100 Days Challenge | Day 10

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I set myself a challange to take 100 days off some time ago and will be making an update post every time 10 days have passed...


The idea to fully take time off from Betting and Crypto and put all my focuss on my health and socal life was a bit too ambitous to all do at once. I found out I really love my 'job' and have changed my challenge into getting a much more healthy balance. This means that betting no longer has absolute priority and that I will keep it going in the background while my main focus will be on other things.

The First 10 Days

The first 10 days were all about getting into the flow of eating healthy, doing my morning work out and make more time for friends and family. I have done all these things as planned and already feel a lot sharper because of it.

Healthy Food: I wrote an article about the Whole Food Plant-Based Diet approach I am taking and only felt the need to 'cheat' once eating some sweet patato and red beet chips from the store. Aside from that it was quite easy to stick to what many call an extreme diet because it does not contain any animal or pre packed products. Fruits / Vegetables / Nuts and Seeds is pretty much all I eat. I'm quite organised when it comes down to my food and switch around between 7 or so recepies which all taste great and give a satisfied feeling. I might share a couple of them on Steemit and see if there is a positive reation.


Working out: Every morning after I wake up I plan on doing a morning work out lifting some weights for 100 days. So far this has gone quite smooth. While I had some muscle pain the first couple days, I now feel I should increase the intensity if I want to break down and build up the few muscles I have. I also bought a power tower to do pull ups and leg raises as part ofmy routine which consists of 60->160 sec Planking (each day 1 sec extra) | Push-Ups | Sit-Ups | 3kg and 5kg dumbell weight lifts in various | Rope Skipping .
Please feel free to give some tips in the comments if your are into building some muscles and have some advice.

Social Life: Sports Betting did have an absolute priority during the weekends the past 10+ years . This changed the first 10 days and I actually went to visit some friends who I has not seen for over half a year. I haven't quite gotten around meeting new people which is something thats on my list for the next 10 days.


Steemit: Being less occupied with betting and crypto in general while not indulging in activities as gaming gave me a lot of free time. I intended to post more health related posts on Steemit but I keep having an issue with having a blog for 2 completely unrelated topics. So I will keep this one for anything sports betting, crypto and Steemit related while maybe over time make some solid Health and Psychology retlated content on a separate blog. (I'm tempted to buy some extra STEEM at current low prices)


Previous 100 Day Challenge Posts

100 Days Off Challenge !


Today is Day 12 and I will bring the next update in 8 days...
Sort:  

A tip on working out: Don't overdo it!

As you are just starting out, you'll gain strength and stamina rather quickly. By the end of the second week you'll feel like a superman :-) That is, you'll get in much better shape physically than you used to be and you'll be tempted to push it even harder. Don't!

A mistake I've made countless time is to push it harder and harder until I've got injured and had to stop completely. Think of it as a marathon race, not a sprint. You want it to be a part of your daily routine and not something to be done with after this 100 days.

Slowly increase the intensity of your workouts and take the rest seriously. An injury is something that will mess up your plans completely.

Good advice. staying injury free is key, I noticed my leg being stretched a bit the first couple days and did not push it at the time but put it a bit to rest.

The idea is indeed to brute force a standard healthy lifestyle into my subcounciousness so it fully becomes automatic after the 100 days. I did the eating for 30 days a couple years back which really changed a lot but did not fully fix everything. Next up will probably a year long 365 challenge if these 100 days are not enough to fully do the trick.

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

So I will keep this one for anything sports betting, crypto and Steemit related while maybe over time make some solid Health and Psychology retlated content on a seperate blog.
It should be separate instead of seperate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64540.89
ETH 3166.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58