Have you ever felt scribbly?

in #dtube6 years ago
Peace is a fragile thing.  It takes courage to secure it. It takes wisdom to maintain it.  ~ Jenny Shipley

How are you feeling?

I usually don't like this question.  I'm not the kind of person to give a token response, so I often try to express how I'm truly feeling.  The problem is that I normally can't express that in words.  Well, I can - but how many words do they really want to hear???  (Well, I feel anxious, but focused.  A little hyper, but lazy - with a touch of exhausted.  Though my mind is clear, and yet hazy. My creativity is off the charts!  However, my motivation is so-so.... I could go on for 12 minutes.)

There doesn't seem to BE a single word that describes the cacophony of emotions that I experience in any minute of the day.  My mind is an unusual one.  In order to fall asleep at night, I have a few "tricks" that I've learned over the years in order to shut my brain off.  Without them - I don't sleep longer than 4 fractured hours.  On the seventh day of this pattern, I collapse in exhaustion.  The following week, I repeat that pattern.

Sleep is important.  Without it, you become a jumble of random neurons firing at will. 

On a seemingly unrelated topic (but stay with me),  my 4-year old niece has an incredibly perceptive and creative brain.  She analyzes oddities immediately, but her explanation of these things are formed from a 4-year old's limited vocabulary and experiences. 

She loves those frozen yogurt tubes.  The sweet, creamy treat is one of her favorites to enjoy after lunch.  My sister tried to extend the life of a case of these treats by sticking them in the freezer.  Upon defrosting, my niece revolted in disgust at the new texture.  It had separated into grainy bits of milk solids amidst a slimy, sugary film.

"Do you want another Gogurt today, baby?"

"Yuck! No I don't like those Gogurts!  They taste all .... scribbly!"


I knew exactly what she meant.  We all did.  That mess of unexpected disgust, tangled textures and foreign feelings all smooshed together into one tube.   

Now, when someone asks me how I feel, and they're looking for that quick, one-word-response.  I tell them, " I feel scribbly."


That's how I woke up this morning


I took a deep breath and remembered that I'm more than a conqueror

...and I have the heart of a lion


...and peace that passes all understanding.

...and passion for life  (or... that I'm a Fire Master ;) which reminded me that I love laughter too! haha)

and that I love to grow and learn!



Sometimes, you just need to breathe and look again.   





▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS


Sort:  

I know exactly what this feels like....and I love this word. I usually say I'm rusty - you know how the gears just won't move because of the rust?

Sometimes though I can be scribbling and just can't add my "truth" about being a conqueror, or a king's daughter, or or or...it's just adds to the scribbliness. And makes me want to scribble harder . I bet you understand that one!

Great post, @dreemsteem :)

Thanks friend!!! :) and i COMPLETELY understand. :) then... add in the frustration of not being able to express yourself, and the guilt for seeing other people DO when you just CAN'T.... and the confusion as to whyyyyyyy.

eventually, i'm reminded :)

but i need to be reminded often ;)

lol.....ya. I know. blech.

double blech! hahahaha is it time for cookies yet? ;)

I don't ever want to see cookies again. Ever.
maybe tomorrow

i just BARKED with laughter!!!!!!!!!!! hahahahahahaha I didn't want a cookie tonight either. I was so full after dinner. but i needed to send a video to my niece and nephew (of us eating the girl scout cookies they sent) and now i'm queasy. LOLOL ughhhhhh help.

Liked very much...I can certainly identify but who'd thought of describing as scribbly? Only a sweet child.

right??? she is the most scrumptious doodle in the whole wide sea - and i love her so much I want to squeeze her until her gutsies come out!!!! LOOOOOVE!!!

You're not going to believe this, but when I was a kid, I discovered the interesting patterns in scribbles.

I would intentionally scribble on a piece of paper, then visually scan the results and fill in the areas were I saw interesting patterns. Pretty much in a way similar to your scribble in this post.

I can almost remember some of the results... They're right there on the fringe of my memory...

So, what's that they say about great minds? ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

i'm pretty sure they think alike ;)
too bad we couldn't think alike and SOLVE the bitshares/open ledger conundrum!!! arghhhh

You're right! I do like it. Great way to turn things around.

It was simple and sweet right??? 😊

This is such a great post. I'm too complex to sum up in one word, as well. Exhaustion is constant. But I like this. Scribbly. The wisdom that comes from kids, eh?

out of the mouths of babes!!!! hehehehe sometimes they have the BEST explanations :)

yeah... as i was reading your yoga posts - i was like mm hmm! yep - tracking with you @katrina-ariel !!!! :)
doing too much, too hard, too fast (and KNOWING that.... but not quite able to slow down!)

life has a way of slowing us down though, huh! lol Adrenals will just go on strike until we take them seriously hehehehe

I'm glad you like scribbly - and I hope you use it often!!! I can't wait to tell my niece (in only THIRTEEN MORE DAYYYYYS) that her word is a big hit hehe :)

ha! I found it and I voted for it - I hope that teaches you a lesson!

aghhhhhhhhhhhhh. well now you've gone and done it!!!! Now every time I want to suggest a post for you - I won't!!! LOL because I'll think that YOU'LL think that i'm only fishing for upvotes!!! gahhhhhhhhhhh. there is still time to salvage our joint appreciation for good content without the guilt of upvoting weighing on my mind???? LOL i will look away as you remove your financial contribution to this post!!! :)

and just enjoy the comment in the comment section (and more importantly - i'll share OTHER posts with you in the future without feeling the need to guess and second guess and third guess whether or not you doubt my motivations...

do you see why i feel scribbly?!??!?!! heheheeh

This is a perfect way to describe how people feel most of the time. I always give the generic "fine" just because I'm sure most don't want to REALLY here how I feel...

right???? so many people are just asking as a pleasantry. They don't really want to know the details of my broken mind. lolol

so - now you can tell them " i feel scribbly!"

and if they say "oh! hahahaha" and continue on with conversation, you know that they didn't really want to ask sincerely.

but if they say, " scribbly??? what's scribbly??" then............ :)

OMG, I loved this! I totally did NOT see that coming--finding the "familiar in your scribbly"!

I actually didn't see it coming either!!! :) someone literally asked me this morning how I was doing and I said - SCRIBBLY! :)

and i needed to adjust my perspective and try to find something positive in that mess :)

did you see my first little video clip on dtube??? hehehe its only about 16 seconds long, and no audio - but i'm so proud of it!!!! :)

No, I haven't seen it but I'll check it out! I'm wanting to give dtube a try, so I can't wait to see how your first one went :)

it took me 3 hours to get those 16 seconds!!! hahahaha but next time it won't take me nearly as long. i just made a lot of mistakes.

thankfully i learned along the way! hehehe

It was great! Congrats on your first video! If you have any advice/tips/tricks, let me know :)

yes! i totally do! i'm glad you asked :) hopefully my mistakes will save other people time and energy hehehe
i hate those black bars on the screen... i like a clean look. so make sure that you're recording (or designing) in 16:9 format... then no black pillars on the side of your box :) that was the main reason for me editing it three different times. well - and the other thing doesn't even matter - cuz i was originally using youtube. hahaha and then i made the switch halfway through to go to dtube (and glad i did!!!!)

then... the code to embed the video is the one.. ack. i'm not looking at it now...but i think its on the edit screen? You'll see the code that looks familiar to html :)

you can't just enter the URL like you can with youtube. Dtube has a special way to do it! (using the code - it's like 6 lines?)

hmmmm and don't forget to add music like i did. hahahaha

if you post something make sure you comment on any of my posts and tell me - cuz i wanna see it and upvote!!!! :)

This was awesome! Thank you so much! YOU'RE awesome!

Well I think you're awesome too! Hahahhaa seriously when I get a notification from GINA that I got a comment from you , I'm like ohhhh sweet! Go read it now! Hahahahaha please don't forget to comment.me on ANY of my posts to let me know of your first try with dtube!! Hehehe

Playful, innocent, and fun. Nice to hear about it in PYP. :)

thanks so much!!!! :)

This is genius @dreemsteem! You really make me smile, I’m pretty sure I will not forget this post. Every time I will think about it when my ideas become confused! Thank you! Hugs

Hehehehe yes!!!! I think we can all use this word and give life to it!!!! SCRIBBLY is the perfect word :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75