Tropical Fruit Hunting in Kuala Lumpur - Chow Kit Market

in #food6 years ago

Fruit paradise, right next to the big city vibes

Colorful fruits and veggies wherever you look, Chow Kit Market in Kuala Lumpur is a paradise for fruit lovers like myself - but you have to make your way along the meat and fish stalls first. This can become quite a challenge with the very intense smells of dead animals, raw meat and any animal parts that don’t make their way over the vendors‘ counter. Your bravery will be rewarded though, at the other end of the market there are stalls loaded with fresh and colorful fruits, waiting to be tasted. As a short advice, you might want to circle around the market and walk directly into the fruit and veggie corner - I certainly couldn't manage to make my way straight through the meat and fish area.

Can bananas actually taste like cake? 

The kind banana vendor greeted me with the words „Want to eat my bananas?“ and received a big „YES, please!“ as my response. I have not tried all their varieties yet, but the baby bananas are so far my favorite. They are very tiny, have about the length of a finger and hide a deep yellow flesh below the skin. For me, they strangely taste a lot like tangerine butter cake, but I do have a wild imagination when it comes to my taste buds. They are definitely very sweet and can easily compete with a any piece of sugary cake. 

How cempedak threw me right back into my childhood 

And of course, as curious adventuress, I also love to try some new tropical treasures whenever I get the chance. This time we bought a cempedak, a smaller relative of the huge jackfruit which sometimes grows up to a length of 1 meter. We had not yet tried a good jackfruit nor a cempedak before, but the smell from the outside already got us super excited, since it was so similar to durian. The taste was totally different though, much like those pink, very sweet gums that we used to make huge bubbles with in our childhood. Well, I never liked that taste very much in my earlier years and seems like that has not changed much. So I have to admit, cempedak has not stolen my foodie heart yet. But I was told that the related jackfruit should be quite different in taste and that it definitely deserves a try.  

Rambutan - Love at first bite 

What really became my new favorite fruit on earth - which tends to change with every country I travel to - is the rambutan. It has its origin in Malaysia and that is where the name comes from, since ‚Rambut‘ is Malay and translates to hair, due to its weird hairy look. Behind its arguable style, the rambutan reveals a white, soft flesh, similar to the lychee fruit. The taste is very sweet and still refreshing due to its very high water content. Apart from the awesome taste, I learned about the many vitamins and minerals that it contains which aid in weight loss, improve your skin and hair, optimize digestion, support your bones, boost your energy metabolism and help in healing different health conditions. How can you not love this wonderful fruit, right? 

Local markets - Between culture, plastics and shipping containers 

I love to buy my groceries on local markets, this is definitely the best place to dive into the distinctive culture of a country and test your few phrases of Malay on the locals, which are often quite amused by my efforts and welcome it with a few extra lemons in my grocery bags.  

Apart from that, the fruits and veggies are mostly not pre-packaged into a plastic wrap like it is the case in many supermarkets. I really think a zucchini is quite well protected and does not need an extra layer of toxic material to arrive safely in my kitchen. Therefore I always bring along my reusable cloth bags, so that no plastic bag is wasted for my fruits and veggies - so simple and yet so effective.  

Although I expected this local fruit market to sell predominantly Malay produce, since this country offers some great fruit varieties, so many fruits at Chow Kit are imported from Thailand or other nearby countries. We really had to search for vendors that sell local fruits from Malaysia and they were pretty hard to find. But once we picked our favorite stalls and bought there regularly, the vendors were so kind to always give us the best produce and even put a little extra fruit into our bag - that made us feel so welcomed there! 

I always encourage you to dive into local markets, no matter if your are traveling or back at home. Not only do you tend to get better produce, you also learn a lot about the fruits, since the vendors often love to share their knowledge about their beloved fruits and veggies. Did that ever happen to you at a regular supermarket? At the same time you support the local people and might even make some great connections that can brighten up your day!

---

Have a wonderful day and a fruitful journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.  

🍓Hungry for more healthy nuggets? Check out my other raw vegan posts:

🗺 Time for some adventures - follow me around the world:    

🌟Let me inspire you to explore your full potential, with these lifestyle stories:  


---

( This post is taking part in Steemit 'Fruits and Veggies Monday Competition' from @lenasveganliving .) 

Sort:  

Your description of this market reminds me of Chinatown in Toronto, lol. It's really challenging for us vegans to cope with the smell and site of dead animals. Even reading about it gives me the chills. Nevertheless, I always love reading your stories and learning new things. All these fruits look amazing and I bet they taste beyond delicious 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

A lot of big cities tend to have one of those, right? So cool!

The smell almost made me turn around at the first sniff when we came there, but the hunger for fresh fruits was stronger 😄

Thank you so much - I love to dive into tropical fruit adventures 🍍🍉🍊🥝🍌🍇

My pleasure Sweetie, you are truly adventuress 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

CONGRATULATIONS!!! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

That is great, thank you so much for organizing this contest!

It's so much fun, every week that I get to participate :)

Congratulations Sweetie, I am as happy as you are 💖😊💖

what an amazing photos.....Thanks for sharing!!

Thank you! Colorful fruits always attract my raw foodie eyes 💚

Hi @rawadventuress, I starting a follow you now. That's pretty delicious fruits in local market. Someone can use for juice. Someone can use for salad. However fruits gives up extra energy. Sri Lanka also have best and nutritious fruits like as you uploaded pictures. Kuala Lumpur has big market for fruits I've seen before.
Do you like most Rambutan? Name sound so cool to hear.Also It need to suck for get taste. Nice you decided to sharing my friend.

Thank you! 🙏🏻 Absolutely, so many great dishes can be created with fresh fruits and veggies 🤗 Seems like I have to put Sri Lanka on my travel list - should be a beautiful place, already heard a lot about it. Rambutan are awesome! You have to try it as soon as you get the chance 😉

If you come to Sri Lanka I mostly welcome you here. Yep you can see lot of awesome places.

That is very kind of you, thanks a lot! ☺️

Oh is this heaven? Love the fruits here, wish I could taste them all!

I feel like a kid in Candyland on such markets 😁

Well your post reminds me of the fruit market here, we have plenty of fresh fruits that can enjoy all day!

Where do you live? Luckily, most of the tropical countries I traveled to here in SEA have such an abundance of tasty fruits 🤗 Perfect place for a raw vegan like myself 💚

I live in Vietnam, and we do enjoy fruit a lot! 🍉

Vietnam - very exciting! I will keep that in mind for my next travel adventure 😉

Sure, if you need any recommendation or help out there, let me know :)

Thank you, I will 😉

That is amazing!!............

Thank you! 🙏🏻☺️

I love how you described all of that! It was such a lovely reading! I've only had the basic store-bought bananas before. I really hope I'll one day get a chance to try those baby bananas!

Thank you, Nina ☺️ Traveling in SEA made me quickly realize how many banana varieties there really are, each of them different in taste, texture, look 🤗 Very exciting!

What I wouldn't give to load up with those fresh items. Wow looks like heaven to go to this kind of market. Here in Canada everything tropical is a fortune and picked way too soon.
Enjoy and have a great day!

I feel you, when I was living back in Germany we did have some great fruits I the summer time, but the tropical imported goods were never that good, that was just a waste of hard earned money 🙈 Thank you, you too! ☺️

Looks so delicious! I'd love to travel to somewhere where you can get fresh fruit from the market every day, the taste is so different compared to imported fruits found in grocery stores. To be honest, I'm a bit jealous of you being able to indulge in all those fresh fruits! 😋

Thank you, Jasmin :)

I just checked, Finland is it right? I can imagine that the temperatures there are beyond ideal for an abundance of fruit, so sorry that you have to deal with all the imported stuff...

I was in a similar situation back in Germany where I lived before my traveling and looking back, the produce imported from the Southern countries of Europe wasn't that bad at all. Well, I never got my hands on rambutans or jackfruit and the papaya was really not good at all, but the peaches, berries, grapes and others were just as juicy and flavorful!

Maybe you should plan your next travel adventure soon ;) Hang in there!

Yes, I live in Finland. I agree with you about imported peaches and grapes being usually really tasty! I feel like the "problem" is more that we have nothing special here, there are apples, oranges, pears, peaches etc. but I've never had the chance to taste fruits like jackfruit, and some more exotic fruits, e.g. mango, are typically very expensive.

However, I don't want to complain for nothing, I love living in Finland, and I'm really fortunate to be able to travel. At least now I highly appreciate all the fresh juicy fruits abroad, since they're not self-evidence here! :)

Yeah, I totally get you - good old apples and oranges can tend to get boring sometimes. Just makes traveling so much more exciting, right? 🗺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72