Pink and Clear Petroglyph Inspired Glass Spoon Pipe and Pendant Set

in #glass6 years ago

We finally decided to just run the kiln like we used to, without a digital controller and thermometer out of necessity. A few days ago I broke our glass tube we use to make dabs and today was the day to get on the torch and replace what I broke. I also made this set, inspired by the carvings found in this post.

I practiced first on this pendant and decided it was just barely legible enough to try on the pipe. Neither quite looks like the original but it's a start.

The cloudy blue and purple you see is from silver fuming and the pink hues are from my translucent pink glass. My favourite thing to do with it is to layer it over fumed glass to tint the effect.

The design is a little malformed but that's partially because I forgot to compensate for the fact that the pipe is hollow and the pendant was not. Had I thought of that it'd likely look better but it's something to remember for next time.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Acapulco's Best Kept Secret: Palma Sola Archeological Site 4
Back on the Torch! Cobalt Blue Glass Pipe Photo Shoot
Refire and Revisit: Color Changing Glass Photo Shoot

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Goat Cheese Lasanga
Craft Adventures: Change Purse Crochet Tutorial
Acapulco's Best Kept Secret: Palma Sola Archeological Site 3

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

This is so nice

Yes, good art

do you make it yourself? I like @lily-da-vine

You did it!
Personally I think it turned out great. Love the shifting colors of the pendant. Not sure if it is just the lighting or not, but it's very neat.
I find it pretty great that you're bringing life to these ancient designs once again.
Happy Tuesday :-)

The colors do shift beautifully in the pendant, I did a good job of capturing a lot of silver between those layers.

I'm excited to start putting these images on glass...now to just start doing a better job of it.

What a lovely and artistic creation! Thumbs Up !!!

This is so beautiful! What a fun and unusual craft. I especially like the one you call deformed. It is unique.

Congratulations @lily-da-vine! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45