Minimalist Skin Care with Powerful Banana Peels

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I am really passionate about not wasting any resources, especially when it comes to food. Therefore you can guess how thrilled I was to find a new method for even using my fruit waste for something great. And no, as a traveler I am not talking about a compost unit for your backpack: Banana peels as a face mask. Bananas are not only amazing on the inside, I recently discovered how to benefit from their outside as well.  

It might sound way too weird for you to rub banana peels onto your face - But wouldn’t you rather put something onto your skin that is also eatable instead of beauty products that contain long lists of unpronounceable chemicals? And this can be also so much more fun...

The treatment actually reminds me a lot of the joy of kneading a dough, getting my hands a little dirty which feels so natural from time to time.  

Well, here is how you go bananas with your skin care:  

  • Eat organic bananas. (Optional: Put them into a smoothie or make some nice cream with it!) 
  • Rub the peel onto your face for 5-10 minutes, with the inside facing your skin.  
  • Let it sit on your face for 20-30 minutes.  
  • Wash your face with warm water to remove the mask. 

That might sound like quite a long treatment, but trust me this face mask is so soothing I am pretty sure you will enjoy it. While applying the peel mask, I could already feel my skin getting smooth and naturally glowing. And this face mask is not only for a soft skin, but also known to have some other super powers:    

  • Clear acne 
  • Relieve psoriasis and eczema 
  • Stop itching 
  • Treat warts
  • Smooth out wrinkled skin

Banana peel is full of vitamin C and antioxidants, which explains those wonderful effects as natural skin care product. First of all, vitamin C helps our skin cells to regenerate more quickly. Furthermore, the numerous antioxidants prevent the impact of free radicals by neutralizing them and hereby stopping a destructive oxidation process that can eventually result in dysfunction of our skin cells.

The vitamins and antioxidants in the banana peel also reduce inflammation which supports the body in healing conditions like psoriasis or eczema. On top, they increase our blood circulation which speeds up the healing process and also leads to a smoother skin.  

Have I managed to get you excited for your own banana peel treatment? In case you are not yet a banana lover, but still want to try this unusual skin care - check out my tropical smoothie recipe for some inspiration what to do with the fruity flesh beyond the peels.  

(This post is taking part in the amazing Fruits and Veggies Monday Competition from @lenasveganliving.)

---

Have a wonderful day and a fruity journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.

🌟Explore your full potential, with more health and lifestyle posts:

🍓Hungry for some healthy nuggets? Check out my raw vegan posts:

🗺 Time for some more adventures - follow me around the world:    

---

Disclaimer: I am not a registered dietitian, doctor or trained detox expert. My goal is to share my knowledge from conclusive research and personal experiences to inspire you on your own raw adventure. I do not give medical advice and am not liable for any negative consequences you might face by following any information from this post - even if it is too much energy from a newly gained vibrant health and no idea how to deal with it. Always do your individual research when it comes to your precious health, it is absolutely worth the extra effort!

Sort:  

I think this makes lots of sense Dear Anais, since bananas are so nourishing for our bodies from the inside, why not on the outside. Definitely something I have to try. Maybe I get to look ten years younger, lol 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

We never know, I would go crazy about such an effect - please share your experience with me. 😁

Thank you for stepping by. 😉

Runs to the kitchen to eat a banana...

I feel like I remember seeing this suggestion somewhere before, but obviously I put it to the back of my mind because I haven't tried it yet! Thank you for the reminder and all of the wonderful information about why it is so beneficial. My skin always goes a little nuts when the seasons change, so I am definitely going to give this a try today!

Well, then it is the perfect timing for you - you are in the US, right? I bet winter is coming soon. 🙈

Have fun getting your hands dirty! ☺️

interesting @rawadventuress, I 've tried this long long time ago when I was young... seems like banana didn't loves my face LOL.. my acnes start to grow bigger than usual, well.. not everything suited for everyone, the lemon or lime working great on me. Thank you for sharing the other benefit of banana peel.

Wow, that is interesting! It is absolutely true, every skin is different and requires other methods and we should honor our own bodily needs.

Thanks for sharing your own experience with banana peels. ☺️🙏🏻

But.. do you think that any banana peels would do? I mean with hundreds of banana types😊 the one in your picture usually called as "pisang barangan" or "pisang raja" in some part of Indonesia. I agree with you about the full benefit of banana is in the peel😉 why? Peel first than the banana later😊

I am not an expert on this, but I am pretty sure all varieties have such super powers - probably some a little less or more. What I do know is that organic produce is important, not only if you put it into your mouth but also on your skin. 😉

Isn't pisang raja the red banana variety? In Malaysia I was told that this is what they call it. There are so many types, I get easily confused about them. 😄

Isn't pisang raja the red banana variety? In Malaysia I was told that this is what they call it. There are so many types, I get easily confused about them. 😄

Me too... there's so many names for the same banana varietas😂 red banana in my hometown has a red almost magenta peels, barangan has yellow peel but red meat (what do you call for the banana without peels?) But have you seen a banana with many big seeds inside? It's use for making the "Rujak" or fruit salad with peanuts and palm sugar syrup, while its not too ripe or raw, the taste a bit bitter and uses with the peel altogether.

And you'll find a type which frustrating to peel it off😃

Is there a banana variety without any peels? That's so weird, I have never heard about that, how does it protect its flesh? 🙈

I already tried one with big seeds, but it was sweet so maybe we are talking about two different kinds here.

Well, it seems like I like to go for the ones that are hard to get - the frustrating-peel-banana is my favorite. 😁

Haven't tried this yet but i heard its really effective. Am using a rose water for a toner, sometimes a mixture of yoghurt and honey. Thank you for sharing this natural healing.

Great, Sheryl - seems like you are also into making your own products!

I am very passionate about animals, therefore I am staying clear of any milk products. But the consumption is also a leading cause of acne, among other more serious conditions. I bet you would find this short 1 minute video about Acne-Promoting Effects of Milk from Dr. Gregor very interesting - he has so much amazing content about natural health. 😉

In case you try the banana peel mask some day - let me know how you liked it! 💚

Hello to you :)
Thank you for sharing the link. I will definitely have a look.

And yes, i'll try it soon. Am excited to see the results. We never ran out of banana in the house, so this is the best way to utilise it all.

Thank you and be well @rawadventuress

Nice, do you also have some own banana trees in your garden? That is so common in South East Asia. By the way, where are you living in the Philippines? I will travel there next year. ☺️

Hello @rawadventuress. I am not living in the Philippines right now, I am at the UAE :)

Yes, banana tree is everywhere especially if you live in the province, we have different kinds of banana in the philippines. My favourite is the cardava banana, which use for cooking, its heavenly delicious when its boiled, promise :)

Wow, so nice of you to visit Philippines. Which part of the country you will visit to? I live in the province of Pangasinan, 6 hrs from manila by bus.

Nice, that definitely sounds delicious! But I prefer raw fruits nevertheless so that all enzymes remain intact which makes them must more nutritious. ☺️

I certainly don't know yet where we will go in the Philippines. It just seems like there are so many beautiful places. 🙈

Thanks for the information. I am going to do this from now on. I need all the help I can get.

I am so inspired by the powerful effect such natural remedies can have! I hope it will help you in your own healing story. 😉

This is super interesting, first of all, I love the whole process. First you get to eat bananas and then you get to pamper yourself with a face mask! I'll definitely try this next time I'll eat bananas! 🍌🍌

Thank you, Jasmin! I also love the purity of the process - such a great way of using "waste". 😁

Nice, let me know how you liked it, bananas and face mask. 😉

I can tell you already now that the bananas will taste delicious and the face mask will at least smell nice, haha! 😁

Oh yes, you will smell of a colorful fruit bucket afterwards. 😁

Bananas rule and so does this banana face peel mask! Makes much more sense to treat our faces with food than with chemicals 🤷🏼‍♀️ Just sayin… thanks for sharing @rawadventuress

Thank you so much! So true, I am super happy than I got away from all the chemical products some time ago. Right now I am only using water and bananas for my face care. 😁

Nice! I’m still a slave to a good eye cream but that about it. I’m sure things will change when we are amidst our travels :)

I bet so, it makes traveling so much easier if you rely on less of such stuff. You can imagine how happy I was when I realized that I am fine with just water and some soap as care package. 😁

I hate to admit it but I only wash my face with bar soap and water 😬… it’s the eye cream I’m a sucker for however, I imagine all of that will change when we are on the go.

I am for sure excited to hear how the longterm traveling will transform your lifestyle - such a journey impacts so many aspects of our life. ✨

Absolutely. We were just going over details last night, I’m such a planner in that way, and it looks like we’ll be in Bali mid November. All of our travels are happening around the holidays so airfare and airb&bs are a little steep. Hopefully we can find cheaper options after talking with people we meet :)

There are some good Facebook groups to find cheap accommodation in Bali. 😉

Very interesting, thanks for this information.

You are very welcome, I am glad to share some inspiration! ✨

As an eczema and acne sufferer I'm glad to read your post. Next time I eat a banana I shall definitely give the mask a go!

Nice, let me know how it goes!

By the way, I recently stumbled across a great video about healing eczema naturally by Dr. Gregor, with some very encouraging studies - you should check it out. 😉

Thanks very much @rawadventuress - I will check that video out now!

My pleasure! 💚

I do that with apple and cucumber peels, definitely going to try it with a banana! Thank you very much for sharing :)

Nice, that's also a good one. But then you can't eat the fruits afterwards - that's a pity. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44