Craft Adventures: Change Purse Crochet Tutorial

in #crochet6 years ago

This project actually started as a different project requested by a customer. What he wanted was a little different than what you see here but I took more photos of the process of making this second one. His is different in that it's slightly larger, blue and has a long cord instead of a loop handle like this, which is a bit better suited for my market trips I intend to use it on.

The hardest part of this project hands down is the process of crocheting onto the zipper. That needle you see in the photo is a bit ridiculusly small in bad spots so it bent a lot in the process of making these. It's just a 2 mm needle but shoving that through tight woven fabric like you find a zipper attatched to isn't easy.

The yarn I used is a cool color rainbow cotton acrylic blend. I plan on using the rest of this ball (which is most of it) to make part of a bikini in the near future. Just today I recieved a shipment of bamboo yarn I've been waiting on, the only drawback I've found is it's really small diameter. Stay tuned for my sharing of those projects!

I did single stitches all the way around the edge of the zipper I bought. Once it made one round, I chained one then did a half double crochet in every stitch around.....and kept going until it looked like this. Once I decided to end it all I need to do is slip stitch it together...

A shot of the thing opened up just before I finished closing it.

Insert the hook into two parallel stitches, pull yarn through them.

It'll look like this. Then just pull yarn through those two loops on the hook and it's completed. Just do it down the line for every stitch and it'll close up nicely.

It'll look like this.

A shot before I fastened the zipper on the second side. To do that I just turned it inside out and used that nearly broken tiny needle to thread some more yarn through the two pieces of zipper and the bag itself. Tied in a simple not and it stays in place once you flip it right side out.

I just made a chain handle by doubling up on the cotton blend with black to make it thicker and just chaining as many as I needed to have it the length I wanted. I don't remember how many stitches

Not bad for a newb.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Craft Adventures: My First Dread Hat
5 Lessons Learned While Learning to Crochet
Craft Adventures: Adjusting Messy Bun Hat Patterns for Dreadlocks

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco's Best Kept Secret: Palma Sola Archeological Site 3
Acapulco Sunsets: Not Ready for the Coming Wet Season
Acapulco's Best Kept Secret: Palma Sola Archeological Site 2

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

I think this looks great! I'm lucky enough to have an old aul? I have no idea how to spell this...or look it up. Sorry. It's just a short little thing that looks like a stubby screwdriver but the tip has a nice tapered point. I think it's meant for working with leather but I find it useful for jobs like your zipper. Nice job on the bag!!

Hey thanks for the tip, I'll keep an eye out for something like that!

What a lovely purse, Lily. I didn't know it was possible to stab straight into the zipper like this. Thanks for the tip! I'm deffo gonna try that technique.

SIGNATURE.png

It's the most annoying part of the project but I think is worth it.

That is really good for a newb! I was trying to think of an easier way of attaching the yarn to the zipper; maybe using a darning needle to break through and then follow the hole made by the needle with your crochet hook. It is still a really cool project.

The fatness of the hook with the needle is still a pain in the ass.

Hi. Definitely the hardest part of this project hands down is the process of crocheting onto the zipper. I like yarn color. Very well explained how to do it.

Thank you! I expected the zipper to be a pain but not as much as it was lol

Although it wasn’t the easiest crocheting onto the zipper it’s a pretty clever idea. I never thought of starting with the zipper. I always think of adding a zipper on once the project is complete.

My smaller hooks have also bent while doing projects. Thank goodness they popped right back into place.

This coin purse really turned out cute and I love the colors in the yarn. Your stitch work is really nice! Thank you for sharing your tutorial with us :)

I added duck tape to that hook and it still bends lol

Lol that’s hilarious!! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50