100 Days Challenge | Day 60

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I set myself a challenge to take 100 days off where I will mainly put my focus on my Health and Personal Development. I will be making these posts every 10 days to track my progression and give an update.

Day 51-60

There seems to be forming a pattern of 10 good days followed by 10 sloppy days which was the case near the 60 day mark. I pushed myself a bit too much on day 52 with an extended morning run followed by some reps, a long walk into the city and a late night 2.5 hour 1 on 1 tennis session. This was followed by an unproductive where my body needed a break. This slowly got me into an unproductive spiral where I worked out less, went for some vegan junk food and spend a lot of time behind my computer betting sport and being active on Steemit. The major lesson will be to avoid this pattern to go the wrong way again between dat 71 and 80.


Healthy Food: Even though I did not fully follow the plant-based whole food diet during the past 10 days, it was impossible to fully switch to the other extreme and start eating animal based or sugar packed products again. At one point I really wanted to go pick up some french fries but the knowledge it was fried in animal fat kept me from doing so. I mostly continued my healthy eating style but could not resist some of that vegan junk food (potato chips, coconut-banana ice-chocolate vegan ice cream and a vegan hamburger with normal bread buns). To my surprise the potato chips and ice cream did not really taste that good. The vegan hamburger bun on the other hand I really really enjoyed which makes me want to find a fully plant-based healthy home made alternative to it.

One of the things I eat for breakfast 4 to 5 times a week is a powerhouse of a smoothie that contains a huge amount of antioxidantes and tastes amazing. I got the idea from Nutritionfacts.org on Youtube which I learned a lot from when it comes down to healthy food

Ingredients:
Mango, Blueberries, Raspberries, Pineapple core, Spinach (All Frozen) | Ripe Banana | Oat Milk | Flax Seeds | Ceylon Cinnamon | Amla Powder | Berry Powder | Cloves Powder | Ginger Powder




This my own version on the Smoothie from Nutritionfacts.org
(I can highly recommend watching this 2 minute video)

Working Out: I started out this 10 day period a bit too hard when it came down to working out an paid the price for it and was forced to take it slow the days after. Going back to normal long walks always works and that's what I did with a 2 hour 9.11KM walk that included some serious elevation. The main downside is that this takes a lot of time. I did take some pictures to share along the way...




I picked up a minor injury on my hip during an afternoon run on the day I went to see my family on day 56. Probably due to picking up the pace a bit along with the hard road I ran on. The days after my activity completely dropped.


Social Life: There was not much happening on this regard, I did meet up with a friend and some people I never seen before to do an Escape Room here in the City I live. I've never done an Escape Room before and it was an interesting one time experience for me. The cost price was way too high for what it actually was though (22.5€+ each person for 1 hour to get out of a room). We were stuck quite early because we were looking way too far for things that were actually very simple (too simple) which made us lose a lot of time.

Steemit: Steemit continues to have a very dominant role in my life during these 100 days. The Steemit Betting community is really developing and growing at a high pace but can take up a lot of time to make steps forward. Most of the articles I have written that can be used on the future as a way to guide new members in the future and spread some awareness right now really take a long time to make. I'm sure over time it will all be worth it though.


Previous 100 Day Challenge Posts

100 Days Off Challenge !
100 Days Challenge | Day 10
100 Days Challenge | Day 20
100 Days Challenge | Day 30
100 Days Challenge | Day 40
100 Days Challenge | Day 50


Today is Day 63 and I will bring the next update in 7-9 days...

Sort:  

You still keep hanging in there, which is the most important thing.
We all have set backs and small injuries, but you wont let it stop you which is just great.
I have started with a small diet a week ago. Trying to get my body into shape for the swimsuit edition :) Euhm holiday I mean.
I did loose 1 kilo during the past week, and I am just trying to burn more calories than I do absorb.
Still need to increase (start again) with the reps, because my main goal is to decrease to width of the belly. To bad, all the bears don't help with this. Nor the good weather and all the friends passing by!
Still 39 days left. So I should be easily decreasing my middle with hopefully 2 cm.
Keep it up!

Maybe you didn't get to know real life persons, but the old crew is getting to know each other much better, which also counts :)

Good luck on your own weight loss journey, burning more calories that taking in is what ultimately works. I've seen that spicy food increases the calorie burn rate, this video instantly came to my mind.

If the SBC grows enough our group maybe could meet up at one of the future steemfests.

Wouldn’t that be great!
Small steps at a time. It is just like building up the fitness program 😁

Sorry to hear you pushed yourself to much early on. One thing I'd recommend but its personal preference is putting a few pieces of ice into your smoothie..not sure why just makes them taste even better then before. Also freezing down the bananas makes a difference as well!

Thanks for the tips kryptocek ! I might try it out. it seems like a good way to make a ice cream version of the smoothie.

Lol looks like those 'escape rooms' are really expensive everywhere. I always wonder how those teenagers are able to afford it and go for it multiple times.

yes the crazy thing to me is that there is a neglectable price difference depending on the amount of people. 1 hour for them costs the same regardless how many people go in yet 2 costs 55€ / hour and 4 costs 90€ / hour.

If it was 10-12€ for each person I would be happy to do more of them. Current prices are just insane. I also cant' grasp how people can pay that to do multiple of those rooms. it is an interesting concept though.

awesome challenge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72