6 Week Fitness Challenge: Results Post

in #homesteading6 years ago

Copy of Steemit (1).png

Reflections on the Six Week Fitness Challenge by @Coachjj

I came across @coachjj fitness challenge in the post promotion of the alliance discord - or maybe it was in the general talk channel. I don't remember which one, but I know that it was one of my alliance family members who was trying to do something good on Steemit.

So, I joined. I had been feeling the need to do a more regular exercise regiment since thanks to Steemit, I have been sitting on my butt way more than at any other time in my life.

I grew up walking wherever I was going and kept that habit up whenever possible. Then, I got into bicycling and riding 50 mi before breakfast was my normal for a while. If not that, I was swimming, or running, or hiking. After my bout with cancer (and yes, I was pretty much not moving at all when I was down for a year, but that was different), I gave myself the gift of hiking (and training for) Mt. Whiney - the highest peak in the continental US.

Doing a regular exercise routine usually means something big for me. I used to hike Cowles Mountain every day. When I was in good shape, I could to the 3-mile hike with a 1000 ft elevation gain in 45 minutes. It takes a lot longer than that if I am not in shape.

Imgur

I also moved a bit further from the trailhead and to do that hike is more of a 3-hour time commitment now. And then, there is the gas and the environmental impact to consider when driving to exercise. At the same time, I don't really enjoy walks around the neighborhood that much.

What to do?

I wanted to join the challenge and also get back to the fitness level I used to enjoy.

Oh, did I mention that I am also a Yoga Teacher and used to teach 12 classes per week? Some of them were kids classes that take even more energy.

One thing that makes it very hard to start a workout routine again is that it is easy to get frustrated with oneself when the out of shape body is slow or doesn't bend as well as it used to.

Also, my days are packed and I didn't see how I can fit a couple of hours of fitness into my schedule.

Then it hit me! I remembered studies that showed that people in Europe, who walked or bicycled as their mode of transportation but didn't do any other workouts, were found to be in much better shape as their sedentary peers.

There was another study that indicated that more frequent small workouts are better than 8 hours of sitting and then doing one big workout. Also, my garden really needs a lot of work and spending time away seems like a really bad idea.

My plan was born!!!

I have this sitting in front of my house.

Imgur

In case you don't know what that is, it is a truckload of tree trimmings that make excellent mulch. Having it dumped at my house and spread in the garden diverts another truckload from going to the landfill.

Here is another pic so you can see how big that thing is.

Imgur

That is a workout waiting for me right there. Now, let me show you where I need to take a lot of it.

First, we go through the front yard to the side door - that is about 30 steps.

Imgur

Then, we go through the door toward the back of the garden.

Imgur

I counted the steps, but don't remember what this particular segment was.

Then we turn to go towards the chicken compound. That is where I need mulch all the time to keep things nice, smell free, and healthy for my girls.

Imgur

See all the greens in need of cutting and hugelbeds which need to be tended.

On the way, I have to say hello to those two.
Imgur

This mommy came out of hiding with only one baby chick - last year, I had girls hiding and then appearing again with 18 little ones. The two keep staying away from the mean aunties in the rest of the flock.

Imgur

The door to the coop - 140 steps later. If I take 10 loads to the chickens, I walked well over a mile without leaving my property. And that is not all that needs to be done. Plenty of workout opportunities here.

Since shoveling and wheelbarrow pushing can be hard on the back, frequent stretching or mini Yoga sessions are a must!!

I found a workout that I can stick to and will not only benefit my body but also my mind - getting things done feels really, really good!!!

One more picture of all the volunteer Nasturtium that are having a great time taking over the world.

Imgur

Once they are done, guess what is going there? Yup, mulch.

Fun fact: Every part of the Nasturtium is edible and delicious: Flowers, leaves, seeds, and roots too.

The Challenge

For me, it was really helpful to have the accountability partner in @coachjj. If I was starting to feel lazy, I made myself go a couple of times more to the chickens or to dump the compost or whatever needed to get done to get to my goal number of steps.

It really is so easy to just push it off to tomorrow. Or just write one more post, answer one more email - and the next thing you know, it is the evening of another day without working out.

So, thank you for the challenge and I hope you keep going with it!!

Seemit band.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Seemit band.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Seemit band.png

My recent posts

Multiple Posts on Steemit

More than one Picture on Steepshot

My favorite App on Steem

Day 6 - Gratitude

Commenting on Steemit

My Front Garden - a Short Tour

What Do I Consider a Worthy Post on Steemit

Garden Projects - D-Live

First D-live

I got replaced 😟

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Seemit band.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Seemit band.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Sola and earn SOL: https://sola.ai/mariannewest
Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Yes @mariannewest, you are so deserving of the prize! You were consistent in working out, even in the midst of challenges. You found creative ways to get your fitness in. And, you encouraged and inspired the other participants to get their fitness in. Your 8 SBD is on its way to you!

Thank you so much!! I hope that you will keep going. These challenges take a bit to take hold, but I think you created a great one!!

Cowles mountain!!!!! awwwwwww home sweet home :)

Lady - you DESERVE the win for the challenge!!!! you did amazing!!!!! I'm so proud of you and I hope @coachjj wants to do it again - even though most of us didn't do so well hehehehe

Stick with us Coach!!! :) we need youuuuuuuuu

Excellent job @marriannewest!!!! super proud of you!

It is like a home. that mountain kept me sane when I had my store and was working all the time - to the tune of 7 days a week...

It sounds like you don't live here anymore - but when you come and visit, let's get together :)

And I too hope that we keep going with this!!!

i would love that @mariannewest!!!!!

yeah i'm in Central Cali now - i miss socal :) but this is beautiful too - i'm in the Sierras now. peaceful :)

Maybe we can meet when I come down in June again to see my niece dance with my father! (i cannot wait to see her little legs and her precocious face on that stage.... here is a little post about her.. if you want to see!)
Love this little girl

ahhh. and I'm anonymous on here... so... we'll just have to find a clever way to document our steemit mini-meetup hehehehe

Easy. No faces LOL. Let me know when you are here. I love the Sierras!! Done my fair share of hiking there - Well, not as much as in my local area, but did Whitney :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-27T20:25:48
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 460.05/800.00
Total Photos: 66
Total comments: 41
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I did not know you were doing this challenge. Good for you. I just work out a bit all through out the day and so far so good. I would love to bike or swim but it's not happened.

If you need help in the yard ever - Caleb would love to come help you for all you have done for us. I'm volunteering him :) He needs the nature and fresh air and is strong.

I have offered a few times. Not going to push it LOL

Thank you for being so patient! We’re slowly catching up with our SP! Almost There!

Most recent user guide released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85