OH HUMBLE OAT, I LOVE THEE. Rediscovering the awesome health powers of oats!

in #health7 years ago

With the humble, oft-ignored oat
there is so much good stuff to tell you about.
So let's get right into it.

thumb-oat.jpg

Why we all should be eating our oats every day

  • Oats are filling. Or as "they" say, it has a high satiety factor. Satiety is that lovely "I feel full" feeling where you're no longer hungry. It's about feeling satisfied after you've eaten.

  • Oats are high-energy food.

  • Your oat is a nutrient-rich little fellow.

  • He's also low-fat / low-calorie. Hello, you lovely little oat!

  • Oats have a high content of soluble fiber (and that's good for you).

  • Oats do not spike your blood sugar or leave you open for a crash afterwards.

  • They are easy to prepare and easy to serve. They go well with fruits, nuts, seeds, and honey and as a mainstay of a good hearty breakfast.

  • Oats are 100% whole grain so with your serve of oats, you're getting the germ, the endosperm (the food store inside the seed), and the nutrient-rich bran... the lot!

  • Oats are an excellent source of minerals like: calcium, zinc, iron, manganese.

  • And also a great source of vitamins like: thiamine, B vitamins including folic acid, and vitamin E.

  • Oats lower your LDL (bad) cholesterol.

  • They're good for blood pressure and heart health, as explained in considerable detail by GreenMedInfo.com in the article which inspired this post.

  • Diabetics especially can benefit from oats.

  • Celiacs will be pleased to learn that oats are gluten-free. What's more, eating oats helps celiac patients (I don't like that word here) people absorb nutrients better.

  • Oats, so the research has found, can also repair leaky gut caused by alcohol.

What can the humble oat not do??

Best of all, you'll get the above benefits from ANY variety of oats...
Instant oats
Old-fashioned oats
Pin oats
Rolled oats
Steel cut
With or without the husk, in which case they're called groats.

"Ladies and gentlemen," said the Master of Ceremonies,

"Will you each raise your glass and join me in toasting the Humble Oat.
And the gathered guests responded as one, in a clear loud voice, "To the Humble Oat!"
Then a voice from the crowd broke through. "Long live the Humble Oat!"
The crowd echoed his call and broke into sustained applause.

Long live the Humble Oat indeed, doing good wherever it goes!

Gary's health posts

Health disclosure: I'm not a medical expert which is why I provide links to source material. My goal is to share information that can enhance the health of our readers (that's you -- and your loved ones).

Gary's Steemit posts

Gary's other posts


Photo credits: Stencil

Sort:  

To the humble oat! Cheers. I love oats. I have boxes and boxes of oats in the cupboard and I am going to make a plan to eat oats daily. I need the manganese.

My source article mentioned manganese, Joanne, but I didn't take that line of inquiry any further. Now I'm wondering ... why do we need manganese? You probably know.

Gary

I love having oats for breakfast. But I didn't know that oats with the hulls were groats. Guess I should have figured that out, but I never really wondered. Not what would I use groats for???

Almost every day, Pam and I eat a homemade mix of oats, ground almond meal, a few cranberries, some crushed nuts, some seeds. Filling and very pleasant with milk in my case and rice milk or almond milk in Pam's case.

Viva the oat!

Gary

Oatmeal cookies I made from scratch today with Old Fashioned Rolled Oats.

done.jpg

Awesome, Joanne. Upvoted indeed.
Gary

Long live the oat, Gary!

I was eating oats every morning for breakfast most of last year. Have to get back to it.

It's also great because it's a resistant starch which means it feeds the good flora in our large intestines. That's beneficial for detoxing and general gut health, amongst other critical health factors.

Thanks, Gary!

I love it when a reply also includes a bit of teaching, expanding our understanding.
Thanks for doing that, Angela. Upvoted!
Why is it called "resistant"? Any idea?
Gary

Thank you, Gary!

Yes. It's called 'resistant' because it isn't normally broken down and absorbed fully in the smaller intestines. So it passes through fairly untouched and is therefore available to feed the good flora.

The key is that being 'resistant' often depends on interesting factors in some cases. For example green bananas are resistant but ripe bananas are not.

It's amazing. I've been in the healing and health niche for almost three decades but only paid closer attention to resistant starches last year. Again, they are AMAZING. ;)

My favorite resistant starch is green bananas. I planned to do a series on resistant starches when I get more into my health-related topics. Until then, maybe you'd enjoy doing one on green bananas, Gary? ;)

Maybe.
But I'm also looking forward to yours, Angela.
TY for your informative explanation!
Gary

I wish I liked oats more. They are not my favorite grain but do like them in cookies. Nice job, Joanne!

Try adding some fruit, dried fruit, yoghurt, seeds, nuts. That might do the trick.
Or just eat them anyway because they're good for you?
Gary

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49