little parcel :D The birds don't have a chance at his house!!

I saw a video once about these pears or apples in Japan and they do that there. I was reading about how to protect our organic apples and quickly decided that that would not be feasible for us. Your brother sure has patience. I would love to see a photo of his fig tree and yours.

I'm due to do a post shortly of my impatience waiting for things to ripen - I will get photos for sure :)

This sounds delightful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23