HAVING HOBBIES = HAPPY RETIREMENT

in #hobbies5 years ago (edited)

All way too many times I have been asked this very question. " What are you going to do with all of your time now that you're retired."
My first response is usually a puzzled look, followed by an awkward period of silence, as I contemplate my answer.

I feel bad for the people asking this question, knowing that their life has been totally consumed by that four-letter word, WORK.
Without getting too excited by the pure joy retirement has brought my way so far, I let them know about some of my hobbies.
Therein lies the key to a HAPPY retirement, having things to do that bring you enjoyment.

There is something about hobbies that I find unique.
Hobbies tend to be carried over from earlier good times.
They need time to develop, and as we become more proficient at them, our interest peaks.

I'm not saying that one can't pick up something brand new in their GOLDEN YEARS, HahA, and run with the ball.
But, if that were par for the course, then why are so many people wondering what are they are going to do when they finally have TIME!

A hobby of mine, nurtured by my Dad, is woodworking.

These are some pieces of wood I milled.
I will be making some signs for a Woodworker's Fair I will attend later on this month.

IMG_4151.JPG

There are 3 different types of wood, Red Cedar, Spalted Maple, and White Pine.
After lettering the signs we use a plunge router to cut out the letters.

IMG_4152.JPG

A plunge router will let you route out the letters freehand, and requires a little practice.

IMG_4154.JPG

Different plunge router bits can be used, and in this case, the router bit will be cutting a V groove into the wood.
The bit will not make contact with the surface of the wood until the handles on the router are pulled down.

IMG_4155.JPG

Transcribing the letters onto the wood takes longer than cutting them out with the router.

IMG_4156.JPG

With the routing complete it is time to paint the letters.

IMG_4158.JPG

The paint I use is a Milk Paint which works great for this job, but a little difficult to find.

IMG_4159.JPG

Painting complete, next step is to do the final sanding, this time with a 180 grit paper.

IMG_4187.JPG

As you can see from this closeup, the paint will absorb into the grain of the wood.

IMG_4188.JPG

That is what I like about the Milk Paint, a little fine sanding and the letters will have a perfect outline.

IMG_4189.JPG

With the first coat of polyurethane on this sign, the colors in the Red Cedar become richer.

IMG_4221.JPG

After about 13 hours of hobbitizing the signs are complete, along with the picture wire installed, and ready to be hung.

IMG_4225.JPG

Like most everything we do, there is some cost.
The mill in this picture was purchased several years ago and is used for business, and in my case now, is used strictly for pleasure.

CAM00128.jpg

Here are just a few of the projects that retirement has offered me the time to do.
Some of the pieces are sold, and others furnish our home.

A Book Matched, Black Cherry coffee table, with a magazine rack below.

IMG_0324 (1).JPG

A Black Walnut slab,

CAM00132.jpg
supplied some beautiful material for a coffee table and a couple of end tables.
P1220461.JPG
P1220463.JPG

A variety of cutting boards being fabricated for market, as well as gifts.
IMG_0335 (2).JPG
IMG_0349 (2).JPG
IMG_0375 (2).JPG

Cherry crouch wood base, with a 3" Red Oak top, coffee table.

P1220779.JPG

Along the journey to being retired, I have been fortunate enough to have found things I'm passionate about.
Having these passions, coupled with TIME, has not left me wondering what I'm going to do when I retire.
We can only work for so long, the question is, will you be one of those people with that query?

IMG_1861 (2).JPG

Hope you enjoyed. thebigsweed

Sort:  

Well said. I view my retirement the same. Someday I hope to attain it. The older I get the more I want to work less for more money and all I seem to be doing these days is working more for less money. I hope I can turn it around altho I find myself working more for less money but more value. If that makes cents ;-).

I totally get what you are saying.
Time and money are so intertwined.
I think of them as being on a balance beam.
When I was younger, money was always an issue and the scale was tipped heavily in that direction.
As the family grew older, money and time started to reach an equilibrium.
Now that I am well into the back 9, time is so much more precious than money.
Time is one of the few things money can't buy, and I find myself spending it more wisely then I ever spent $$.
Thanks for stopping by.

Dude, you’re sofa king beneficial to this platform—once again my friend, this is an incredible post! Two things actually, thank you for showing us your wood working hobby, I’m frikkin amazed, really. The farm, the syrup, the router—amazing. The second one I can’t say here, Sweed, go check your discord—ha!

Your words of encouragement are always a welcome sight @dandays. Sofa King beneficial, that is not the first time you have been so gracious with this compliment, and it always puts a big grin on my mug.
The departure clock is ticking and before you know it you will be soaring towards the next part of this amazing journey you guys are on.
Both you and @puravidaville have a lot of guts traveling to places unknown. Talk about getting out of your comfort zone, and taking chances, good for the both of you.

Your woodcraft work is fantastic! What a great way to spend your retirement along with your awesome farm. I hope and aspire to someday have a similar setup and lifestyle like you and your wife have. :)

Thanks for stopping by. Your words of appreciation for what we do here on the farm are very flattering to say the least. The life style we presently live has been a dream long ago perceived. Only over the past 3 years has all of the planning and preparation come into play. We feel so fortunate to be able to live in this type of manner, and are thankful for it each and everyday.
To be able to have such freedom, and to feel as though we are in sync with Mother Nature fills our spiritual being.
Thanks again and God Bless you and all of your loved ones @paradigm42. It sounds like we may have a lot in common and it will be my pleasure to follow and see what you are up to.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for your support and for taking the time to read this post.
It is always a welcomed sight to see that @c-squared has stopped by.
I have already voted for #c-squared as a witness and am happy that I have done so.

Beautiful project as always.

Those are very cool signs and beautiful handy work
As I am approachign retrement I foresee I will get the same question, but I am sure i will find things to keep me busy, I have some ideas for projects and in fact I have been thinking about this for a few years, getting more into photography over the last few years has been part of my planning ahead for retirement, I plan on many photowalks when I have the time ;)

As with most of the things we do in life, having a plan helps to insure that we are successful at what we do.
Working for a good part of our life consumes so much time and when retired those hours are freed up, and not knowing what to do with all that extra time would drive me nuts. Personally, I need to stay busy. On occasion I will get a little lazy, and after a day of sitting around, not doing much, I get stir crazy. Staying busy works for me.

I know what you mean over winter on weekends i can go stir crazy, so thats why I am planning things to keep my busy when I retire, I am a hyper sort of person and always kept myself so busy with work projects, I am now phasing down my work efforts and transitioning to doing things I like in my free time and that will be good to do when I retire so I am ready for the transition when it comes

Congratulations @thebigsweed! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

It is always a nice surprise when @steemboard stops by. Your recognition is always welcomed.

This is a wonderful blog. There is so many messages it conveying other than the way you had been specialized in a particular trade.

There is no better way than expressing the helplessness of a common man once he faces the most crucial point of his life..

" What are you going to do with all of your time now that you're retired."
My first response is usually a puzzled look, followed by an awkward period of silence, as I contemplate my answer.

I know how my Dad has been struggled to cope up with the life after that. As he was in Police force even after retirement he used to wake up early in the morning and was in a dilemma what to do. Gardening was a scope but with the small area available after few days the only option was to remove the already planed one and started fixing in the other side... Funny times.

Apart from that I loved the way you detailed the way of treating this wood work, like mil painting, hobbitizing etc.

Thanks for this blog

Thanks for stopping by @angelro, I 'm glad you enjoyed the content in this post. For so many people, retirement and the time it affords you is a real issue. I would imagine that for a police officer it may be even tougher. Spending years working so closely with your brothers in uniform, can't be easy to leave behind.
As I have stated in this piece, finding things that you enjoy long before retirement is upon you, gives you something to fall back on.

Have a wonderful day and thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59585.77
ETH 3002.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78