100 Days Challenge | Day 70

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I set myself a challenge to take 100 days off where I will mainly put my focus on my Health and Personal Development. I will be making these posts every 10 days to track my progression and give an update.

Day 61-70

After a rather Sloppy day 51-60 I got more active again during the past 10 days mostly doing a morning run each day.


Healthy Food: I am at the point where vegan junk food tastes as good as regular fast food, so when I do feel like needing some short term satisfaction from food I easily go for the more healthy options that are available. I did eat a beetroot quinoa veggie burger with a regular bun which tasted amazing and some (read a 500ml bucket at once) coconut vanilla vegan ice cream which contained 17g sugar and 147 calories each 100ml. It tasted insanely sweet since I'm no longer used to food that contain refined sugars. I used to do this in the past with similar portions of Ben & Jerry's which always game me a big stomach ache and really bad sleep. I had none of those side effects with the vegan alternative which tastes even better than the Ben & Jerry's. I don't plan on eating this often though, but I do plan to experiment making my own 100% home made healthy whole food Plant Based Burger during the next 10 days.

Working Out: I used to hate running, but getting in overall better shape makes a huge difference. My goal is not to become a long distance runner but to have a cheap time efficient way to get health benefits by doing more consistent shorter 2km-5km runs. The next 10 days I will gamify my work-out routine a bit by trying to set some new personal records when it comes down to run distance or daily reps.


Day 61
Day 62
Day 63
Day 64
Day 65
Day 66
Day 67
Day 68
Day 69

Day 70


Social Life:Again not much happening when it came down to my social life aside from seeing my family and the friends I already have. With 30 days left and the Belgian Football Season having come to an end I'm running out of excuses and will have to make work of this very soon. Posting updates on Steemit at least helps to remind me of it each and every day which makes it much harder to just ignore it.


Previous 100 Day Challenge Posts

100 Days Off Challenge !
100 Days Challenge | Day 10
100 Days Challenge | Day 20
100 Days Challenge | Day 30
100 Days Challenge | Day 40
100 Days Challenge | Day 50
100 Days Challenge | Day 60


Today is Day 72 and I will bring the next update in 8-10 days...

Sort:  

The question is... do you feel better? I once gave up the booze for three months and felt no discernible difference! Keep up the good work :-)

I actually do feel the best I've ever been and definately a lot better compared to the day I started, but I also notice that I start taking it all for granted.

To me I just go mainly based on science and the combination of eating healthy (plant based) and working out really does miracles. It took me many years to get to the point where I don't feel like I'm giving anything up though.

Challenging one's self is one of the hardest thing to do. I'm really impressed that you have the determination to do such ardous task. But then again, you are obviously enjoying the challenge since you persist this long. Good luck with your 100 days. I hope you reach your goal.

Thanks riovanes, I'm in a privileged situation I can actually do this and it are all things that improve how I feel day to day so it's not that hard.

Social life is fine and dandy, but there's another school of thought regarding the question at hand:

another_perspective.png

On a serious note, if you get bored with running replace it with the roadwork that boxers are doing. Mix in some sprints, drop down do some pushups, throw some punches,...

Good idea btb, Thanks
I really like routines, but in short bursts. Mixing it up and changing things is something I really need to not get a bit bored at times.

You are on the right track @costanza.
You know what went wrong and try to fix it, which is just great. I lost 2 kilos over the past week, just by eating less extras.
Still need to improve/start some workout routine. Small steps each time!

Keep it going!
Cheers,
Peter

Nice, 2kg in a week is some serious progression!
I'm at 62.8kg (1.72m) right now and started I believe around 68kg (used to be 82kg a long way back)

Nice job! Just sustain the 100 days. 👍 up for me for that.

Thanks avizor,
The idea for these 100 days is to make strong habits and continue many of the things I do afterwards.

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I used to do this in the past with similar portions of Ben & Jerry's wich always game me a big stomach ache and really bad sleep.
It should be which instead of wich.

Did you get a downvote again? Last time I looked your rep is at 15. I guess people hated your username.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64540.89
ETH 3166.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58