The Art of UPCYCLING - From Old Stuff to New Treasures

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I am just really bad at wasting stuff - you can see that whenever you go out for dinner with me, there will never be anything left on my plate, even if the dish had some spices in there that I can not stand. In many instances this quirk can be such a gift in terms of using resources efficiently, or sometimes I just might end up with a stomach pain from overeating. But let’s look at the bright side… 

Which is waste for some people can be stylish new furniture for the resourceful, clever artists out there.  

When I was still living in an ordinary apartment together with my partner Johann and were not yet traveling the world with all our belongings fitting in a carry-on backpack, I loved to create some new treasures out of old stuff. This is nowadays often labeled as upcycling, which sounds way cooler than „making stuff out of waste“. 

It is was not only a creative hobby of mine, it also allowed me to save some money since the material I used was mostly second-hand and therefore super cheap. Making some useful furniture out of it, I didn’t have to buy any expensive items to turn my apartment into a comfy home. One of the most rewarding reasons was that these pieces gave my place some real character, it was like spreading my vibes throughout the apartment and fill it with passion. 

To inspire you to get your own creative juices flowing, here are some of my own projects and I can tell you each one of them was just so much fun to make! 

The classic - Wooden pallet turned into living-room desk 

This was my first project and also the most complex one, so I was pretty lucky to realize this project side-on-side with Johann. This desk showed me how amazing it can be to create something beautiful with your own hands and out of very basic material. Where we didn’t want to save money was on the wood varnish - we made sure the substances in there are not harmful to our body in any way and environmentally-friendly. 

I used this varnish again and again for many of my projects just because I loved the dark color and the fact that it still let the wood grain shine through to maintain its natural beauty.  

 

Within the flow - Wall art made of strings 

I started this wall art to get some decoration for my hallway, but it turned out that the process itself was much more rewarding than the result. Could you imagine just how meditative it can be to create string art? It begins right with putting in the nails and especially working with the strings is just surprisingly soothing for your mind. I guess it has to do with the simplicity of this work, you don’t really have to think about your next step that much, just following the line of nails. 

It really threw me into that state of flow so that I completely let go of my surrounding and totally lost track of time, place or people around me. Apart from that project, using my hands to create art was always something that threw me in a state of bliss. 

For inspiring dreams - Bedside tables out of an old chair 

I got many of my ideas from browsing inspiring projects online, but this one was actually initiated by my sister. She used such a construct for her bedroom as well, but not so much as bedside desks but rather as a clothes rack. For finding the perfect chair I went onto a treasure hunt through my local second-hand stores with my other sister and finally found the one. 

The seating surface was old and smelly, therefore had to be replaced. So I used some leftover wood pieces from my father, who also helped me to cut it into the perfect form - it required fine skills I yet have to develop. So this project was quite a family effort and I also like it when items have a little story behind them! 

Far away from winter - Sidetable out of a sledge 

This was one of my simplest projects with yet the most beautiful outcome in my opinion. I bought the sledge second-hand to the big surprise of the vendor, since it was quite a hot day in the middle of summer. The wood was so beautiful, that I didn’t treat it in any way, so I just had to cut, treat and attach two wooden boards which also were leftover pieces from my father’s little hobby workshop.  

Adapting to new hobbies - Skateboards turning into sideboards 

I stumbled across an old skateboard in my parents basement the other day and after a short try knew that it wasn’t good for driving anymore - or rather I was not able to use it gracefully, it seemed so much easier as a child. But what I could do was making something unique out of it. On the flea market I luckily got another one for 1$ and I still needed some nice space to store my beloved books anyway, since they had a very unworthy spot on the living room floor. 

For making the sideboards I just unscrew the rolls, sanded down the surface, put some varnish on the wood and attached the mounting. Of course, I didn’t throw the leftover skateboard rolls away, but used it to make a coat rack out of it. 

The magic of creating something with your hands

At that time I was still in a 9-5 office job and working with my hands on creative projects like these on the weekends was such a beautiful balance to always sitting in front of the computer most of the day. I loved the simplicity of grinding wood or applying varnish and the smell of wood was always such a comforting sensation that brought me back to my deep connection with nature.  

Although it was only a short pleasure with my self-made furniture, since I soon embarked onto my new life as location-independent traveler, the creative process of making these pieces was totally worth it. Apart from that, I got to sell most of my upcycling treasures to other lovers of unique furniture and I gave some other items to my family and friends as farewell gifts.  

I encourage you to think about unique ways of creating your living space instead of buying some mass-produced item next time you need some new furniture or decoration. Flea markets or second-hand stores can be a great source of inspiration for that and if you need some more guidance in the beginning you can still browse some websites for amazing and easy upcycling ideas. 

---

Have a wonderful day and a creative journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.

🌟Explore your full potential, with my health and lifestyle posts:

🍓Hungry for some healthy nuggets? Check out my raw vegan posts:

🗺 Time for some more adventures - follow me around the world:    

Sort:  

WOW! I absolutely love Up cycling. It’s so cool and the furniture in your house is amazing. There is more than enough waste these days so it’s so nice to see people like you doing what they can to avoid waste.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much, Lin! It is such a cool way of creating something and once you start with one project, you begin to look for more valuable waste everywhere you go to make more stuff out of it. 😁

Hi, @rawaventuress as you may know you were featured in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @celinavisaez.

I love what you did. Your art definitely reminds me to get out of my head. Such wonderful ideas and a great post.

Thank you for your nice comment!

I hope it inspires others to get creative and realize their own upcycling projects. ✨

I think it will. A lot of us just get too stuck inside ourselves or our lives to open up and let creativity flow. I have a few projects on Steemit that I am working on and running behind. I think I just need to take some time just to paint a little bit, it will help out immensely.

I love the shelves made from a sledge. That's one I could definitely put into my house and enjoy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, Niall - that is also my favorite! And it is so easy to make, you just have to find the perfect sledge 😉

Unfortunately we don't have any sledges here since we don't have snow in this country but I can appreciate it any way.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, that's a pitty, but I am sure you have so many other stuff you can get creative with! 😉

That I can. I'm in the middle of home renovation at the moment so all the focus is on fixing and painting for now. But after that we can look at the little bits and try to add some unique features to the place.

Posted using Partiko Android

Perfect timing then, I hope the renovations get by quickly so that you, too, can get creative with the details. 😉

Almost there. The place is livable now and all the heavy work is out of the way so we are down to the small stuff. Like you said, it's perfect timing to start adding in a few nice bits and pieces.

Let me know what you will come up with - excited to see some unique upcycling furniture soon. 😉


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you, guys! 😊

Great ideas! You are very creative! My husband loves upcycling too!

Thank you, it is such so much fun, right? What kind of treasures did your husband create so far? I am always excited for new inspiration - although my upcycling came to an hold since I am traveling, not much space in my backpack for any creative stuff... 😜

So far he created some lamps and bookshelves.. but he is more less in the process of collecting everything I call TRASH, lol!

He has so many ideas and I hope that he'll use all pieces of his collection one day :)

Well, yes, it's a little bit difficult with traveling :) Where are you now?

Well, I would also called it trash when it stays useless and has not been turned into something beautiful - I am a minimalist through and through. ☺️ I bet they will become something amazing one day. ✨

My partner Johann and myself are in Bali right now, our second time this year since it is such a cool place. 💚

It's just temporary trash - let's call it like this. He is very busy at work at the moment and can't make all his great ideas work :) I'm sure one day it will become something fantastic!

Oh, lucky girl! Such a great destination! Are you planning to share some photos with us?

Big ideas surely need enough space to create them! ✨

I will definitely make some Bali posts here, but it might not be a lot of travel stuff, since I am here for some personal projects as well as working a lot on my health and nutrition posts.

But last time I was here, we explored some more places and I shared some stories here on Steemit, you are welcome to check them out! ☺️

Roadtrip Towards the Sun - Nyang Nyang Beach, Bali
Hidden Treasure in the South of Bali - Melasti Beach
Roadtrip Through Bali - Between Beaches and Rice Fields
Hiking Under the Stars - Volcano Sunrise Trek in Bali

Thank you for sharing the links! I will check them all!

How long are you staying there? I know that many people go to Bali for yoga retreats and medication. Seems like a great place to relax :)

We are staying for 2 months, but just today I realized that only 5 more weeks to go until we already have to leave again. 🙈

Yes, Bali is a Mekka for such practices and also a great place to dive into some amazing raw food - one reason why we love it here so much. 💚

Relaxation is not on our schedule though - many things we want to check out here and definitely moving forward with some online projects. ✨

I love all of this. We call it “re-purposing” stuff. Haha. I think your string art turned out way better than I could do. I can totally see how meditative it would be too. Those moments when we are able to transcend this dimension are sacred moments indeed. And those skateboards are pure genius! Great job @rawadventuress!

Thank you so much, I always appreciate your comments in a big way 😊 I bet you underestimate your creative skills, string art is just super easy as soon as you get the hang of it 😉

So true, I still remember those moments as pure bliss - I kind of miss my upcycling, pretty complicated to create furniture on the go, but I could still adapt to smaller items while on the road. 🤔 You got me thinking there...

Things that you make you can leave behind as you go. Like leaving a small piece of your energy for the next person to enjoy… hmmmm… thinking too :)

That is such a nice thought, I would love that! But I nevertheless have to think small here, since I don't have any space to create or appropriate tools. 😁

I look forward to what you come up with :)

Yes! This is wonderful! My partner has the same spirit as you, I am unfortunately to lazy for stuff like that, lol, but he is exactly this creative! He has also used old skateboards the same way as you;)
You are so talented, girl!!!
xxxx

Thank you so much, well you are totally living out your creativity with your food instead, right? Your recipe often look like pure art, almost too beautiful to eat 😁 Skateboards are so versatile when it comes to upcycling - give me 10 of them and some tools and I would be occupied for a few months 😜

Oh yes, that's true, I guess we can be good at everything;)
I am happy you are finding so much joy in your creativity!!
xxx

Thank you! That is true, with some dedication and passion we can learn everything we want. ✨

Hi rawadventuress,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Amazing, thank you for the support!

Great post, @rawadventuress! You are very creative, all those furniture pieces look great and with a lot of purpose! Amazing skills!

PS: I've found your post because @celinavisaez suggested it in his entry for The Pay It Forward Contest

I was never big on decorations in my apartmwnt so that I truly valued pieces that are functional - up cycled furniture combines art and purpose in such an amazing way, even gives old stuff a new life!
Thank you so much, it is exciting and so rewarding to see how much attention my upcycling projects get here! 😊

I really love the string art! Looks so awesome! 😀

Thank you, it was the project that gave me the most joy! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95