Refire and Revisit: Color Changing Glass Photo Shoot

in #art7 years ago


DSC_0275.JPG

I love my red for the fact that it changes color. Starting at a slightly yellowish clear it ends up a milky white if you strike it out with high heat. It's called a kiln strike red and its copper based.

DSC_0279.JPG

I put the pieces I shared here a few days ago back into the kiln last night to brighten the red, so here they are so you can see how different they are!
DSC_0280.JPG

I like this pipe personally a lot more now after the heat soak. As I type theres a blue and red one in the kiln getting brighter.

DSC_0281.JPG

DSC_0282.JPG

It also brings out silver fuming more, another bonus!

DSC_0283.JPG

DSC_0284.JPG

So much more vivid!

DSC_0285.JPG

DSC_0286.JPG

Ah the magic of glassblowing!

![Separator-2-Lily-Vine-2.png]

()

Check out some of my other recent Originals, including the original posts for these pipes!
Silver Fumed Spoon with Red and Yellow Wrap Photo Shoot
Dot Stacking Spoon Pipe Practice Photo Shoot
Farm Update: Things are Happening!
Lily Learns Spanish Through Food: Rolls without Cumin

Separator-Grapes-Lily.png

Thanks for following and supporting, until next time!

Sort:  

But can we blaze together though 😂😂😂

thanks for sharing! interesting how the colours evolved over time and with heat!

definitely an technical aspect of glass blowing i did not think about before!

Me either. I thought when I got my glass that they were just clear rods and I was jipped out of red. Better lighting and funny glass experiments taught me that's how it works! Many colors are like this too,

striking colors are fun. GA and Northstar have such killer stikers, but the new gen colors are sick. only tried a couple but still highly impressed with the quality and colors. I have numerous books because I didn't understand how to work with color. Still learning, but have grasp.

You're giving me the itch to get my shit setup again.... it's there, just need to make the time.

I hear you on making the time, I just started to. With colors like that I'd be getting to work. I'm using a limited pallete of Mexican borosilicate colors which are nice but like I said, limited. They don't even have red, I'm working with kiln stike I have left from my first order.

Yikes! You need some silver and gold for fuming. That will blow minds. A tiny dot of either held in an oxidizing flame gives great color changing onthe boro. Silver gives blues to cream and gold gives pinks

One of the pipes in this is fumed, im just not that good at striking it out yet

i smoke weed. can i borrow dat?

this is so beautiful. @lily-da-vine

Beatiful photos. Nice job

Excellent

Great photos! I appreciate the work you put into this. Thanks for sharing. - Troy

Looking good, the colours and uniqueness are great. Keep them coming :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24